Fun With Bullets

Posted on January 15, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Not these kind of bullets:

Or this kind of bullets:

  • But
  • These
  • Kind
  • Of
  • Bullets

Excuse me if I have a little too much fun this post. I’ll start off with this ridiculousness:

Montana At The Computer

That would be Montana, at the house computer. Should I tell him I’m taking my chair back when I go back to school or would that just break his heart? Anyway, it’s a really good thing I’m not on weight watchers, because I don’t wan’t to know how many points this would be:

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With vanilla Almond Butter

Chocolate AND vanilla AND almond–too perfect. I think I just wanted an excuse to eat a big spoonful of this almond butter. Since there’s been a couple questions about this recipe, I’ll clear them up all at once and I’ve also updated the page with tips and nutrition info.

  • Yes, what you see me make and eat is 3oz like the recipe calls. It bulks up to 5oz thanks to the liquid, and even afterwards is very airy and volumnous.
  • You can use basically whatever liquid you’d like. I prefer So Delicious coconut milk kefir but here I just used unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.
  • Vanilla powder is not a necessity, either. Vanilla is traditionally put in chocolate desserts but can be omitted.
  • You don’t need a food processor. In fact, I hardly ever make this with a food processor. Cleaning that out at 9:30 at night is just not my idea of a good evening. I just use an oversized bowl and a fork, and then scoop it into this bowl.

Now you all have no excuse not to make this 😀

As if The Biggest Loser and American Idol competing didn’t suck, now we’re back to NBC vs. Grey’s Anatomy. Why can’t all the shows just get along? And we have Tivo, but becuse of the cable box it can only record or watch 1 thing at a time. Boo. I went with ABC and Grey’s because NBC is less of a pain to watch online. Because of the crossover event, I got suckered into watching Private Practice, too. If there’s one thing that’s universal about Grey’s and Private Practice it’s that they have great music soundtracks. Remember when The Fray broke out onto the scene? All Grey’s. Afterwards I got a killer craving for some killer cornbread:

Killer Cornbread

BUT I’m one big ol’ creature of habit, and I like my oatmeal before bed. What’s a boy to do? Make a recipe, of course!

Cornbread Oatbran With Mighty Maple

  • 15g oatbran
  • 15g whole grain cornmeal
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 a cup of water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon agave nectar

This was a-w-e-s-o-m-e. So great for a quick cornbread fix. At the same time, I realized it was missing something afterward: milk! If I made this again, I’d definitely swap out 1/2 or all the water for milk. Besides that, you must try this for a change from oatmeal.

This morning I lied in bed for 10 minutes awake not doing a damn thing–glorious. Then I got to work. For the 3rd day in a row, I did my core followed by 200 flights. I’ll repost the core today:

  • 40 push-ups
  • 70 side crunches, both sides
  • 100 crunches
  • 70 crunch pose-hold
  • 240 arm rotaries
  • 5 sets of 7 chair swings
  • 40 squats
  • 70 standing marches
  • 70 rower arms
  • 40 second rower’s pose hold
  • 100 sit-ups
  • 70 tricep dips
  • 100 air bike kicks

Followed by 200 flights of stairs, during which time I listened to my recently added playlist twice. On it right now are these songs

  • Bad Romance by Lady Gaga
  • Party In The USA by Miley Cyrus
  • Cowboy Casanova by Carrie Underwood
  • Maybe by Ingrid Michaelson
  • Come Home by One Republic
  • Fireflies by Owl City
  • Hey Soul Sister by Train

For breakfast I whipped out and up a new product:

Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein

Jay Robb sent me some samples to try and review and this morning I decided to make HEAB’s protein ice cream. Eat this and look like that? Sure, I’ll do it!

Vanilla Protein Ice Cream

I cannot express how big that bowl is or how much this made. It’s insane. I couldn’t eat more than half of it and shared with my dad; it’s just that voluminous. I don’t have time to make up a page for review right this moment, but I will say I liked this protein powder for several reasons and would pass it up for others and am giving it a 9/10. I LOVE that it uses stevia, which really makes it abotu the protein and not the sugar content. And it smells really vanilla-y. But the flavor is only so-so and there’s a strong whey aftertaste which I’ve never been a fan of in protein powders. Along side of this, I had my bowl of oatmeal.

Bananamon Oatmeal With NuttZo

Which looked completely ugly but tasted divine. Just bananas, cinnamon, and topped with NuttZo. No added sugar at all here and yet it was so sweet–perfect to start off the day. And now I’m wondering if I should grab something else before we leave for the doctors’ office, because really all that ice cream was mostly water and if I go pee while we’re waiting I’ll empty out the majority of my stomach, if that makes any sense whatsoever. And now I’m wishing I just went with greek yogurt like normal :-/ Boo. Oh well, maybe now I’ll start looking like Jay Robb? Here’s hoping.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Fun With Bullets”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I love Jay Robb protein powder! It is the best! I have tried both they Whey and the Egg White protein and both are good. The egg white protein is good for people who have lactose issues with Whey! Anyway…glad you liked it. It is a staple! You should try the Pina Colada flavor..yum!!

The Bananamon Oatmeal With NuttZo–i can see the flax seeds from the Nuttzo in there and it looks awesome. Well, I bet it tasted awesome!!

Jay Robb. Huge fan of the Brown Rice Protein Powder. That and Sun Warrior are vegan and allergen-free for me, so yeah, awesome. And holy volume on your creation, when you say it made a big bowl, hot diggity, you’re right!

🙂

was that ice cream hard to make? and is it real ice cream? it looks more soupy to me but it could just be the picture…either way it sounds good!

Holy workout! Go you!

Totally agree with you on the grey’s and private practice soundtracks…i own both of them, and the music is great! pretty much one of the only reasons i still watch the shows (because the plotlines have gotten more than ridiculous…)

ummm i have seen that avocado + cocoa pudding everywhere and have been meaning to try it forever. thanks for the reminder…i shall get right on that!!!!

cornbread oatmeal sounds GREATTT what fabulous idea..I think you shouldn’t break montana’s heart just yet 😉 hahah it is a good thing you arent on weight watchers thats for sure!!

The HEAB vanilla protein ice cream looks HUGE and delicious!! I need to get the gums asap… and I don’t have vanilla almond butter but I’m thinking maybe vanilla extract mixed in could work!?! hmm…

I got some samples of Jay Robb awhile back but unfortunately – ruined all of them in my failed attempt to make protein powder oats. Such a bummer — I’ve heard Robb is the man!

oh baby, you and your cornbread these days in all different forms, now i have to whip up a bowl of cornbread oats too! that jay robb guy is scary looking


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

