Eat Food. A Lot. Mostly Fiber.

Posted on December 5, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Today all the running I’ve done has been up and down grocery aisles and boy has it worked up an appetite! I’m pretty sure I’ll be half way through a field a broccoli by the time I finish this post. Anyway, this morning I was a bit surprised when I woke up and realized I slept 10 hours. Yikes, talk about oversleeping. I guess I must have needed up but when I oversleep that much I just feel blah the rest of the day. From now on, my aim will be 8 always–never more than 9 or less than 7. I think that’s a good goal ti keep in mind.

For breakfast I thought I’d try out a new product.

Al Fresco Wild Blueberry Chicken Sausages

Katie from Al Fresco sent me an amazing array of their sausages to review. They use all natural ingredients with vegetarian fed chickens and believe it’s not the quantity but quality of their meat. How perfect is that for me?! Best of all, their products are fully cooked so you just have to heat and serve(aka, I can make these in my dorm pretty darn easily). These breakfast ones really stood out, so I seared them in a pan for 6 minutes or so to brown.

Pan Searing Sausages

Then, in true Food Makes Fun Fuel style, I chopped them up and added them to some oats for breakfast–gotta have them whole grains πŸ˜‰

Oikos With Maple Syrup, Oatmeal With Wild Blueberry Sausages And Mighty Maple

Well, maybe not everything should be put in oatmeal. But that aside I looooved the flavor of these. The hint of maple syrup baked inside really made them. That being said, not everything goes in oatmeal–lesson learned. I really wanted to get out and run at 11 but the weather was cold,Β forecastΒ grim, and time wasn’t on my side. Instead there was a change of plans and it was time to dive right in to chores. There was the other type of fuel…

McDonald's Decaf Coffee

…And then we were off to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods. Taking the backroads let me see all the barns and stables around here in the winter time and they looked amazing. I think I have a new goal in life to buy and live in one of those. I’d hate to have to take care of them, and I’m sure they’d be some crazy money to heat, but dreams are meant to be unrealistic, right? At Whole Foods there might have been additional coffee while checking out all the sales and coupons. At Trader Joe’s I had a ton of fun picking up treats for my blogger secret santa πŸ™‚ I know they’ll love them. I also might have snuck a few goodies for myself.

Fun Groceries

Well, whole wheat mac n’ cheese isn’t “fun” but I got it for 66 cents on sale with a coupon. Isn’t that a bargain? Those cranberry oatmeal white chocolate dunkers were calling my name, as was the milk chocolate orange. I love those other ones but they unfortunately have some artificial flavorings–Trader Joe to the rescue! I also picked up a new toy:

Thai Red Curry Sauce

And when I say “toy” what I really mean is sauce. I was pretty hungry by the time we got back so I just got to work. I cooked in a pan some tofu and red peppers with the sauce while microwaving some broccoli for efficiancy. All in all, it was a TJed meal.

Red Curry Thai Tofu And Red Peppers, Broccoli With Soyaki

Delicious! The thai sauce was a good level of spice, and the soyaki added a nice touch of salt and sweetness. Tofu is so much better when you have tools other than a microwave to cook it with. I should try baking some while I’m home. I was still a little hungry so I had a fiberous dessert.

Apple

And then I was good to go.Β Right after lunch we headed out to for a last minute hair cut, and then to Hannafords for yet more secret santa goodies and some more to eat. Again, getting home I was starving even though I just ate not 2 hours earlier, so I went for yet more fiber and more protein.

Brussels Sprouts And Lightlife Ground Sausage With Southwest Seasoning And Maple Syrup

And that’s what I’m currently being held over by, though for who knows how long. This was the first time I got the ground sausage and not some preformed meat. While I don’t think it would be useful in a dorm room, with all the equipment I have to cook it at home it’s a much better bargain and tasted just as good. The chili seasoning with maple syrup sounded out but tasted perfect. And now I’m off to bake some cookies for the fundraiser Ashley held! I’ll have to resist eating them myself and make sure they make it to the highest bidder πŸ™‚

Here’s a flaxy giveaway

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Eat Food. A Lot. Mostly Fiber.”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That red curry thai tofu looks freaking awesome.. what a colorful din din!
ENJOY baking.. make a few batches for yourself!! πŸ™‚

$.66 B2N Mac N cheese?! Sign me up!

I would devour those dunkers…they would not be safe anywhere in my vacinity! πŸ˜‰

Great deal on the mac & cheese!!!

You should sleep in every now and then – your always up early during the week :)…you’ve got alot of product reviews done lately – wow! That’s great – still don’ t know how you have time haha. But seriously…try to get out and enjoy *life* sometimes hey? – there’s alot more to experience than the computer, running and the grocery store πŸ˜‰

10 hours of sleep?!? send some my way? haha. have fun making those cookies and good luck not eating ’em all yourself πŸ™‚

Oh, Trader Joe’s…how I miss thee!!!

That mac n’ cheese is a major score!

Holy crap your post has been in my reader for 6 mins and you have 6 comments. you’re a hot ticket, evan!!!

Ok so lots of recapping
“though as with all tea it tasted mostly like hot, sweetened water”
reminds me of the comment u left me the other day that you’ve scalded or burned off your tastebuds with coffee. me too. and tea just doesnt really cut it. wish it did, but no.

Cashew butter and maple and reese’s on oats… amazing.

Blueberry sausage? Interesting!

your guest post, awesome. And I make my own homemade kefir. On the countertop. Heab’s reposted my recipe once but yeah, it’s like so easy 3 ingredeints you could do it in a dorm room πŸ™‚

TJ’s find…bet that sauce is actually better than the Seeds of Change Simmer sauce.

The Gnu bar rocking the pants off the other bar…no doubt πŸ™‚

Have a lovely evening and BTW, I wanna do a blogger secret santa thing! how fun!!!

I’ve done the apple chicken sausages.. but blueberry? now that is gourmet!

Blueberry chicken sausages? Yes, please! I know what you mean regarding feeling dazed after an enormous amount of sleep. Just think though, your body works hard as a runner, and your mind works hard as a student…it’s probably good to stock up on sleep whenever you can. It’s the ultimate replenisher.

Stables do look beautiful in the winter time, right? I am an equestrienne so when I am actually home I get to spend a crazy amount of time in them. The good news for you is that you don’t have to worry about heating costs – most barns aren’t heated. Some super duper fancy ones are, but heating them actually makes a breeding ground for horsey germs and most owners avoid them to keep the horses in good health. Riding arenas, too, for that matter. That being said, it’s *awesome* to get up in 20 degree weather, tack up, and actually make a horse walk/trot/canter around in a big tin arena with your teeth chattering!

I really, really do love it though! =)

Love the title of this post – shoutout Michael Pollen! And you got DUNKERS! Your secret santa blogger is one lucky duck!

I love all things Thai – that red curry sauce sounds delish! Yay for fun groceries WITHOUT artificial ingredients πŸ™‚

Lol great post title! πŸ™‚

I have never seen blueberry!

WOW!

Music/Workouts/Food/Fitness – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

Happy Sunday,

Katie


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

