School On A Saturday

Posted on October 18, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Ask and ye shall receive. Ok, no one really “asked” for it, but here is the review for the Nature’s Path Multigrain Raisin Spice Oatmeal I had at yesterday’s breakfast.

I didn’t actually attend school on Saturday. But, as it happens, this was the first Saturday I actually stayed at college. Why is this? I have no idea. It seems like every week thus far I’ve been pulled back home for one reason or another. But this weekend there wasn’t as much a reason and I really needed to stay in one place where I could get work done. Running late yesterday literally had me figuratively running late, too. So by the time I finished my post, it was already lunch. Crazy! But more eating? Yeah, I think I’ll partake:

Broccoli, Summer Squash, BBQ Tempeh, Coffee

Broccoli, Summer Squash, BBQ Tempeh, Coffee

First I stopped to get Blue State coffee because it was cold and I didn’t think my napping roommate wanted to hear my coffee machine, then I swung by The Ratty to get food and headed back to my dorm. The BBQ tempeh was interesting. I loved all the flavors, but they didn’t really come together or say “BBQ” to me. Really any chance at tempeh, though, and I’ll bite. I got what tasted like full anise or fennel cloves in some points which was really weird. This didn’t really fill me up, but I also wasn’t very hungry so I didn’t eat anything for a while. As it turned out yesterday was a day when I couldn’t really trust my hunger.

I did some good translating in the afternoon(if that’s ever good), until my parents showed up. It’s parents weekend here at Brown where theoretically all the parents fly in having not seen their children for 2 months and attend all these speeches and what not. That’s not really how we did it, though. First my parents brought me food:

Voskos Yogurts

Voskos Yogurts

English Muffins, Cinnamon Roll, Vitatop, Ginger Cookies

English Muffins, Cinnamon Roll, Vitatop, Ginger Cookies

Back at home I got a great package from the people at Voskos Yogurt and my parents brought me 1/2 of it to sample and review. I never knew what an extensive line Voskos has, covering flavor, fat content, and organic/non-organic status. Thanks, Voskos, I can’t wait to see how your protein-packed yogurt compares! I also restocked on plenty of bready things because you can never have too many of those, in my opinion. We went out to the book store to grab a cable for my printer; while we were there my mom found a jacket she “had to have”.

Brown Mom Jacket

Brown Mom Jacket

It actually says “Brown Mom” on the chest. How ridiculous. We decided to take a trip to Stop And Shop, which I’d never been to around here because it’s a bit further and in a not-so-great part of town. On the way I snacked:

Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

It turned out to be a lot cheaper than most Stop And Shops I’d been too, but there was nothing I really needed or wanted. After that we head to Whole Foods where I definitely took advantage of getting free groceries:

Groceries

Groceries

I picked up first some of my favorite muffins. I also got Strawberry Coconut Milk Kefir and Mint Chip Sweet Scoop Frozen Yogurt, both of which were on sale. I needed some more grain sweetened Sunspire dark chocolate chips–love these. And lastly, salmon for dinner which was dirt cheap because it was from the salad bar! Such a savvy shopper I am(not really but in this one instance yes :-)). When we got back, we did a bit of exchanging of dirty laundry(literally) and my parents were off. I promptly scooped myself some of this:

Mint Chip Sweet Scoops Frozen Yogurt

Mint Chip Sweet Scoops Frozen Yogurt

This bowl was delicious but unfortunate; the frozen yogurt had melted so fast it was practically soup by the time I was eating it and that is not cool with me and my yogurt. I would have thrown it in the freezer and waited, but I wasn’t feeling patient. It still had great flavor but was sipped up in 5 minutes flat along with a medium coffee. I then had myself wondering why I was still hungry and why I had to pee like a race horse. Really? Could I not figure the latter out from the coffee and frozen yogurt? I also tallied it up and realized I’d eaten around 1200 calories by this point in the day. P-thetic. Like I mentioned, it wasn’t an appetite trusting day. I promptly headed over to the dining hall for some fresh veggies and then back to my dorm to make up a supper:

Salmon, Sweet Potato With Maple Syrup, Broccoli, Zevia Twist

Salmon, Sweet Potato With Maple Syrup, Broccoli, Zevia Twist

Would the world still revolve if I didn’t eat as much broccoli as I do? I really doubt it. Actually the broccoli was the only thing from the dining hall; the sweet potato I bought from the Farmers’ Market a few weeks back. I was feeling a little sweet so I added maple syrup and it was out of this world. Maybe not for dinner, but I could see me doing that a lot more for dessert or breakfast. The salmon was also really good, even though I overdid it a bit on the sea salt(I didn’t even think this would be possible). And I like, though don’t love, the Twist Zevia. It’s more like 7-Up than Sprite if you know the difference. Still good but the Root Beer tops it for me.

