Starting Off With A Smile

Posted on August 17, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update, Movie Review, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

English muffin With Almond Butter And 365 Raspberry Jam, White Peach With Wallaby Vanilla Bean Dipping Yogurt

English muffin With Almond Butter And 365 Raspberry Jam, White Peach With Wallaby Vanilla Bean Dipping Yogurt

If that doesn’t make you look forward to the day ahead, I don’t know what will. I ran 6 miles this morning; it was so hot and humid I snuck over into my neighbor’s sprinklers for a quick mist. I don’t even know where our sprinklers even are but I might have to find them later lol.

I didn’t even get a chance to eat a snack between blogging and lunch yesterday the time was so short. My grandmother came over for a family Sunday lunch. This was my plate:

My Lunch Plate

My Lunch Plate

I sometimes feel like just doing my own thing at meals, but then I feel bad disregarding the food my mom made, so I compromised on this one. I took the chicken and broccoli and smothered it with Whole Foods Steak Sauce–so addicting! Then I heated up some Whole Foods refried beans and ate it with some Trader Joe’s Potato Nachos. If you have a Trader Joe’s near you, find these and pick them up. they’re made with corn flour, potatoes, and brown rice flour, so it’s like this weird nacho-potato chip love child that tastes sooo good.

Stonyfield Cookies N' Cream Frozen Yogurt

Stonyfield Cookies N' Cream Frozen Yogurt

Dessert was a bit of froyo. If it looks like I’m eating a lot more ice cream/frozen yogurt lately, I probably am. our freezer is wayyy too full and there’s only one way to fix that: eat our way out. Haha, I’m definitely not minding that “mission” considering it’s a heat wave up here.

We planned to see Julie & Julia in the afternoon so I packed some snacks. I hate buying snacks at the theater because they’re so unhealthy and overpriced. I decided to go with something old and something new:

Something Old

Something Old

Something New

Something New

I opened up my 2nd bar of Mocha Milk Chocolate. After trying all the Newman’s Organic Chocolates and coming back to this one. I really can’t say why I love it so much, other than I really really do. It’s not like their milk chocolate at all; and the coffee isn’t like a dark roast or espresso bean but just a simple cup of joe. it just all works so perfectly. i haven’t seen these in many stores but I highly suggest you buy a bar if you do.

I also figured I’d give the high protein pretzels a try. These have 5 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber in every serving, so Newman’s definitely trumps the competitors for the nutrition. Overall they were Ok, but not great. They needed more salt, but then again I pour way too much salt on everything. I don’t eat pretzels much but these felt more airy and crispy than others I’ve had, which I liked though didn’t exactly remind me of a pretzel. Overall I think they’re a great product because they really left me feeling full and satisfied. These would probably be optimal for dipping in yogurt or mustard to add a little more flavor, but I definitely want to keep these in my dorm.

Before we hit the theater we went to the same Target as yesterday to pick up a printer for my dorm. It was on sale this week. 2 dollars off isn’t much, but a sale’s a sale right? Then we hopped over to the AMC to see Julie And Julia. We got there 50 minutes early so I killed time playing Soul Caliber in the arcade. Fun Fact: I don’t play video games much but when I do I kick some CPU ass butt, except when it comes to first person shooter which I’m awful and impatient at.

Overall I really liked the movie. I didn’t think the story of Julie and the story of Julia were as parallel as the director tried to make them seem, but I liked that they kept them true to the real stories, both of which I wasn’t too familiar with. Oddly, I’ve been to France and I have to say I didn’t like the food that much; but it’s always great to see someone else so enthusiastic about a culture’s food. Julie’s story I thought would have been inspiring and motivating and encourage me to take this blog somewhere. But actually it just made me feel good for doing what I do and like I want to keep it up. And I like that the movie showed how blogging, while fun, can sometimes feel like a 2nd job and definitely extends into your life past the keyboard.

We got home pretty late(for us, at least) so we grilled for a quick dinner. I tried Morningstar’s Grillers Vegan for the first time.

Morningstar Griller's Vegan

Morningstar Griller's Vegan

I really liked these. They tasted smokey and grilled, a lot like the veggieburgers at UFood Grill. And the ingredient list seems more natural than other Morningstar products, which was an added bonus. I also tried Newman’s Own Organic popcorn to keep with the movie theme.

Newman's Own Organic Pop's Corn

Newman's Own Organic Pop's Corn

Again, this was a Newman’s Own Organic product I really liked. It definitely had a buttery and salty flavor but wasn’t overly done or greasy like others. Of course, the fact that it’s organic makes it all the better. Did you know cheaper brands stick artificial color in there just to make it look more buttered? Yikes. I’m a little sad I only was sent 3 bags of this because that means I’ll be going out to buy some more real soon probably, lol.

At dinner my parents talked about how many times they had seen Julia Child eating at Legal Seafoods. Don’t you hate that feeling of missing out only to realize it’s hard not to miss out on things that happen before you’re born? I was about 20 feet away from Hillary Clinton back in 7th grade on a trip to DC, that’s about as close to celebritydom that I’ve gotten. My dad read that Mrs. Tom Brady shops at one of the same Whole Foods I do, so I’ll be keeping an eye out for her from now on(for some pretty obvious reasons):

After missing the past 4, yes 4, episodes of Big Brother and getting semi-caught up with my On Demand, I finally caught an episode as it aired. I love this show so so much and life has made it hard to really get into this season but I’m trying. Lydia is definitely my favorite at the moment. Woohoo for anyone labeled an off-beat! In High School I always felt like a bit of an off-beat, but I don’t think anyone else saw me like that. I pretty much hung out with every crowd, and I’m glad that I went to a school where I could do that and not feel ostracized by any social group.

The highlights of dessert:

Pecan Sticky Bun Granola In Greek Yogurt

Pecan Sticky Bun Granola In Greek Yogurt

Peanut Butter Cookie Toast And Seeduction Bread With Sunflower Butter And Pumpkin Seeds

Peanut Butter Cookie Toast And Seeduction Bread With Sunflower Butter And Pumpkin Seeds

I picked up the granola today because it was on sale. 20 cents isn’t much of a “sale” but it certainly was an excuse :-) I though it was pretty good. It must have been sweet because I mixed it with plain greek yogurt and didn’t notice any tartness. I usually eat granola as a topper to yogurt so I’m going to need to try this again a different way to get a better taste of it. The seedy bread was a bit of genious, if I may say so myself. I’m liking sunflower butter more now that I’m learning to use less; it’s a little bit bigger on flavor than nut butters and a tablespoon is just too seedy for me(pun intended, obviously).

On a last note, I think I caught a virus last night shopping peanut butter on Amazon… I wouldn’t believe it if it weren’t me, either. Anybody know any good software to get rid of it? Spybot Search And Destroy doesn’t seem to be doing the trick.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Starting Off With A Smile”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

what a cute happy face ;) im excited to receive my newman’s own stuff.. i have a really good feeling that im going to love the mocha chocolate bar too! and i feel you on when parents talk about how it was back then and seeing famous ppl and all of that haha… i really want to try real french food. i was going to study abroad in florence and have a chance to try real italiano food (which for sure would be AWESOME) but my parents informed me two days ago that they dont want me going :( and i have no idea how to help you with the virus..sorry!

If you’re using Microsoft then I’d just go with the Anti-Spyware and Adware…

Love the peanut butter cookie toast!

I love your smiley breakfast. I would love to start my day that way! :)


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

