Seeds Are The New Nuts

Posted on October 16, 2009. Filed under: Product Review | Tags: , , |

As you’ve probably heard me piping, Naturally Nutty has released a new line of seed butters. I had the fortune of sampling what ended up being the Pepita Sun Butter last month, and the Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter last weekend. Now I have those two as well as the new Chocolate Sunflower Butter in my possession, and I thought I’d share my thoughts on them and encourage you to buy what suits your palate.

Naturally Nutty Products

Naturally Nutty Products

For any of these reviews, you can also see them individually in the Product Review section by clicking on their name.

Chocolate Sunflower Butter

9/10: One problem I’ve had with most of the chocolate nut/seed butters I’ve tried is there’s no real marriage of flavors; the result is neither chocolate, nor nut, and instead a unique creation on its own you either love or hate. This seed butter thankfully did not fall into that trap. The flavor was a perfect blend of sweet chocolate and the slight saltiness inherent to sunflower seeds. What was more impressive was that the sunflower seed stood out on its own at times. Texturally, like most Naturally Nutty products, it was extremely thick and required no stirring. Unfortunately the nutritional information for this product is not available, and I say “unfortunately” because I imagine it would only highlight this product’s greatness; sugar is very low on the ingredient list, behind sunflower, hemp, flax, and spices, so you can be sure this is a good source of protein and healthy fats and not a nut butter wannabe like other brands.

Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter

8/10: With a smooth, clean flavor, this definitely isn’t your normal Sunflower Butter. The natural sweetness highlights the vanilla while the cinnamon mellows it all out with a sweet spice. This is very similar to the Pepita Sun Butter in texture, smell, and appearance but I slightly towned down flavor. Overall it’s a great choice for any cinnamon devotee but not an absolute must for the average patron. I’d sooner suggest the Pepita Sun Butter orChocolate Sunflower Butter for their utterly unique experiences.

Pepita Sun Butter

9.5/10: By far my favorite of the group, I had the pleasure of trying this in an advance tasting. Without knowing anything about the spread, I fell in love with it; the flavor had me thinking this was some sort of French Toast peanut butter with maple and vanilla. Boy was I wrong. This is truly a unique product in every sense; it’s organic, a composition of  4 different seeds, and has no added sugar to the ingredient list. The flavor is an absolute joy and definitely distinctive of any other, with hints of vanilla, cinnamon, and allspice. If you’re placing any order from Naturally Nutty, be sure to include this as it’s nothing you’ll be finding anywhere else.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Seeds Are The New Nuts”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

whoaaa those sound good!!! i want to try them…

Hey Evan thanks for checking out my blog! Those naturally nutty butters look DANG good! Who woulda thought to combine vanilla, chocolate, and other various flavors with sunflower seed butter???? Genious! (:

FABULOUS reviews!

The pepita sun butter sounds AWESOME.

I wish we had those here :/

oh my God – I want Naturally Nutty – I love Sunflower seed butter with jam on bread. I live in Canada and have never seen that brand here though ? I usually get Nuts To You brand – so good – I have a pic of its creamineessssss on my blog ….yum! Great reviews! Are you planning on being a future after your degree?

I boy blogger! Cool! I would love to try that sun butter- sounds great.

Sounds amazing! I need to try those.

you could say that i am VERY jealous of your nut butter trials. that chocolate one sounds like perfection in a jar 🙂

no added sugar? WOW! Must seek these out! I’m assuming it ain’t too sweet, too, right?

The chocolate one has added sugar, but it’s at the bottom of the ingredient list. The other two don’t, which is really surprising for the pepita sun butter because it tastes like maple syrup and french toast

I must get this stuff ASAP!

amazing reviews, Evan! I am so tempted to buy the pepita sun butter!! What are the nutrition facts like?

Unfortunately, there aren’t any. But for the pepita sun flower there’s nothing but seeds and spices on the ingredients list so I’m guessing it’s similar to any nut butter, about 200cal per 2 tablespoons with 8g protein and 16g healthy fats or something like that. Ingredients: Organic Pepita Seeds, Organic Flax Seeds, Organic Sunflower Seeds, Organic Hemp Seeds, Organic Vanilla Powder, Organic Allspice, Organic Cinnamon, Sea Salt.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

