Stick To The List

Posted on October 14, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good morning. First off, I was very excited when Krystal from The Special K Treatment asked me to do a guest post a little while ago and now it’s up! Be sure to check out her fun and funky blog.

Yesterday morning my shorter run and hungry, hungry, hippo breakfast had me done awfully early. Usually I’m rushing out the door at 10:52 to get to class, but I had plenty of time. So much time I managed to squeeze a trip to the library(yuck) and grab a cup of coffee(yum) and still made it in before the teacher. After class I was excited because it’s that special time when the Farmers’ Market magically appears on my front lawn. I went straight to the creamery station and they had it!

Kefir From Narragansett Creamery

Kefir From Narragansett Creamery

How exciting. I was a bit disappointed when they forgot it last week. Unfortunately, they didn’t have fun and funky flavors like maple raspberry, but I took a leap of faith at guessing their plain was just as good. At $2 a bottle, it’s a bit of a splurge, but how often do you find homemade kefir? For some reason, I was not hungry during my usual lunch hour, so I just packed my lunch in all to-go containers:

Kale And Linguica Soup, Carrots And Broccoli In Mustard, Pineapple Chobani With Pumpkin Flax Granola

Kale And Linguica Soup, Carrots And Broccoli In Mustard, Pineapple Chobani With Pumpkin Flax Granola

This seemed like a smart idea. But by the time I got to history, I felt weird with 3 containers and a binder on my desk, so I wolfed down the veggies and soup and my bottle of water. After realizing I had sufficiently bloated myself with more water than I need in a day, I had to stop and recompose(I’m not really kidding here; I didn’t have another sip of water until 6:30 with dinner!). Thankfully, that meant I wasn’t hungry at all for my yogurt and I could sit back and enjoy it. The Pumpkin Flax Granola was sitting in there for 2 hours by the time I ate it and it still had crunch–now that’s one hell of a granola. At the end of my Epic Poetry class, I made a list and headed straight to Whole Foods since my dorm was the opposite direction.

Shopping List

Shopping List

Half of the list has question marks, meaning I wanted them but knew I shouldn’t buy them, and the bottom says “You have a lot of food. Only buy what’s necessary/you need to eat the other food. No granola or bars.” I leave myself the best messages; but if I didn’t “remind” myself of that, I’d totally go nuts in the store. On the way I had to make a pit stop at Staples to send out a fax, and headed to F.Y.E. here they didn’t have the particular video game I wanted. Shame because it’s suppose to rain for 3 days and I don’t see myself leaving the dorm much. When I was in Whole Foods, I did a pretty good job of sticking to the list. The sales this week weren’t as appealing as usual, anyway. Although they did have those amazing cinnamon rolls by Zen Bakery that I didn’t stand near for long. I got back to my dorm at 4:20 with these:

Cream Cheese And Attune Bars

Cream Cheese And Attune Bars

I picked up some Attune bars with the coupons I was sent to review them, and 2 tubs of cream cheese. As you must realize, I go through cream cheese a lot 🙂 But wait, they are regularly 2.69 each, on sale for 2/$4, and there’s a coupon in the new Whole Deal for $1 off 2 Organic Valley products. All in all, I got both for $3 total, which made them cheaper than the non-organic store brand! My mom raised me well in that respect 🙂

Pumpkin Oats With Grain Sweetened Dark Chocolate Chips And SB PB

Pumpkin Oats With Grain Sweetened Dark Chocolate Chips And SB PB

I didn’t want something sweet, so this bowl was pretty perfect as an afternoon snack. The dark chocolate chips have a much more mellow flavor and the salt really gives your taste buds a kick. The fire alarm went off, but I didn’t budge at all. Is it just me, or do school fire alarm tests in Elementary School completely desensitize you to fire alarms later in life? Plus, Taylor Swift was on Oprah and she’s kind of my celebrity crush. I got plenty of work done. Oh wait, that’s a lie. That’s what I meant to do. Curse you, internet(jk, I love you and don’t ever leave me). Well I may not have gotten work done but I did get dinner.

Baked Sweet Potato, Garden Style Scrod, Veggetable Medley

Baked Sweet Potato, Garden Style Scrod, Vegetable Medley

Yikes. Sorry for the photo quality. In The Ratty I try to have my camera out as little as possible so as not to embarrass the non-foodies I eat with; those crazy people need to learn to love their food more 🙂 I was so happy to see fish on tonights menu(yes, that’s what’s under the tomato stuff). I scraped off the toping and whatever was underneath to just get a taste of the salty, salty scrod. I had to go into the vegetarian line to find the sweet potatoes, because apparently people in the meat line aren’t the same who want potatoes. And there was a vegetable medley I just couldn’t, but probably should’ve, said no to. How is it that some of those veggies come out cooked the right amount and the ones right next to it are mushy as a rotten banana? What a mystery. After my friend went to some lecture to not write his essay *tsk* *tsk* I went back to my dorm to write mine like a good student… and instead watched TV shows online. The internet is a slippery slope. For dessert course 1 I tried my new probiotic friend:

Attune Milk Chocolate Crisp

Attune Milk Chocolate Crisp

With coffee, of course, because that’s how chocolate is best. This was my first tasting of the Attune line, a Chocolate Crisp bar. Umm, yum! This has probiotics, fiber, and calcium? You had me at chocolate. I really liked this for its smooth flavor and you can see my full review by clicking on that link. Like I said, getting all my Product Reviews into that format is going to take a little bit of time. But I hope to get it done within a month because of how clean and efficient it is for myself and you all. That chocolate definitely got me into a mocha mood:

