Take Your Time

Posted on October 30, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Yesterday was great, not for any other reason than I had time. Yes, it seems like something so simple. But think of the origin of stress in your life and I bet 80% of it would be solved if their wasn’t an ever present time crunch over our heads. It’s a vicious cycle, mostly because we all want time but put pressure on each other. So I ask you today, if you’re in the leadership position, to tell someone to take their time. Or if they say “I just didn’t have time”, rather than roll your eyes, tell them you understand, because I bet you do. All it takes is a few outliers to break the cycle and get the motion rolling in the opposite direction.

After Mid-breakfast, I left my dorm  little early to give myself time to get coffee and make it to class a little early(normally both do not happen). I think I managed a few odd looks walking around with a jar of peanut butter and a spoon; people need to read more blogs. When I got out, I was nice and full from my oats; this gave me the time to go back to my room, read a little(blogs, not books ;-)), and let the rush at the dining hall die down. Eventually I went and got some food, and then came back and took the time to make a quintessential Evan lunch.

Broccoli, Sweet Potato, Flamegrilled Gardenburger, Sauteed Spinach, Steak Sauce

Broccoli, Sweet Potato, Flamegrilled Gardenburger, Sauteed Spinach, Steak Sauce

There’ something really great about sitting down to a meal where you know all the flavors and you know you’re going to love them. Unfortunately, this meal reminded me how low I am on 365 steak sauce; add that to the weekend grocery list. I took my time eating this to the tune of Days Of Our Lives. When Rachael Ray came on, I asked myself what I really wanted to do for the day. Well that was obvious–go grocery shopping, of course. But did I have time? I just told myself “You have time because you’re going to make time” and headed out. I was working with an October food budget of .92 cents…. Yeah–not going to happen. Just because I wasn’t going to stick to it didn’t mean I would go nuts; I decided to dip into November but only buy what was on sale, I had coupons for, or I really wanted.

Groceries

Groceries

Mission greatly accomplished. I got everything you see above plus an acorn squash(who apparently missed the photo opp or is blending in with the background so well I can’t even see him) for 3.54. Impressive, right? My momma didn’t raise no fool. The Oikos, Stonyfield, and Lightlife tempeh all fell under coupons. The soy yogurt was a sale item; normally I would have gotten plain but they didn’t have any and the sweetened form only has about 5g more sugar anyway. And the pumpkin, Z-bar, and acorn squash all fell under the “I’m going to be kicking myself in 2 hours if I don’t buy these” category. Since I dont plan on winding up at a grocery store today, I think I did reasonably well for October. Of course, I made a snack within minutes of entering the door.

Oikos Parfait With Mini PB Cups And Vanilla Sugar

Oikos Parfait With Mini PB Cups And Vanilla Sugar

How funny that I had this right after thinking to myself “Why is it that I’m always buying yogurt at the grocery store?” This was such a sweet treat. Maybe it was the hefty does of vanilla stevia I put in… I love the Trader Joe’s mini peanut butter cups; I cut each one in half so they were all crumbly and it reminded me of getting a Reeses mix-in at Coldstone. More yogurt like this to come? I think so. I took the time to work on my email stuff, and then set aside the time for homework; I think setting them aside rather than rush at everything at once, as tempting as it is, really cuts the stress. And when you really want to save time, what’s better than prepackaged oats?

Kashi Vanilla Creamy Oatmeal With White Chocolate Wonderful

Kashi Vanilla Creamy Oatmeal With White Chocolate Wonderful

I love the combo of vanilla on vanilla; what can I say, I’m just a vanilla(bean) kind of guy 😉 I’ll spare you the gory details of the time I spent studying for my history midterm, and skip ahead to dinner. I told who I was going to have dinner with earlier that I would be too busy studying to eat at the cafeteria. It probably would have saved me time to just go to The Ratty, pick up a plate of food, and walk back to my dorm with it. But sometimes we need to make time to do the things we love, and I love making my own food. I was feeling a BBQ mood so I went for a real western meal.

BBQ Tempeh, Acorn Squash, TJ Mac N' Cheese, Zevia Cola

BBQ Tempeh, Acorn Squash, TJ Mac N' Cheese, Zevia Cola

Yeehaw! What a fun meal this was. It was my first time trying this Lightlife tempeh; you can read my review or get a sense of how it was by me being happy I still have 1/2 the package left for another meal 🙂 The acorn squash was fun to prepare and delicious to eat; I cut it, scooped out the center, and microwaved this 1/2 for 4 minutes. I love how this squash tastes a little buttery without actually needing butter(I don’t eat butter. I know it’s all-natural and certainly has simple ingredients but I just don’t touch the stuff. It’s not a diet or health thing, it just gives me the willies.). And of course any BBQ needs soda and a mac n’ cheese dish to round it out. Now if only BBQ’s had natural diet soda and whole grain pasta more often…

I swear I do study sometimes. Like all through Survivor, for instance. I know I must have been focused on something other than the show because I wasn’t sure who to expect being voted off at the end. I couldn’t help but laugh when I heard this from my dad: “I had my oatmeal in my maple almond jar today.  The jar was good for oatmeal but that almond butter just clumps.” We’ve infected the general population.

