Ridiculous And Amazing: Ridiculous

Posted on October 22, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Because this post would be ridiculously long if I tried to cover my whole day(and because I’m going to be kicked out in T-40 minutes), I’ll talk about the ridiculous part of my day now and the amazing part in the afternoon.

In one word, my yesterday was ridiculous. As I briefly mentioned at the end of my post, I had ust found out I won a contest. The contest was to attend a dinner hosted by Green Mountain Fair Trade Coffee that featured local Boston chef’s making dishes with local products and coffee to be judged Top Chef style. Amazing, right? Well, after working out that my dad would pick me up from Providence, that became a reality and we had a plan.
What was also ridiculous was how much my feet killed after that run. The last 2 miles took a toll on my toes(say that 5 times fast) and walking to class was unbearable. Fortunately, I made it where I got to listen to my teacher talk to us for 50 minutes about a paper she’s writing on a 400 line poem we had to translate, but never actually translated in class–crap, I mean, ridiculous. On the way back to my dorm I picked up some of these:
Sweet potatoes, because they’re ridiculously good. I did a mad rush of email answering/microwaving/google reading right up until I had to run off to Greek History with this in my hand:
So so good. I love microwaved sweet potatoes better than oven roasted because the skin is firm and crispy and it reminds me of French fries. The sandwhich was perfect with the turkey/cranberry apple butter/cream cheese combo. The greens were meh but I had zilch all of yesterday so I felt I needed to add them back into my system. But the real ridiculous thing about this was that Thanksgiving is just a month away! Can you believe it? I am sooo psyched to get my pie-baking on(secret family crustless pumpkin pie recipe to be published? We’ll see…)
Class was ugh. My professor would just mention a historical fact and ramble on and on about his take on it and often completely wrong theory. The only ridiculous thing here was how much he’s like his wife, my Latin teacher. I’d be very disturbed but sadly not surprised if they were blood related.
When I got back to my dorm I knew I just had to work work work if I wanted to enjoy my evening. I had a really nutritious study snack:
We’re going to pretend this is healthy because it’s all natural and not just a diet soda. K? good. Picture me, furiously reading Ancient Greek, flipping back and forth between Heroditus and my dictionary, only to receive an email that my class tomorrow was cancelled again. Ridiculous. I was slightly annoyed, but this made my evening much easier. I knew my dad would be at my dorm in 30 minutes but my oat craving did not care:
Need I remind how soon Thanksgiving is? Pumpkin oats with almond butter never fail to disappoint, but the addition of this new cereal made it perfect. This is Nature’s Path Organic’s Crunch Maple Sunrise and, though I’m generally not a cereal person, I must say this stood out. I don’t want to review it yet since I’m sure being on pumpkin oats might have affected the flavor, but I could literally smell maple syrup as I opened the bag. Ridiculous, right? And it’s gluten free if that’s a care to anyone. At 4:45 I got a message that a package was waiting for me in the mailroom that closed at 5. Ridiculous. I hustled my way over there and was overjoyed to make it and find these waiting for me:
The kind people at Kardea contacted me about trying their energy bars. Kardea’s product are all natural with cholesterol lowering ingredients, a hefty supply of protein and fiber, and all low and naturally sweetened. Not to mention, the flavors sound ridiculous. Ex: Banana nut and chai spice. I could not wait to try them, but I also needed to hop in my car and go go go.

As I briefly mentioned at the end of my post, I had just found out I won a contest. The contest was to attend a dinner hosted by Green Mountain Fair Trade Coffee that featured local Boston chef’s making dishes with local products and coffee to be judged Top Chef style. Amazing, right? Well, after working out that my dad would pick me up from Providence, that became a reality and we had a plan.