Cinnamon Raisin Toast With Mocha Peanut Butter, Milk Mocha Chocolate

Cinnamon Raisin Toast With Mocha Peanut Butter, Milk Mocha Chocolate

After this I have 4 slices of toast left. Is this really my dorm? What happened to when I had about 3 loaves? Also, it’s very tricky to stop at 1 of those Newman’s Own Organic chocolates. My best advice is break off a piece, toss the rest out your window, and run to a bomb shelter to avoid scarfing it all down, because it’s that crazy good. While I was translating, there was either a) a pep rally or b) a drunken frat party occurring outside. Really, they sound the same when you get right down to it. My roommate came back around this time and started “doing work” which really annoyed me. After finishing some work and ignoring the noise I think I made the best dessert ever:

Vegan Cinnamon Raisin Roll With Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting

Vegan Cinnamon Raisin Roll With Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting

My fellow Peanut Butter lover, Jenny, is having dessert as her “Best Of…” theme this week. How awesome is that? I needed to get in on the action. I took a Zen Bakery cinnamon roll and topped it with low fat cream cheese mixed with vanilla stevia, and topped with vanilla bean sugar. This was like The Odyssey: Epic(that’s funny if you’re me and going cuckoo reading that book ;-)). On a sadder note, my bready carb stash is diminishing rapidly. I’m going to need to get some reserves flown in and fast to survive the rest of the week.

I talked yesterday about the importance of shutting down your computer and lights a while before going to bed. Last night could not have been a better example; I had my computer off 45 minutes before I planned on sleeping, and my lights 35, and falling asleep couldn’t have been easier. Unfortunately, I had some weird dreams about secret agents and a killing maid and… well let’s just not go there. All in all it was much better than usual and I was ready to run when I woke up. It clearly was, like usual, a treadmill morning; it’s about mid 40’s here for the next half of the week! Ugh, let’s not think about that. I decided 8 miles at a challenging pace was a good workout and ended up doing it in 63:57. When I got back to my room I was a little dissapointed to find that I didn’t have the ingredients or time for the breakfast I thought about in my mind running, so I had to work on the fly:

2% Greek Yogurt With Cocoa Beach Granola And Caramel Sauce, Vanilla Chip Bar With Vanilla Peanut Butter

2% Greek Yogurt With Cocoa Beach Granola And Caramel Sauce, Vanilla Chip Bar With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Before you think I’ve gone completely berserk, there wasn’t actually any cream cheese in that container; I merely needed something portable to put the yogurt in. I love the Trader Joe’s 2% because it’s a little bit richer and holds up well. The caramel with chocolate granola was heavenly–definitely a dessert tip to keep in mind. And you know I’m running low on bread when I use a granola bar to put peanut butter on. I might have to break down and purchase some english muffins later so that doesn’t happen again. In fact, today I’m expecting my shipment of Naturally Nutty seed butters, so I definitely need something for some good spreading! Is it wrong to be so excited about getting butter in the mail? If so, I don’t want to be right.

Xagave anyone? Oh the things I could bake with that…

Plus a Favorite Things giveaway over at FoodCents

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Stick To The List”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

yum all your eats looks delicious. i think my heart literally stopped when i saw that Vegan Cinnamon Raisin Roll With Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting 😉

You’ll have to let us know how you like the Attune bars. I’m always on the search for grab n go bars!

Have a great day!

i put question marks on my grocery list-those are the “only buy this if it’s on sale otherwise NO” mark. and i want chocolate now. and it’s 7:30 am. darn you evan!

ohhhh loving all these eats – and i know jenny will totally approve of that dessert. drool.

thanks for the giveaway shoutout!

and is not pumpkin oatmeal with chocolate chips sooooooo good?

i have to leave notes for myself on my grocery lists sometimes too 🙂

glad you got your kefir!

yum that chocolate looks delish, how do you stop after one or two pieces?!! it’s my downfall every night.
you mention your roommate sometimes – do you guys get along/hang out?? it’d be interesting to note what his eating patterns are like? does he follow a kinda routine like you? or have certain foods he really likes? or is he a ‘stereotypical’ student who could care less about food and just grabs whatever’s there when he’s hungry? 🙂 i’ve always found it interesting if roommates habits rub off on eachother or if he makes comments about what/how much you eat and stuff….thanks! (oh and great pace on the 8 miles…i did 7 yesterday in 65 mins…not as good as yours 🙂

haha i have to write down not to buy stuff too otherwise i act as though i am out of everything. not so good for the wallet!

and i would kill for mid-40s when i get up. it was 31* this morning for me! (at 6am)

I love that you wrote notes to yourself on your grocery list, that is actually a really good idea!! And ughhh I could not fall asleep at all last night. I woke up this morning and thought “did I actually sleep at all last night?” Not cool.

looking for a great tasting, natural and gourmet wellness bar? 7g protein, 7g fiber and only 150 calories….you might like to try the kardea nutrition bars…limited supply of free samples from customerservice@kardeanutrition.com.

omg your eats look fantastic! I love teh sales at whole foods, everytime I go something new and different is on sale and I am SO there…sadly I am not a cream cheese fan so that would not be a sweet deal for me haha

your oats wiht the choco chips look amazing!!! great idea with the notes on the grocery list too, I should do that but I am afraid I would never listen to my scribbled notes, I would still buy everything!! 🙂

ugh I have the WORST time sticking to the essentials at the grocery store. I blame the natural food section in stop&shop — they always have these amazing new products! I really have to learn how to write a list and STICK TO IT! Teach me your wayssss.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

