The 11th Commandment

Posted on December 11, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Have you had the chance to check out my new HoliDEALS page? or enter my giveaway? Yes? Good, then let’s continue.

After having been on self-promoted dorm arrest for the past few days with the first of 4 papers let’s not talk about it, I decided to obey the 11th commandment: treat thyself. In this case that manifested with a trip down to Eastside Market and Whole Foods right after breakfast. It was chilly, but I was a man on a mission *insert serious face smiley*

Ok, it was really cold, so I was relieved to make it in Eastside Market and snoop the new sales. There really wasn’t anything that looked enticing, but I did find a Tofurkey Farm.

Tofurky Products

They were full price so I didn’t feel pressure to snag anything. But I’m comforted to know these are still existing at least until Christmas. I just picked up some squash and decided to see if there was more at Whole Foods. How had I not noticed organic gum drops before? I was very tempted to grab these but the price had me putting them back. I also noticed bulk bin oats were on sale, which had me laughing; usually don’t things go on sale and people pick them up “to give the a try” or because “they’re too expensive regularly but now they’re on sale.”? I’m pretty sure neither has ever applied to oatmeal. There was a lot more meandering and picking up things to only put them back; I wanted to just pick up a few things that I knew I’d eat and finish.

Groceries

Ok, so maybe I did buy some bulk bin oatmeal πŸ˜€ But I was going to buy it anyway. I also obeyed commandment 11 by treating myself twice(is that too holy?). I grabbed herbed turkey for dinner and a carrot cake slice that was calling my name. I quickly made a “healthy”ish lunch.

Snobby Joe, Baby Carrots, 1/2 Slice of Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

If you’re going to have carrots, you really ought to have carrot cake, too. Or is that the other way around? To be honest, my favorite part of this meal was the snobby joe, followed by the cream cheese frosting. How is that possible? Maybe I’m just not a sweets person as I thought because, while it was good, some oats with melting peanut butter would have been fine, too. Oh well. Sometimes we do what we think we want and it’s not right; how could I have known I’d be happier with 3/4 pound gumdrops for the same price? C’est la vie.

I worked a bit more created a twitter account just toΒ play and win Chobani’s spoons. Score for free Greek yogurt! You can follow me @FunFuel, but if you expect me to ever update it you are sadly mistaken 😦 I was totally bought with yogurt. After my super nutritious lunch, this was definitely in order:

Apple

And then a trip out. I swung by the mailroom which meant some more calm:

Tazo Calm Tea

Ok, this tea is growing on me slightly. I also swung by the dining room, because it was so cold I knew I wouldn’t want to leave my dorm 2 hours later when it’d be even colder. Brussels were on the menu. What was actually there was stir-fried(read: dripping in grease) veggies. Not cool, dining hall, not cool. I grabbed some apples and a banana to replenish my fruit stash and went back to make a snack.

Pumpkin Oats With Honey Maple Peanut Butter And A Chocolate Pillow Cookie

I think after two weeks my pillow was ready to be a crumble. It kind of looks like a mudslide pudding, don’t you think? Well it didn’t look like that for long because I was ravished and attacked this. Apparently carrot cake digests fast and isn’t very filling 😦 Who would have guessed? It’s a vegetable, right? But the peanut butter(which is high protein) totally took care of that. Then again, I don’t think I needed another reason to like peanut butter more than cake. Dinner was touched with a little magic. And when I say magic…

Indian Curry Spice

I mean this Indian spice I picked up. Except it was salt free–is that a contradiction? Good thing I have plenty of sea salt to go around.

Herb Roasted Turkey, Broccoli, Acorn Squash With Curry Spice And Maple Syrup

This was one meal in which the 11th commandment was kind to me πŸ™‚ The turkey was perfect. As you know, I don’t have meat much because I opt for only organic, natural, or wild, so it pains me when I do find meat like that but it’s flavorless. This was soooo juicy and bursting with herb flavor. Truly that beat out carrot cake and gum drops. And the combo of maple syrup and curry is just killer; it sounds a little iffy but you try it out and you just “get it”, if that makes sense. For dessert, I acknowledged that sometimes you just need chocolate.

Chocolate Yogurt With Midnight Moo Sauce

And I forgot how bitter real cocoa powder could be! Seriously this had plenty of vanilla stevia and vanilla sugar as well as the Midnight Moo sauce but some scoops still tasted really dry. I think I need to buckle down and by some sugary sweet pudding. Trader Joe must make that, right? I finished my 2nd paper while eating this πŸ™‚ It was by far the easiest assignment, but 2 down and 2 to go still feels like a huge relief. Mid-30 Rock I had a HUGE craving for a warm and gooey, buttery blondie.

Cascadian Farms Vanilla Chip Granola Bar

I don’t know what’s sadder; that this is marketed as “healthy” or that it 120% hit my craving. I was just happy I had it. And it’s good to keep bars like this around to honor the 11th commandment. Since I’m an intense creature of habit, I needed to finish the night off as always.

Oatmeal With Smart Balance Peanut Butter, Chocolate Vitatop, Advent Chocolate

I ate this while watching Matt Damon on Leno; the man gained 30 pounds for one of his recent movies and couldn’t have had a better attitude about it. He talked about how the “man’s version ofΒ anorexia” where no matter how ugly or out of shape you are you think you look like Brad Pitt(btw, this is so true). Do you think you could gain weight for a role?(or, if you’re already an accomplished actress, have you?) I think if they gave me enough guidance and an intense trainer to whip my butt in the gym to pack on muscle, I’d do it.

This morning I definitely honored the 11th commandment by sleeping in 30 minutes. It wasn’t even “sleep” because I was awake the whole time, but sometimes it feels really good just to lie awake without a care. When I did get to the gym it was rather empty(score) and I felt very energized from the night before(double score). Not looking at the treadmill infor for the first 5 miles really helped the time pass, and in the end I wound up going 12–10 purposefully and 2 more to see Mark Bittman on the Today Show(He was making cheddar shortbread cookies. Need I say more?). But when I got back I was way in a peanut butter mood.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Smart Balance And Mighty Maple

2% Peanut Butter Yogurt With Strawberry Jam

Yum! I don’t think a double dose of peanut butter counts as treating yourself; it’s too healthy. But it sure does taste good! And I’ve found the trick to peanut butter yogurt made with peanut flour: salt. It makes so much sense. I love salted peanut butters, so why not carry that over?

At the moment, I have a very full inbox and google reader. So naturally I’m surfing the web for anything to help get my mind off of those.

Here’s the original article. As you might guess, with my all-natural diet, I advocate always looking at the ingredient list first; you can usually get a good sense of the product just by what’s in it and how much. But I also really like this new food label for Americans who don’t pay the same attention to ingredients. And I really like the idea of “added sugar” and not just “sugar”. Did you know lactose in milk and fructose in fruit are included as sugar in products? That’s why a plain Chobani has 7g of sugar even though the only ingredient is milk.

Check out the Healthy Eats blog peanut butter taste test.

Here’s a lovely giveaway for some winter goodness–soup!

Holly’s having a lil’ giveaway as well!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “The 11th Commandment”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I tried one of the cascadian farms fiber granola bars the other day (WF was giving out samples) and wow, was it sweet! I definitely enjoyed it though πŸ™‚

honey maple peanut butter?! WHERE did you find that and what is it called?! i need to get my hands on it asap.

It’s actually a local product. Here’s the company’s site and page: http://www.cinagrofoods.com/products_peanut_butter_honey.html

Treat thyself = DEFINITELY a worthy “11th commandment.” Thou shalt practice it daily πŸ™‚

hopefully youre staying warm today! it’s frigid outside! treat thyself is totally amazing πŸ™‚

thanks for the linkback! and i need some truwhip…ever since i saw it on your site, i have been so curious!

I like the new food labels, too. I think it will really help people who are not sure what is good/bad.

Organic gum drops? Isn’t that an oxymoron? πŸ™‚

That carrot cake makes me want to lick my computer screen. That is my absolute favorite.

Are the snobby joes from Veganomicon? I’ve made those before, and they are GOOD!

I love Carrot Cake. My husband and I finished one in two days while visiting my folks during Thanksgiving.

I remember the old college days and the not so attractive cafeteria/dorm food.

Good luck finishing up the semester

I’ll be using that 11th commandment excuse for my dinner out tonight. I’ve been fighting a craving for a good cocktail lately so I think I may indulge!

Your lunch TOTALLY looks like something I would do. I’m all about eating dessert as part of the meal, there’s no reason to wait until afterward if you’re going to eat it anyway. πŸ™‚ Plus you can alternate salty and sweet bites which is something I am known for.

Love Tofurkey…is that a “natural” food for you?
And carrot cake….oh my …there are no words for this – it’s my true love and i have no control πŸ™‚

I couldn’t pass up carrot cake either especially when it calls your name πŸ˜€

Thanks for the soup contest shoutout – good luck, good luck!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