What was ridiculous was how much my feet killed after that run. The last 2 miles took a toll on my toes(say that 5 times fast) and walking to class was unbearable. Fortunately, I made it where I got to listen to my teacher talk to us for 50 minutes about a paper she’s writing on a 400 line poem we had to translate, but never actually translated in class–crap, I mean, ridiculous. On the way back to my dorm I picked up some of these:

Farmers' Market Sweet Potatoes

Farmers' Market Sweet Potatoes

Sweet potatoes, because they’re ridiculously good. I did a mad rush of email answering/microwaving/google reading right up until I had to run off to Greek History with this in my hand:

1/2 Turkey, Cranberry, And Cream Cheese Sandwich, 1/2 Sweet Potato With maple Syrup, Sesame Seed Savory Spinach, Steamed Broccoli

1/2 Turkey, Cranberry, And Cream Cheese Sandwich, 1/2 Sweet Potato With maple Syrup, Sesame Seed Savory Spinach, Steamed Broccoli

Yum! I think I actually love microwaved sweet potatoes better than oven roasted because the skin is firm and crispy and it reminds me of French fries. The sandwhich was perfect with the turkey/cranberry apple butter/cream cheese combo. The greens were meh but I had zilch all of yesterday so I felt I needed to add them back into my system. But the real ridiculous thing about this was that Thanksgiving is just a month away! Can you believe it? I am sooo psyched to get my pie-baking on(secret family crustless pumpkin pie recipe to be published? We’ll see…)

Class was ugh. My professor would just mention a historical fact and ramble on and on about his take on it and often completely wrong theory. The only ridiculous thing here was how much he’s like his wife, my Latin teacher. I’d be very disturbed–but sadly not surprised–if they were blood related.

When I got back to my dorm I knew I just had to work work work if I wanted to enjoy my evening. I had a really nutritious study snack:

Cola Zevia

Cola Zevia

We’re going to pretend this is healthy because it’s all natural and not just a diet soda. K? good. I was furiously reading Ancient Greek, flipping back and forth between Heroditus and my dictionary, until I received an email that my class tomorrow was cancelled again. Ridiculous. I was slightly annoyed, but this made my evening much easier. Despite the fact that I would be leaving my dorm in 30 minutes, my oat craving kicked in and did not care:

Pumpkin Oats With Crunchy Maple Sunrise And Almond Butter

Pumpkin Oats With Crunchy Maple Sunrise And Almond Butter

Need I remind how soon Thanksgiving is? Pumpkin oats with almond butter never fail to disappoint, but the addition of this new cereal made it perfect. This is Nature’s Path Organic’s Crunch Maple Sunrise and, though I’m generally not a cereal person, I must say this stood out. I don’t want to review it yet since I’m sure being on pumpkin oats might have affected the flavor, but I could literally smell maple syrup as I opened the bag. Ridiculous, right? And it’s gluten free if that’s a care to anyone. At 4:45 I got a message that a package was waiting for me in the mailroom that closed at 5. Ridiculous. I hustled my way over there and was overjoyed to make it and find these waiting for me:

Kardea Nutrition Bars

Kardea Nutrition Bars

The kind people at Kardea contacted me about trying their energy bars. Kardea’s product are all natural with cholesterol lowering ingredients, a hefty supply of protein and fiber, and all low and naturally sweetened. Not to mention, the flavors sound ridiculous. Ex: Banana nut and chai spice. I could not wait to try them, but I also needed to hop in my car and go go go.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Ridiculous And Amazing: Ridiculous”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

wowee.. now you even have people contacting you! lucky boy. :p

man, i have a hankerin for some sweet potatoes now!

have a great day evan!

Your oats look amazing as usual. I finally bought some canned pumpkin last night!

Can’t wait to hear about the dinner.

oh man that maple sunrise is the bizness… i like that nature’s path stuff has a million textures in it… saves me mixing up cereals 🙂

My boss always says “ridiculous” and I’m afraid I’ve picked it up myself…

Anyway, confession time–I have never had a roasted sweet potato before. I’ve only microwaved them, as I never got into the whole Thanksgiving version smothered in sweet stuff that my family presented. So, welcome to the club!

I love Thanksgiving meals – nothing beats homemade stuffing and desserts!

I’m glad sweet potatoes microwave well because otherwise I would never have enough patience to wait for them to bake. Try one with hummus! SO goodl

Pumpkin oats wow! is it sad that i have never tried out anything pumpkin related?

The Kardea bars are really good! I really liked their texture!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

