This Is Why I Can’t Have Nice Things

Posted on December 27, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I was sooo anxious this morning to break out my new food processor, I couldn’t even wait until after lunch! I decided that the first thing I would try to tackle is a chocolate peanut butter; I have not found one to my liking yet and was hoping to create my very own with peanuts and my favorite chocolate bar: Newman’s Own Organic Mocha Milk Chocolate.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter

The flavor came out pretty good–or at least better than what I’ve had. But while that was happening, so did this.

Broken Top Piece

I swear, I can’t have nice things for more than 5 minutes without something going wrong. I was making my peanut butter, and my dad was pretty much hovering over my right shoulder. When I unscrewed the top I lost focus trying to tell him to go away and dropped it on the floor, shattering some of the plastic. I was definitely livid, but it’s not my style to scream my face off at people, so instead I burried my face in my hands and continued until I was finished making my peanut butter. I hate that that sounds like such an excuse I’m making for myself, and I know after all is said and done I was the one who dropped it.Β Even 30 minutes later, emotions were not settled and not much talking amongst people happened before lunch, which my grandmother came over for.

Sweet Potato With Maple Butter, Cornish Hen, Broccoli

We heated up 2 of the leftover hens and I portioned out 4 ounces. I was surprised to see how little that was; I can’t imagine how much hen I had on Christmas! Oh well, it was a holiday πŸ™‚ Still afterwards things were a bit icey, but I snagged the main computer to play with for my new peanut butter.

Nutrition Label

Did you know about nutritiondata.com? I just found out about it this afternoon. You can use it to find out the nutrition of anything you make! This peanut butter turned out pretty good, too. Had I known it would only have 2.5g of sugar per serving, I would have added more chocolate πŸ˜‰ I could definitely see this site being more useful for things. At the same time, I’d rather not know how fattening some desserts are, haha. Afterwards, my grandmother was heading to the store, so I thought I’d tag along.

Grammy Mercy

Yes, the one with the purple steering wheel you all loved so much πŸ™‚ You should have been at that yankee swap! Their was no love for the steering wheel that year. We went to a normal grocery store where she bought my groceries–joy! It was just tofu and some baking chocolate, but that was a nice surprise. I don’t think she knows what tofu even is, haha. We also stopped at an all-natural food store where I went to get nuts and found a fun surprise.

Butterscotch Extract

Had you ever heard of this? I always thought butterscotch only came in unnatural forms these days unless you whip some up yourself, and I was none to keen on that. I also was hungry so I made myself some brain power oatmeal.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Walnut Butter And Goji Ginger Walnut Cookies

Delicious! And now I can eat walnut butter knowing I can make my own once I finish the jar! Oh, and the goji cookies helped my brain, too πŸ˜‰ And now I’m off to play with my nuts! Err… you know what I mean.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “This Is Why I Can’t Have Nice Things”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

score on the butterscotch! your grandma is adorable

Haha at that last line!

Merry Christmas Evan – hope you can get your food processor patched up!

Awww, sorry to hear about the food processor. I burnt out 2 motors within 6 months, and ended up getting a spending a little extra $$$$ and getting a really great KitchenAid 7 cup food processor. I’d definitely invest in a good one if you want to keep using it! πŸ™‚

How neat is that butterscotch!? What a delicious flavor to add to food creations!

xxoo
Heather

really? You’re not a fan of PB&Co dark chocolate dreams? Actually, I like white choc wonderful better, and I really am not a fan of regular white chocolate. I hope your food processor is up and running full speed again soon.

I LOVE Frontier!!!!!!!!! I have a wholesale account. I set it up a couple years ago so if you ever want to order anything, seriously, make a list, I get it at about half price with my wholesale acct. And I adore all their products. Their vanilla extract rocks as does their cinnamon and all their oils by the name of Aura Cacia are fab, too.

Sooooo sorry bout the blender. OMG! Take it back. Just tell them it broke. This time of year you wont have any trouble. I realize it was “your fault” but oh well, take it back and see what happens. Normally Im not like that but it was the 1st time you used it and next time the karmic gods will smile more!

Granny at the wheel. LOVe. That. Shot. πŸ™‚

aww, so sorry to hear about the kitchen catastrophy.. but at least you got some amazing peanut butter out of the deal, right? Silving lining!

oh no about the food processor!! but i’m sure you can easily return it — after all lots of people are returning stuff at this time of year

Bummer about the top piece on the food processor! I hope you can find a cheap replacement part on ebay or something. How frustrating that you were trying to shoo your dad away when it happened!! I’ve never heard of butterscotch extract..interesting.

EW bumness on the food processort.. take it back and say you opened it like that!
Your grandma is cute..lol Neither of mine drive!! Consider yourself lucky πŸ™‚

Oh so sad, Evan!! I hope you can return it, or at least get that part replaced? I was able to locate a part that broke on my microwave online and it was as good as new!

Yeah take it back!

Does your Granny know your posting pics of her on the Internet?!!! Haha.

And, my God – that last sentence…how witty πŸ™‚

I’m so sorry about your processor. I hope you can get it fixed.

Thanks for the tip about nutritiondata.com that seems really cool!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

