Taking Control

Posted on January 15, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Giveaway, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

*Chobani winner announced at the end of this post*

I think everyone is entitled to control of their own life. And it then becomes our duty to make sure we actually take the control into our own hands. This morning I had my annual doctor’s physical, which I was not looking forward to. Frankly, I haven’t been happy with my physician for the past few visits, which doesn’t bode well for him since I’ve only had him for a few years now. I feel he judges his patients as dots, simply comparing them to all the other dots in America on his little chart; that doesn’t cut it for me. I’m unique. You’re unique. Everyone is unique. Like I predicted, he pulled up his laptop with his charts and explained what numbers were a little high and which ones were a little low, and I sat there and took it. What I really wanted to yell say was that everything he was pointing out runs in my family and is hereditary and that they are who he should be comparing me to. But when I walked out afterwards, I made a decision: I will be changing doctors after today. We have every right to be in control of our health care, we just need to take it. Consider control taken. Is there any part of your life that you need to take control? You don’t need to write about it in the comments; just do it!

What else gives me a great sense of control? My meal planning, which led me to this lunch of tactfully planned leftovers:

Vegan Meatloaf With Ketchup, Sweet Potato Rounds With Nutritional Yeast, Broccoli

Root Beer Zevia

I cannot tell you how excited I was for today’s lunch; as good as the vegan meatloaf is the first day, it’s about 10 times better after sitting in the fridge–sooo amazing! Especially with a little ketchup because I’m classy like that ๐Ÿ˜‰ And, hey! There might have even been some sweet potato under that nutritional yeast… just maybe. And on the side I sipped a root beer Zevia for something special while watching the television and catching up on the google reader.

While we’re talking about control, I never feel more in control than in the kitchen. I love it, especially when it’s my own recipe I’m working on. I made up a recipe last night just for Cookie Friday that hit all my cravings for the time.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunkies

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cupย Earth Balance(or butter), softened
  • 1/2 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-natural peanut butter
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 cup 2% or whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 a teaspoon salt
  • 60g milk chocolate bar, shaved(or 1/4 cup chocolate chips)
  • Coarse sea salt

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, cream together the earth balance and sugar. Whisk in the egg and egg yolk, peanut butter, milk, and vanilla extract. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to the dry ingredients the egg mixture and mix well. Fold in the milk chocolate shavings. Scoop out cookies onto a lined baking pan. Sprinkle coarse sea salt over the top of the cookies and flatten the top with a forkย perpendicularly. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until slightly firm to the touch.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunkies

These definitely would be the show-stoppers at any cookie swap; who can say no to milk chocolate and peanut butter? And they really aren’t that unhealthy for you at all because a lot of the sugar has been replaced with healthy fats and butter replaced with no-cholesterol Earth Balance. And of course you can take control and adjust the recipe to suit yourself.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

While I was in the kitchen I made up some peanut butter cups. There were also 4 others that are just out of the picture. What I love about this is you can take control and adjust the chocolate and peanut butter to your liking. The chocolate here is a darker milk chocolate made with 3 parts Trader Joe’s milk chocolate for every 1 part Baker’s Unsweetened. The peanut butter was a blend of 8 parts Smart Balance Agave Sweetened to 1 part vanilla bean infused sugar. I’m not sure how the peanut butter tasted but I slipped a bit of the chocolate and it was perfect. When everything was done, I took my cookie and coffee and sat down.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunky

Soooo good. These are more salty than sweet, which is totally my preference. But that’s not saying they don’t have sweetness to them. They just taste like good ol’ peanut butter and some smooth chocolate. I ended up watching Tivoed Good Eats and was pleasantly surprised to find it was Alton’s new weight loss episode. Have you seen him recently? He lost 50 pounds of fat! Go Alton! I loved his “no-diet” diet of how he eats:

  • Daily: Fruits, whole grains, leafy greens, nuts, carrots, green tea.
  • At least 3x weekly: oily fish, yogurt, broccoli, sweet potato, avocado.
  • 1 time a week at most: red meat, pasta, dessert, alcohol.
  • None: fast foods, soda, processed meals, canned soups, “diet” anything
  • Breakfast every day–no excuses!

I love it! Probably because it sounds like me ๐Ÿ˜€ (Except for the dessert thing. Desserts a daily item with me) He really took control of his life. What was best was that he was serving this up as a lifestyle and not a diet, which is how it should be seen. If you can, seek out the whole episode. Before dinner I snacked on an apple:

Organic Apple

I don’t know why but I feel the need to point out when things are organic. Thankfully, I’ve noticed this is a common thing among blogs so I don’t feel completely random here. And then I made dinner. I tried a honey citrus salmon, which probably would have been 10 times better were the fish thicker, fresh, and not done in a pan. As it were, it actually didn’t come out bad(though caused a lot of smoke).