My choice of subjects in school has gotten me a little unreluctant to work lately; my Greek History professor told our class we as a civilization have so few advancements to make as compared to the Ancients and that all we can do is study about them to feel any worth in our lives. Thanks. That really makes me want to study for your course(or, in this case, right a paper for your wife’s class). Thankfully, I don’t buy that shit at all. Nevertheless, I pumped out a solid, edited 2 pages on Catullan poetry before breaking out into study snack:

Voskos Blended Greek Honey Yogurt

Voskos Blended Greek Honey Yogurt

I wanted to calcium-up my daily so I tried one of the new yogurts I was sent to sample. How do you say yum in Greek?!(Seriously, though, I probably should learn stuff like this for class) This was amazing and you can read my full review here. I gave it a solid 9/10 for its amazing flavor. I only wish the container wasn’t so tall so I could have licked the bottom. I wrote some more essay. More studyage = more snackage in my book:

Pumpkin Oats With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter And Grain Sweetened Chocolate Chips

Pumpkin Oats With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter And Grain Sweetened Chocolate Chips

I was super excited to open up a brand spanking new 32oz can of Libby’s for this; I’m sure you can share in my excitement for that. I love the Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee peanut butter for its sweetness. I also really dig these chocolate chips; instead of sugar, they’re sweetened with ground corn and barley. They’re slightly less sweet and more like dark chocolate that way–yum! I couldn’t quite end my night without a little bit of bread and spread action:

English Muffin With Chocolate Sunflower Butter And Banana Rum Pineapple Jam

English Muffin With Chocolate Sunflower Butter And Banana Rum Pineapple Jam

Ugh, this habit is not so fun for the digestion, but a part for my mouth. And since both of these have been put into the new Product Review format, I can proudly do this and this. I’m continually working on that behind the scenes for everything else.

Again, on the weekends the gyms open up late around here so I slept in until 8:30. I was there basically when the door auto-unlocked and running by 9:01. I had plans to go home this morning so I decided to do something different. Today I ran for 7 miles, and I put the speed higher than I’m comfortable at at 7.7mph. I thought I’d turn it down after a little while but I kept it up the entire way and finished in 54:38. Wow was it tiring though. I was happy to get back and have a breakfast made by a reasonable time:

Blueberry Raspberry Oat Bran Muffin With Cream Cheese, Strawberry Coconut Milk Kefir

Blueberry Raspberry Oat Bran Muffin With Cream Cheese, Strawberry Coconut Milk Kefir

I needed a Tuesday/Thursday breakfast–i.e. something I can take on the go. I decided to give my new kefir a try. Since I like milk more at room temp, I actually poored it out when I woke up to let it sit a while. You can’t microwave kefir without destroying the probiotics so this was as good as I could get it. At first I thought it was a little watery, but I’m remembering that’s an impression most coconut milk products give me. Besides that, it has a nice, not-to-sweet flavor and strawberry puree as its second ingredient. I also had one of my favorite muffins, slathered in cream cheese because there’s no other way. It got a little crumbly in the micro but thankfully cream cheese is an adherent, too. Now I’m sure my dad will be here any moment so I best shut the computer down and get a move on it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “School On A Saturday”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

the brown mom sweatshirt is super cute!!

that blueb/rasp bran muffin with the cream cheese in your last post looks fantastic! I love how you are so creative with your food!

never heard of that voskos yogurt, great review thanks evan 🙂 I can always count on you for some AWESOME foodie reviews!

woah I never would have thought to add cream cheese to a muffin!! genius 🙂
I HATE stop and shop because they seriously overprice just about everything. Lamee. So would rather go to whole foods 🙂 haha

Mmm, coconut! I’m obsessed with everything coconut these days 😉

great run, i always feel great after a hard run that pushes me. and haha to your greek history prof, sometimes i definitely think the same thoughts as him and it makes me feel so lazy haha

i’ve never heard of that brand of yogurt before – always glad to hear of a new one!

last year I definitely went home every weekend (what can I say?? I’m a homebody.. so much so that I’m actually commuting now, but thats another story) so props to you for staying on campus! and what sweet parents you have bringing you goodies.. they can visit me anytime 😉

Pumpkin oats YUM!
I used to love having my parents nearby, because they are great parents, and because they would always help buy groceries and such!
That jacket your mom got is hilarious – my dad has the most extensive collection of college gear from having four kids – it’s funny to go through his closet lol!

How do you make your pumpkin oats?? Just stir the pumpkin in? Also, I wish we had chip frozen yogurt here – just plain old vanilla flavors usually :(…and I totally like my ice cream to be harder…not all soft and melty too – but what can you do ;).
Also, is your gym in your residence or do you have to walk far to get to it? You seem to run early mornings during the week – do you get up super early ?!

haha, i love your mom and her mom brown sweatshirt! and yay for free groceires – it really is one of the little things in college that makes such a huge difference. i might need to find that coconut milk kefir – i used to use it in smoothies all the time and it is soooooo good!

I just want to make sure you know a location of a safe Stop & Shop, all the Whole Foods in the area and the closest Trader Joe’s. Email me if you have any questions. 🙂

Thanks! I’ve got the WF’s down–they’re both about 1 mile away from my dorm–and Eastside Market’s been pretty good to me, too. Is the nearest TJ accessible by public transportation at all?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

