20 Things I Love

Posted on January 13, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

1. Cookies at random times of the day

Kashi Oatmeal Raisin Flax Cookie

2. Healthy junk food I don’t have to bake. I kept this around the kitchen while I was cooking from 11-1.

Meatloaf Seasonings And Rice

Vegan Meatloaf

3. The smell of McDonald’s burger. No, really. This smells just like a McDonald’s burger, and if you don’t believe me, make the recipe!

Maple Mustard Tofu, Curry Maple Acorn Squash, Toasted Walnuts

4. Roasted things in maple syrup. The tofu and squash were in the oven for 90 minutes. That was 1/2 of a squash… before being dehydrated to death.

5. Fat. On account of my recent testing with fat, I swapped out vegetables at my lunch and replaced them with an equal amount of healthy fats, here from Tierra Farm‘s walnuts. My first thought? Damn, that sucks to go from all that broccoli to a half-handful of nuts. After that, I realized that they didn’t fill me up the same way a pile of broccoli would have, but they were very “satisfying” in that I didn’t feel like I needed anything more.

6. Days of Our Lives(probably saw this one coming)

7. Tivo. More specifically, tivoing shows that are on past when I’m out cold for the night.

Organic Apple

8. Organic fruit. I’ll eat the plain stuff, but I can’t help but wonder things…

Scratch Tickets

9. Grandparents who encourage gambling. Aren’t old people the best?

10. Winning $30 dollars! That then led to an inward debate as to whether that’s a sign to pay $16 dollars for a chunk of goat’s milk fudge from the internet. I’m thinking no…

Laloo's Black Mission Fig Goat's Milk Ice Cream On A Chocolate Vitamuffin

11. New food combos. I swear there was a chocolate vitamuffin under there. And I swear it was one of the best things ever, slightly warmed with cold ice cream. The ice cream was goat’s milk(!!) but it surprisingly didn’t taste as tangy as I was hoping 😦 Still really good–almost like the inside of a Fig Newman.

12. Not paying attention to things like cholesterol. Otherwise, a day where you had 2 eggs for breakfast and ice cream made with egg’s yolk wouldn’t be pretty.

13. Convincing people to take me to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.

Full Fat Greek Yogurt, Goat's Milk Yogurt, Plain Soy Yogurt

14. Obscene amounts of yogurt. You know what’s more obscene? How quick this will be gone. Give me a day or so and see πŸ˜‰

Trader Joe's Pound Plus Milk Chocolate

15. Equally obscene bars of chocolate. OK, here me out–this isn’t for me(or, not just at least). My mom really liked those peanut butter cups I made and has been dropping hints for more like crazy since. But I really only like peanut butter cups made with milk chocolate. So when I saw this gigantic baking bar I thought problem solved! Isn’t melting chocolate fun?

Vegan Meatloaf With Nutritional Yeast And Parma, Green Beans

16. Healthy, hot dinners. I compared the original parma to the nutritional yeast and I think I prefer the latter, but that might just be because the meatloaf was so flavorful that it really needed something basic on it for contrast.

17. Meal planning. It’s made this week super simple so far.

18. Ironic thoughts, such as “You know what would go good on this vegan meatloaf for our vegan dinner? Full fat greek yogurt…. Wait a minute”.

19. Repeat episodes of Grey’s Anatomy, like the ones I’ve been watching while writing this. The bomb episode from Season 2 was just on. Classic.

20. Really bad people on American Idol. I’m a glutton for them πŸ˜‰ It’s even better when the auditions are in your home town, like they were last night.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

18 Responses to “20 Things I Love”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

ha…love Grey’s reruns…I was watching the bomb episode too…code black!!

how big are those ice cream bowls man? i’d need like three of them! ahah. and my g’parents totally encourage gambling too. sadly i never win 😦

i need to catch up on the last season of greys…that’s what happens when you don’t have tv for over 4 months. hah!

and i’ve seen those tj’s chocolate bars…but just imagine: 10lb Guittard Chocolate Bars. Now those my boy, are AMAZING. I got a dark and milk chocolate one when I left from working at a chocolate store a few years ago…oh the joy those things were…yes, i ate most of them…and shared a bit w/ my brothers and family…or not. πŸ˜‰

I love those big chocolate bars from TJ’s. And yes, melting chocolate is amazing. I went through a stage in college where I melted chocolate on everything….popcorn, pretzels, etc. I even would take dried fruits and nuts, put them in silicone ice cube trays, pour in melted chocolate and stick them in the freezer. Amazingness

AMEN meal planning makes my week so much more simple..i love it
that meatloaf seriously sounds freaking awesome.mcds hamburger? yes please!
you REALLY got to try the cornbread+mighty maple combo! freaking amazing. i was in food heaven

My mom-in-law bought me one of those huge bars (dark chocolate though) for Christmas… and I think I know what I’m using it for. Hello homemade peanut butter cups πŸ˜›

Haha great post! I used to be a DAYS addict. Right there with you. And yes, old gambling people are the best πŸ™‚

I agree with maiden – bigger bowls – ice cream demands it…i agree with your #15 haha.

i always say i’d like to win the lottery…but never actually buy tickets…i always think i’ll spend more than i’d possibly win…hmmm smart or pessimistic i wonder…

i love the smell of mickey d’s! now i’ve gotta make that meatloaf…

you are so funny with that choc bar! yay for the $30, congrats. i love healthy junk food too πŸ™‚

“9. Grandparents who encourage gambling. Aren’t old people the best?”–YES!!!! I was raised by Bingo and slot machine lovin’ grandparents in the midwest who bought me scratch off tickets at an early age. Love it.

The goat’s milk fudge. DO IT!

The TJs giant choc bars. I have seen those for yrs and have never known how I would use that all up. Ok, now I guess I should just do it, huh. Cuz you did it first! It would save me $ in the long run πŸ™‚

We have a lot in common…food choices, tv shows, and meal planning. Oh, and a healthy dose of sarcasm that goes along with it all!

My grandma and my dad both give lottery tickets in stockings at Christmas! I won two bucks this year – woohoo πŸ˜€

I want that loaf!! In two years of being vegetarian I still haven’t had veggie-meatloaf!

Mmm. Vegan meatloaf! I’ve gotta try that recipe…

REallly bad people on AI are the best! haha

And I don’t pay attention to Cholesterol either…so bring on the eggs and YUMMMY Ice cream treats! πŸ˜€

Haha I love, love, loved the format of this post! I got that jumbo-sized chocolate bar once and I think it was gone in one week flat:) Your so kind to make your momma some of those delicious peanut butter cups!

I’ve never watched Greys, but I love frozen yogurt!

can I just tell you how in love I am with the fact that you love Grey’s?! I can’t wait for the new episodes!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...