Honey Citrus Salmon, Mashed Kefir Cauliflower With Black Pepper

Salty Oatmeal With Raw Cheddar Cheese

We just called it “blackened” salmon ๐Ÿ™‚ I also tried out a new recipe! Mashed cauliflower with coconut milk kefir as the creamer. Sooo good! I loved how it came out a bit tangy and sweet from the kefir. AND I can count it as a probiotic source(which is helpful because this would then be number 1 of the day). On the side, I was having a major craving for salt oatmeal. So while I made my parents white potatoes, I cooked up really salty oats and topped it with a salty, raw cheddar–heaven. I’m sure that doesn’t sound in the least appetizing, and I’m sure it wouldn’t have been if it weren’t a major craving. And now, as I’m typing, I’m “unwinding” to this:

Zevia Cola

What is it about beverages that make them what we unwind with? With caffeine, this probably isn’t the best choice to have at night for me, but it is Friday after all ๐Ÿ˜€ Before I bring up my giveaway, I want to point out the Oikos giveaway at An Apple A Day and the Crofter’s giveaway at Crunches For Cupcakes. And without further ado…

Carrie H!

“Lemon Bluberry Chobani loaf! I NEED some baked goods in my life right now! Oh, and Iโ€™ve never tried Chobani, so thanks for the giveaway!”

Never tried Chobani?! We’ll have to fix that. Send me your address and I’ll forward it to the company.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Taking Control”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

YAYAYAYAY for me! Thanks, Evan! Now I get to try Chobani. ๐Ÿ™‚

what a great beginning! AMEN to what you said.
love your eats, as always
those cookies look SOO good! i had savory oats today too!

man, i really wanna try that tofu meatloaf!!!

I have had the same problems, but it was with my family doctor, even after all these years! i up and left in the middle of the appointment because i was so pissed, and hailed that i would never be back. yeah, i’m a bit crazy like that.

and i totally need to make those cookies tomorrow…but i have no earth balance…wonder what i could use instead (i have no butter/margarine either..maybe a bit of evoo? that’s all i got…or applesauce/bananas)

๐Ÿ˜€

Sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at the doctor– I’ve definitely been there myself. Definitely worth it to find a doctor you like and trust.

Awesome post,,,sorry you had a rough start to your day but good for you for totally taking control and still making it great! ๐Ÿ™‚

Random: when do you have to go back to school?

way to take control! it’s always best to have a doctor that you like and trust

congrats to the winner! good for you for deciding to switch docs. you should be comfortable with your dr, and he sounds like he wasn’t cutting it!

I made a variation on your vegan meatloaf the other day (with black-eyed peas and bulgur because that’s what I had), and it was great! I also added a little Annie’s smokey BBQ sauce to the mix. Everyone loved it. Thanks! PS – How about Days today??

Omg this is the best post in the past few. Well, no, all your posts are excellent. But the food here is magnifico!
The Peanut Butter Cookie Dough-I want to eat it right now!
The cookies look great but the dough of course gets me ๐Ÿ™‚
The PB Cups, love the looks AND that you’re making use of your TJs choc slab.
This:Honey Citrus Salmon, Mashed Kefir Cauliflower With Black Pepper
is the best thing I have seen in awhile!!!! The salmon. I used to eat salmon when pregnant b/c nothing else tasted good. I am actually allergic to it and break out in hives, but i really didnt care. And I LOVE a nice citrus glaze. Holy crap that looks good.
The cauli mash with coconut milk kefir= i Bow Down to You!!!!!!!!! Post this recipe or just a synopis, i can kinda guess but fill me in. I will be making this!!!!

The opening paragraph about just being another dot. Dear god. Dont even get me started on how I loathe the avg MD in this country, the healthcare system just pushing us thru, no one cares, there is no individuality, it’s all just charts and graphs. Oh and you think it’s bad as an adult? If your child doesnt walk, talk, pee on the potty, have the perfect head circumfrence as compared to all over 14 mo olds or 4 yr olds, forget it. That’s why I am proud to be super anti establishment on both my own wellness care and my child’s b/c the establishment, frankly, sucks wind.
Ok rant over. I totally agree with you!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

You should totally tell your doctor this next time! Sometimes they need a little direction, I think, and it’s always useful to get feedback. Or even an anonymous letter. I’m not too overly crazy about my current doctor either, so I know where you’re coming form. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And your cookies? Totally make mine go to shame….haha. Seriously. They look awesome!

Not that any of it is your fault, but had you ever brought it up to your doctor? My family never goes to the doctor/gets any testing done so if my doctor were to ask for a family history I’d have no information to give him! Probably not a good thing….

Anyway, the peanut butter cups look amazing, per the usual standard you have set for yourself ๐Ÿ˜‰


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