October 28th 003

Carrot Ginger Muffintop With Smart Balance And Chocolate Chips

I think I’m getting back on my muffin top obsession, which means muffin bottom yogurt to come. Also, my Smart Balance obsession hasn’t left, just switched jars. I’ve gone from agave sweetened to molasses sweetened; it was hard to tell how “funky” the flavor here was because the chocolate chips also sweetened it. Clearly I’m not too concerned with the GI load of agave vs molasses if I’m throwing chocolate on top… Grey’s Anatomy was as good as ever last night; did you know that surgery of Dr. Sheppard’s was based on a real medical surgery that was deemed as equally impossible? It’s great seeing art imitate life.

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Roll With Pepita Sun Butter And Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Roll With Pepita Sun Butter And Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

I couldn’t decide what to do with my last whole wheat cinnamon roll so I let it go both ways(TWSS). I find adding a bit of real vanilla sugar to the stevia, cream cheese, Oikos mix gives it a purer flavor. And that pepita sun butter is plenty vanilled-up already. One last snack rounded out the night:

Chocolate Br

Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

When I buy something at regular price “because I really want it”, I need to eat it the same day, right?

This morning I gave myself time by setting the alarm a little earlier for my long run. I’d been having trouble with pace and this morning I finally settled it; I just accepted that while my outside pace is 7.5mph my treadmill pace is more 7mph and to push it everyday is just not the way to go. I let myself go at my new pace and just kind of enjoyed the morning, watching the crazy costumes on the Today show. I did 12 miles in 1:43:18, which was actually my first time ever running between 10 and 13.1 miles.

Banana Goodness Bread Toast With White Chocolate Cherry Almond Butter, Vanilla Oikos With Newman's Own Organic Super Dark Chocolate And Dried Cherries

Banana Goodness Bread Toast With White Chocolate Cherry Almond Butter, Vanilla Oikos With Newman's Own Organic Super Dark Chocolate And Dried Cherries

Clearly, I took all that time and put it into making this breakfast, and it was well worth it. I just looooove dark chocolate and cherry. How could you not? I also like cutting up a square of chocolate so that it gets unequal and crumbly and looks really “professional”. I’m not sure how big a fan of the toasted banana bread I am; somethings are just meant to be soft and mushy.

Today has so much excitement. It’s Cookie Friday! I’ve got some ideas, but we’ll have to see how the day plays out. It’s also the day before Halloween, so I’m going to all 3 of my classes in full costume. You’ll have to wait and see what that it 😉 And I have a history midterm! That one’s… not so exciting.

Sodastream giveaway! I might no drink the soda but I would looooove those flavor essences–it’s been so long since I’ve had seltzer why is that?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Take Your Time”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I don’t eat much butter either – I can’t stand the way it coats the inside of my mouth.

Your sweet combos always look so good. I have a major sweet tooth too so it’s nice to find a “healthy alternative” to candy.

I just stumbled across this site and it’s nice to find another guy that’s interested in health. I have a package of tofu in my fridge that’s waiting to be used, maybe I’ll give it a try tonight.

That meal looks fantastic! (and by that meal I mean all of them!) But specifically the BBQ tempeh, mac and cheese, and squash! I need to get some squash ASAP!
Great job on your 12 mile run! That’s fantastic! I find that my pace is always different on a treadmill as well. It’s just such a different form of running for me.

vanilla on vanilla sounds amazingg, i really like that kashi oatmeal once in a while!!
nice job on the run, I would say you 130% deserve that breakfast!! dark chocolate/cherry combo is delicious…Is there a naturally nutty flavor like that?? hmmmm maybe you should create it!!

good luck on the midterm!

You basically robbed the grocery store – nice job!! Next time I’m at TJs I have got to pick up those PB cups. I used to LOVE Reese’s Blizzards!

oh i love me some coupon shopping…. a few days ago, walgreens PAID me to buy oatmeal. Like i need to be paid to do that..

great running. i seem to think that i’m weird because my tm pace is so. much. faster. than my outside pace!

and picture of halloween costume? please?

Congrats on 12 miles! You eats look awesome as usual – can’t bring myself to try tempeh though!

Do you prefer tempeh to tofu? What’s your take on soy? I love yogurt…but the kind I buy usually has sucralose – which I know isn’t good but how much? There’s not a great selection of yogurts here – no Oikos or chobani. There is plain – but then I still put honey or syrup in it so it’s still sugar…hmmm.

I love both tempeh and tofu. They’re very different, though, so I think which I prefer depends on my mood. Tempeh is had and a bit nutty whereas I usually go for soft tofu that’s mushy and almost like a soft brie. I definitely have no problem with soy in all its uses; I’ve heard and read of the studies that say it’s not great in high amounts but I don’t eat more than 1 or 2 servings a day as is.

can’t wait to see your costume – have a great halloween!

No butter? Sad. I don’t mind it. I like them cooked into dishes, but I don’t like them that much in its pure form.
And you’re so right about time…man, I’m on a constant race against it…Time is so precious, and I wish I had more of it!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

