Somebody Sit Me Down

Posted on December 24, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Our day trip to NYC was a ton of fun but, boy, did it put the pressure on today to get things done! Tonight we’re having an Italian Christmas with my mom’s family and tomorrow we’re going to New Hampshire to be with my dad’s side; and we’re making and baking a ton for both, of course. This morning I decided to get a kick-butt workout in before the holidays. I did

  • 50 stair flights
  • 240 arm rotations
  • 70 rowers arms
  • 40 second rowers hold
  • 100 crunches
  • 70 side crunches, both sides
  • 70 second crunch hold
  • 70 tricep dips
  • 50 stair flights
  • 40 push ups
  • 100 sit ups

That took an hour or so and afterwards I made up a quickie breakfast.

2% Greek yogurt With Vanilla Sugar And Fig Jam

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Mighty Maple And Chocolate Chips

Yesterday eating my oatmeal-yogurt combo I had a bit of an epiphany: I have so many great jams that I don’t eat often enough. Jam is kind of my go-to foodie souvenir because it always has such a local touch and I really should be trying to incorporate these more into my eating. Besides that, I was craving Trader Joe’s chocolate chips. Not chocolate chips in general. Just Trader Joe’s. They’re that good. We had a few last-minute buys for food(such as fresh seafood) and since my mom and I were anxious my dad might not do perfectly going to the store with the list, I came along. I really only had one thing I needed.

Mint Extract

I actually was hoping for peppermint extract but they were out of that; I think this was a better buy in the end because the flavor is more timeless. I needed it for the brownies I’m making for tomorrow. In the rush of the kitchen I whipped together a lunch.

Brussels Sprouts, Roasted Pepper & Asiago Sausage, Stuffing Stuffed Pepper

I think these sausages have grown on me because I liked this one much more than the last. The pepper though was my favorite; it was leftover Whole Foods stuffing from Thanksgiving(don’t worry. It’s been in the freezer). Whole Foods makes the best stuffing ever. I wish I knew their magic secret. I’ll need to stock up at the end of the holiday season and freeze A TON to make it through the year. Right after Days’ Christmas Eve episode, I got to baking the brownies. I decided to adapt this Whole Foods recipe to make gluten free chocolate mint brownies.

NuNaturals Erythritol

The first(of many) changes that I made was to swap out the sugar for NuNaturals‘ erythritol. I’ve never worked with erythritol before but I’ve seen it in products like Vitatops and Zevia. And of course we’ve all eaten it since it is found in fruits like apples and pears and vegetables like mushrooms. Because it’s not quite as sweet, I increased the amount a bit. I also had to mash the black beans instead of puree in a food processor because I don’t have one, although the way my mom was making fun of me makes me think there’s one under the tree.

Gluten Free Chocolate Mint Brownies

I also reduced the chocolate chips to 5 tablespoons since that seemed reasonable, swapped out half the butter for greek yogurt, and of course used mint extract in place of vanilla. I’m a little anxious to see how they come out, but from the batter I licked they were really good! I’m really excited that Trader Joe’s chocolate chips are gluten free so the whole dish then is. I’ll post the recipe after Christmas if they came out good(which I’m really hoping they do because how amazing would these be over some vanilla greek yogurt?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Somebody Sit Me Down”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I am insanely jealous that you have access to Trader Joes! Seriously…JEALOUS! I love Whole Foods’ stuffing too…they have a great recipe for a gluten-free stuffing that I have made before on their website. Here’s the link:

http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/recipe.php?recipeId=1354

sounds like some good brownies! hope they come out well for you

The NuNaturals Erythritol…LMK how that works for you. In my raw unbaking I use a sprinkle of the NuNat stevia powder, the pure stevia, not the “crystals”. And I also use real sugar, agave, powdered white or brown sugar. Just depends on my end game. Anxious to hear how your sub out with sugar worked.
And that you gf’ed them!
And that you added (pepper)mint. Mint, p-mint, pretty similar I’d say anyone but you’re right about the mint maybe being more timeless.

Your trip to NY looked fab too!

What are ‘stair flights!’ – sounds scary…enjoy your xmas – can’t wait to see your pics 🙂

I’m glad you had a fun time in the city, I’ve heard rave reviews of Mary Poppins. It’s so funny that you were so close to my house ( I live right by Carmines), next time come for longer!!!

MMM! Those brownies sound so gooD! I wish I could crave something soley TJs…However, I don’t know what I’m missing….

ohh yes post the recipe! glad you are having a nice time and MERRY XMAS!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

