Build Me Up Butternut

Posted on October 7, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

As you can tell, there are a few new changes to the blog. Yesterday was all about building up, up, and away. I can’t believe Food Makes Fun Fuel has come this far from a Summer distraction, and I can’t wait to see where it will go next. After sending in an application last week, yesterday I became a Featured Foodbuzz Blogger. I’m super excited as you might be able to tell to take on that role and whatever might come of it. I’ve had to adjust the layout a bit. Any ideas for what you think the header should be? I stuck with some Fall themed PB & Oats, since I think that’s pretty descriptive of everything right now. That being said, don’t be surprised if I’m procrastinating on a paper some day soon and switch it up. I also have big plans over the next month(yes–we’re talking month because I do have homework and an attempt at a life) to reorganize the Product Reviews for them to be much more readable like the Recipes page. Lastly, I wrote up a quick blurb called How I Fuel for new readers to get a sense of my food philosophy, so check that out.

And thanks for all the well-wishes on my exam. I think it went pretty well; it’s kind of hard to tell with language courses because you either know the vocab and constructions or you take a guess at the vocab and constructions. That being said, I think I finished feeling about par for the class so I feel strong and know I did what I could. Afterwards I stopped by somewhere I might not have otherwise expected myself:

Rockefeller Library

Rockefeller Library

We have a pretty decent library, but it’s very… libraryish? I’m not a fan of anywhere where a cough is a spectacle and books are the main source of entertainment. Funny because my grandmother was a town librarian for 40 years. Yikes. I printed what I needed and dashed. I swung by the dining hall and grabbed a lunch that really buttered me up:

Vegan Butternut Squash Soup, Maple Mustard Tofu, Broccoli, Italian Veggies, Mushrooms

Vegan Butternut Squash Soup, Maple Mustard Tofu, Broccoli, Italian Veggies, Mushrooms

Get the joke? Oh, I’m punny πŸ™‚ This soup was actually AMAZING. Better yet, I looked up the nutrition/ingredient details because I can and it was equally spectacular. This was pretty much straight, seasoned squash puree with a little EVOO. I try to stick to “vegan” things in the dining hall because anything else risks a heavy case of butteritis(and not butternut). I added a little cinnamon and salt and that took me off to heaven. The rest was decent, too. No protein really stood out to me so I went with the maple/mustard combo of last week and that was perfect.

I hope you’re sitting down reading this: I didn’t go to a grocery store yesterday afternoon. Fever? Nope. Swine Flu? Nope. I just really had nothing I needed other than to get work done, so I stayed put on campus. It’s not entertaining, but c’est la vie. This was more what my afternoon looked like:

Study Area And Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

Study Area And Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

Plus daytime TV, of course. How could I miss that πŸ˜‰ I try not to do the processed food thing when in my dorm room but I needed something I could nibble slowly on to work and my palate said chocolate brownie Z-bar or straight baking chips; I think I chose the better route. I’m not going to claim to have done anything spectacular other than translate pages and pages from dead authors who have been translated time and time again, but if that doesn’t get your goat I don’t know what will. Oh, maybe this:

Banana Goodness Bread With Smart Balance Peanut Butter In Low-Fat Plain Yogurt

Banana Goodness Bread With Smart Balance Peanut Butter In Low-Fat Plain Yogurt

When Baked Goods Met Freezer should be the sequel to When Harry Met Sally, because it’s a hit. I dethawed some of my Banana Goodness Bread and topped it with Smart Balance peanut butter(which I’ve been oddly obsessed with lately) and threw in some plain low-fat yogurt for a controlled yogurt mess. I think low-fat plain yogurt has the perfect flavor, with just a touch of cream, to the point where it doesn’t need any sweetening whatsoever. Speaking of X Met Y, I might have caught up with How I Met Your Mother at this time and that might have been the best episode of the season thus far in my opinion; anything Barney + Robin I’ll be a sucker for. I met Adam whom I ditched last night for dinner:

Vegan Butternut Squash Soup, Carrots, Green Beans, Black Bean And Spinach Ragout

Vegan Butternut Squash Soup, Carrots, Green Beans, Black Bean And Spinach Ragout

Why do you fill me up, butternut baby? Again, delicious. I even brought cinnamon to the dining hall to add to it(is that weird? Don’t answer that, I’ll take a wild guess). The veggies were all their veggie self. The bean and spinach thing wasn’t bad, but it definitely didn’t prompt me to finish all of it. I was happy ending the meal on the note of my soup and Grease playing in my mind.

Tuesday nights NBC has stolen me. With The Biggest Loser and Jay Leno, how could I not just park myself on that station? I loved the theme of this week; how Americans have so much trouble eating out I don’t know but they do and that needed to be addressed. I’ve always felt a little “special” when i get nit-picky about my food when we eat out, but it’s entirely worth it to have a healthy and delicious meal made the way you want it(so long as the waiter doesn’t get p-ssed and spit in your food). Midway through I got an intense craving and had to leave my dorm for this:

Don’t I take a great photo πŸ˜‰ But in all seriousness, in getting this yogurt,Β I was robbed. Not on the walk over, or even the walk back, but in the cafeteria, at the checkout, when I realized it was 2.85. Wtf? Is it made with gold now or something? I’ve always believed in feeding your cravings but not if they’re going to drive you to the poor house. I’m going to need to bolster up on some Oikos soon at Whole Foods to avoid that situation. But I do love that hint o’ cream in the base, and that this flavor has less sugar than other Chobani fruit flavors, so I guess it’s OK in the end. Have I not mentioned my obsession lately?

Smart Balance And Semi-Sweet Baking Chip Oats

Smart Balance And Semi-Sweet Baking Chip Oats

Dear Smart Balance, please make a chocolate flavor and spare me the extra effort. Your stalker, Evan. If this were a flavored nut butter I might understand the cravings; last I checked, flax oil wasn’t a “flavor”, but that might have just changed. And in case anyone’s ever wondered, the side-effects from too many Omega-3’s in the diet are an elevated mood,Β diarrhea, and thinned blood. I looked that up one day over the Summer when my intake of salmon, Smart Balance, and flax was a little more than gratuitous. I also had some toast with cream cheese and peanut butter cookie spread because I really wanted to fuel for the AM run.

When I woke up it was pouring. And I’m talking “Get out the ark” pouring. But I took it in stride and went to the gym. I wanted to run 10 miles this morning. But I knew if I used that word “want” that left doubt, so instead I told myself I was running 10 miles. I put on the ipod video and got going, although the real drama was the lightening and monsoon occurring outside. Mile 4 was the longest by far, and continually peeking at the distance didn’t help. I got through it nonetheless and finished strong in 82:46. Obviously, I was ecstatic because that’s only the 5th time I’ve run that distance and I felt really strong afterwards. I got back to my dorm a little later than usual but dent ahead with my planned bowl of oats:

Oatmeal With Fluff, Vanilla Almond Butter, And Strawberry Jam, Strawberry Chobani

Oatmeal With Fluff, Vanilla Almond Butter, And Strawberry Jam, Strawberry Chobani

Strawberry, vanilla, and almond could not possibly go better together; this bowl makes me miss Summer so much as I look out on the damp streets right now. This Chobani was not 2.85, thankfully. It’s from the ones I won off of Heather’s contest. It’s a little thin, and a lot of sugar, but it’s got some good flavor. I really wish they used the 2% base more because I think that really makes the yogurt.

Today I have no clue what to do. I suppose it’s dependant on the weather, like always in New England in Fall. I have 7 strong essay pages, so I’m not stressing that one too much yet until I realize I have nothing to make it longer with(TWSS?). Anyway, toodle loo!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

20 Responses to “Build Me Up Butternut”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

i’m digging the new layout, evan! your blog is taking off, huh? pretty exciting.

i too am obsessed with smart balance pb. i don’t know what it is about it – it’s just so good.

The new layout looks fabulous, and congrats on becoming a featured publisher! It definitely comes with a few perks!
You commented on the Country Choice cookies on my blog. I only bought them because I found a coupon for them somewhere…possibly on http://www.mambosprouts.com
if not it is on couponmom.com
I’d highly recommend checking out mambosprouts they have the best selection of organic and healthy food coupons!
The cookies are pretty tasty, although kind of small.

Cinnamon makes everything better! It’s a fact πŸ˜‰

That last oatmeal bowl sounds fantastic! I love the new layout/features!

I gotta find that new greek yogurt flavor!! Sounds really great by the way you describe it πŸ˜‰ Love the new layout and congrats on being a foodbuzz publisher!

LOVING THE NEW SITE! so much fun, huh? i am also loving the plethora of butternut squash in this post. the locally grown squashes at the coop are finally coming in and i could not be MORE excited!

have a wonderful day!

your eats look soo good, ALWAYS! its insance!

smart balance really shoul dmake chocolate flavor! write to the company! who knows, maybe they will take the idea to heart!

that squash soups wants me to bathe in it …

I like the new layout. Very professional! Congrats on the great run!

i adore squash soup. and i’m in love with the pineapple yogurt, but 2.85 is lameeee

I’m new-ish to your blog and just wanted to de-lurk to say I love it (and not just because I’m currently obsessed with AB oats and salivate over your pictures. Maybe we can start a support group.)

Anyway, the new look is great! I’m jealous of your header, as I’m just proud if I can get a picture uploaded to my posts. But I ramble…great writing style, great food, great attitude. Look forward to reading more!

i feel you on language tests. don’t know if your starting the language from scratch but those kinds of tests are brutal because there’s absolutely no room to b.s.!

and i agree about studying in the libs. just can’t do it

Hahaha This is so ironic! I speant the whole morning TRYING to revamp my blog and yet, yours looks so much better. Need to work on my technology skills. Nice Job!!!

Love the new layout πŸ™‚ very professional! and don’t you feel so legit being a featured publisher?!

I really like the new layout!

Albino analogy – love it!

Congrats on the new layout and the foodbuzz feature! I just got the application back that said I’m one of ’em too, so I’m super excited as well πŸ™‚

I have like, four billion coupons for Oikos! We should do a Rhodey meet up and exchange yogurts. WHAT a thrill πŸ˜‰

I love the new layout! Its great. πŸ™‚

What type of fluff is it? I know you eat a lot of vegan things, and I was wondering if the fluff was vegan as well. Thanks!

Take care, and good luck with studying (and finder cheaper yogurt – 2.85? What?!)

congrats on getting in with foodbuzz! They’re awesome.

no grocery store?!? πŸ™‚

That butternut soup looks and sounds SO good. I need to make some.

Great job with the blog changes! And congrats on being a Foodbuzz Featured Publisher!

I love the butternut soup! I need to make that!

Congrats on being a featured blogger!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

