I Don’t Do Semi-Homemade, Sandra Lee

Posted on December 30, 2009. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I don’t do “semi”; I go full throttle or cop-out entirely.

Acorn Squash With Baked Beans And Brussels

Have I ever made baked beans from scratch? No. Do I have any plans to? Not at all. I’m fine with these organic ones from Whole Foods. I threw together this lunch and then literally threw it in the car to get to finishing things. Good thing I’m not the driver 🙂 First we stopped off at the natural food store near me where I bought this foodie find with Christmas money.

Almond Amaretto Herbal Coffee

This isn’t really “coffee”(or “cawfee” because I’m a New Englander). It’s actually dried carob, figs, almond, and other natural ingredients for an herbal drink very similar to coffee. I was a little disappointed when I forgot to add coffee to my x-mas list because I’m such an addict, but in hindsight that was probably a good call because I don’t know how anyone in my family would have found this. I can’t wait to see if it really tastes like amaretto 😉

After the natural store, we went to get the last items on the lsit for New Years from Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods–mainly the meat which we didn’t want sitting in our fridge. I’m so excited because my favorite candy bar protein bar is $1 off the entire month! Expect a lot of those for green snacking 😉 I was parched by the time we finished Whole Foods so I broke out a new soda I found on sale to try.

Steaz Orange Green Tea

I wasn’t aware that there was another stevia sweetened beverage on the market, but these in 4-packs were 3/$8 so I thought I’d give it a try. I’m sure it had caffeine even though it doesn’t say, but that was OK with e at the tie. I liked the flavor; it was a little subtle but I think tea is all about subtlety so I can understand not over-sweetening it. While I was at Whole Foods I also made another purchase with my Christmas money.

Vegan Cinnamon Raisin Rolls

Like I said, i don’t do semi. I’ve made my cinnamon rolls, and now I’m buying these cinnamon rolls 🙂 I still don’t know how they can make these with just whole wheat flour, flour, water, grape juice, canola oil, yeast, salt, and cinnamon! Soo good. After we unpacked, I got working on cooking projects 4 and 5.

Thai Peanut Hummus

When it comes to having company, I never phone it in; I do homemade. In this case, I was making hummus for our guests tomorrow. The first one was my own concoction, with 1 can of chickpeas(drained), 2 tablespoons The Heat Is On, 1 tablespoon each of soy sauce and lime juice, salt, and 2 tablespoons crushed peanuts stirred in in the end.

Sunny Tomato Hummus

The second one was a recipe from The Broccoli Hut. Apparently, food processors have no problems with nuts, but sundried tomatoes are touch cookies veggies. From the itty bits I snacked on from the scoopula, I can tell I loved the first recipe and didn’t care too much for the tomato flavor. After nibbling through these, I decided to eat something real.

Oatmeal With An Egg And The Heat Is On Peanut Butter

I guess this is “homemade”? Hard to get much simpler. I figured while the peanut butter was out I’d use it and have a spicy afternoon snack. The albumen(or egg whites if you aren’t feeling pretentious) were cooked to the perfect runniness. But after this was done I quickly got working on dinner(my thing for the 3rd night in a row).

Al Fresco Buffalo Style Sausage

I went store bought on the main protein. Actually, this was part of the large array of flavors Karen from Al Fresco sent to me a while ago. As a family, we used to always get greasy pizza and buffalo chicken wings on Tuesday nights(real healthy, right? ;-)) so this flavor was right up our alley. I did, however, do something homemade.

Killer Cornbread

Like I mentioned this morning, I had a killer craving for cornbread(say that 5 times fast). After looking at some recipes, I combined them to make my own and hoped it would come out all right.

Killer Cornbread

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup whole grain cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup sweetener
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons vegan butter

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. In a bowl, sift together the first 5 ingredients(unless using a liquid sweetener like honey or agave in which case just the first 4). Beat in the egg, milk, and any liquid sweetener if using. Add in the greek yogurt and butter and mix until blended. Move into an 8×8 baking pan and bake until browning on the outside(about 20 minutes).

Green Beans With Hot Sauce, Killer Cornbread With Cream Cheese, Buffalo Style Chicken Sausage

The cornbread was, in a word, killer. It came out perfectly grainy. I definitely had an extra 1/2 a square, and as a family we polished off 7 of the 12 servings. I think that recipe is a keeper! I also really loved this flavor sausage. It was super spicy and didn’t need a hit of hot sauce at all. Watching Paula Dean definitely had me craving cream cheese, which topped the fresh-out-of-the-oven cornbread perfectly.

Where has the day gone? What about the year?! It’s too much to think about. Instead I think I’ll figure out what foodiness is for dessert once all this darn cornbread digests.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “I Don’t Do Semi-Homemade, Sandra Lee”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

things i just learned from my newest cookbook-orange juice helps flavor/texture in whole grain baking (without making it taste orange-y), and also adds some all natural sugahhh to feed the yeast… maybe the grape juice in those cinnamon rolls does he same thing?
something to try in your future baking adventures 🙂

You are quite the Baker!
Would you like to do that for a living do you think? I could see you doing a cookbook!
Sounds like your enjoying your holidays – when are you back to school ?

hi! i just found your blog and i love it already 😀 you eat so well while in college~! im a college freshie too but im struggling with the dining hall choices.. can i say, uhm, oily?

anyway! i just wanted to enlighten you that the persimmon you ate earlier in the month is called a Hachiya persimmon. yep! theres more than one variety of em! well anyway, that type of persimmon is inedible unless its like super ripe until it turns into goo. (so, please dont be turned off by persimmons!! persimmons are sooo good, i’d hate to you know that you’re missing out~ ) My favorite is the Fuyu persimmon which is squat and looks like a smooth pumpkin, or a tomato apple hybrid. theyre best when they SLIGHTLY give in when you apply pressure into them and theyre a deep orange 😀 hope you try it again!..

p.s. youre awesome for providing us with whole grain recipes! love.

That cornbread looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I also love you hummus flavors. Sounds awesome!

Evan! Great posts. Period. Too much to even say but the cinny rolls and the dark choc are stealin’ my heart.

And loved your pina colada comment.

I’ve been up for 26 hrs. I am truly insane. Get home after 3+ weeks away, go groc shopping at 1am, unpack everyone, do the mail, and then crack the google reader. Yes, I love my bloggie friends 🙂

Your food, looks amazing. As usual though 🙂

I don’t do semi-homemade either. No box baking for this girl! I like to know exactly what goes into my food and it’s almost just as easy to do it yourself!

Love your twist on the hummus btw…peanuts? Brilliant!

I’m the same way – either 100% homemade or not at all. Once I did a semi-homemade baked good and was so embarrassed when people asked if they were homemade (because they usually are)!

Ooooh YUM to that cornbread!! I’ll take a slice of that!

I need to find some of that spicy pb – it would be so good in a stir fry….

Those cinn rolls looks so freaking good! I have always wanted to try steaz! Glad to know it isnt half bad! 😀

i totally do the cop out 100% of the time. maybe 99% with the other 1% being semi-homemade. i never do things from scratch haha

lol– Sandra Lee gets on my DANG nerves 🙂

oh god, don’t get me started on Sandra Lee. How she has her own TV show I’ll never know? I vote you call up Food Network and take her spot.. just saying.

Haha, your lunch looks delicious and completely agreed, Sandra Lee has nothing on you! Your hummus flavors look great! Happy New Year!

hahaha…sanda lee can take a back seat next to you!

and i love anything from zen bakery…their muffins are freak’n awesome warmed up and smothered in pb….

holy smokes your corn bread really does look fantastic!! and acorn squash & roasted brussels sprouts!? YUM 😀

have a happy new years eve!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

