Happy Food Coma

Posted on January 20, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Sooo full! And happy 😀 It all started last night. Yes, last night.

White Beans Soaking

I purposely neglected to mention that during American Idol I got out some white beans from the Whole Foods bulk bins and started soaking them. I’d never worked with beans before, but this was something I wanted to do while I was at home. It’s supposed to be economical; frankly, when have beans ever been that expensive? But it was more about the experience. Those soaked over night, I posted an eggy discussion, and then came lunch. I was planning on eating a vegetarian lunch but…

Tuna And Full Fat Greek Yogurt

…life had other plans. Instead, I wanted a good ol’ tuna salad. I wouldn’t be exagerating if I said my mom could absolutely live off of these. I am not nearly as obsessed, but once and a while they hit the spot. My “secret” to a perfect one is using full fat greek yogurt. I hate mayo, both the real kind and the vegan one, so the yogurt is perfect for adding creaminess, fat, and overall “happy-happy-joy-joy”.

Broccoli With Tamari, Tuna Salad

Original Pop Chips, Broccoli Stems, Smoky Ketchup

Along with the tuna salad, I steamed broccoli. The stems looked ridiculously long so I cut them off but then kept them to eat like fries with the Pop Chips in ketchup and liquid smoke. It wasn’t ground breaking but at least no greens went to waste. The tuna salad was definitely soul hitting–no regrets there. And with the tamari and sea salt I was in sodium heaven! Did I just admit that? Oh yes I did. After lunch I put all the dishes away and turned my attention back to dinner.

Cooking White Beans

This is probably what intimidated me most about the beans: cooking them. I followed the directions exactly and cooked them for 1 and a half hours with 2 bay leaves and 1 onion quartered and salt and pepper. They smelled amazing; I’m such an onion fanatic as is. I wasn’t about to stand there for the whole time watching them, so I popped open a Zevia and popped in a movie.

Orange Zevia

I finally finished Gettysburg, the movie on the Civil War I started 2 weeks ago and bought on Black Friday. It was good and very accurate to the war/book, but not quite an uplifting story as I’m sure you can imagine. I looked it up and it was exactly 2 years and 4 days ago that I handed in my Junior Thesis concerning the book this was based on. I’m impressed I still remember anything about it, haha. Halfway through, I went to the kitchen to whip up something to last me until dinner.

Chocolate Banana Avocado Pudding With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

What do you do when you have no frozen bananas? Well, you cry in the corner for about 2 minutes, and then get to work on something new. For this, I put into the processor(I’m going to give him a nickname so I don’t have to write “food processor” anymore), 3oz fresh banana(1 medium sized one), 2oz avocado, 2 tablespoons cocoa and 3 tablespoons liquid(the last of my So Delicious kefir). The result was really good and really creamy. It actually was surprisingly sweet on its own with banana, but because my sweet tooth runs ramped(like I needed to admit this) I added some vanilla stevia. A good raw alternative to that would have been adding more cocoa powder instead because this was a little lacking in that respect and that would have upped the darkness. Oh, and did I mention I topped it with peanut butter? Yeah, it just wasn’t fattening enough 😀

Back to dinner, once my beans were done I drained them and started cooking the recipe. I was working off of this Whole Foods recipe for white bean and kale soup with chicken sausage. First was browning the sausage and onion. Then I added chicken stock and spinach to wilt down. Finally, I added 1 1/2 cups of beans and 1 cup of bean-puree for thickness.

White Bean And Spinach Stew With Spinach And Feta Chicken Sausages

This came out just like the picture, which made me soooo happy(Is this vein? I don’t think it’s vein. We’re saying it’s not vein). The flavor was lacking just a tad, so I seasoned some more with salt, pepper, and dehydrated onion. It’s actually pretty heart on its own, but we also roasted some rutabaga.

White Bean Stew With Goat Milk Yogurt And Roasted Rutabegas

Soooo good. Assume I had this times two. The soup had lots of flavor(read: lots of sodium)! The greens added a bitter crunch while the sausages were so perfectly savory. I used free-range chicken broth instead of water which also pumped up the volume. And the dollop of goat milk yogurt was just that final, tangy touch to top it all off. It really put me in a happy food coma. And we have a ton of beans left over, which I think we’ll freeze or something and I can get at least a few meals out of when I go back to school(yes. I do still attend college but am still on vacation, and will be for another week).

I’m so happy and full, I can barely think about dessert(well now I’m downright lying to ya’ll).

Here’s a Barney Butter giveaway.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Happy Food Coma”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

jelous of my eats?! BOY your eats are so BALLIN!!
that pudding.. i STILL got to try.. i hate avocados tho..will that make a difference?!

Wow! Those are some delicious looking eats! I love how you ate the broccoli stems like fries 🙂

That pudding looks awesome! I gotta try it 🙂

making stuff for the first time intimidates me too a little. great job with the beans though 🙂 saves the landfill space from canned beans…and it’s cheaper 🙂

Making beans from scratch is a bizzotch but sooo worth it. That soup must’ve tasted extra good!

Wow, that white bean soup looks incredible! I love orange Zevia too. Yummy eats!

can’t believe you’re still on vacation, enjoy your last week!

“Chocolate Banana Avocado Pudding With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter”-why do you tease me like this. You bad, bad boy.

Writing out the word “food processor”. Yes, it has a a horrid finger flow and i usually write food proc or just say Vita. 🙂

Soup. Flavor = sodium. Sigh. I cant hang with salt.
Beans. Hummus you bad boy. Those beans in your food proc + 2 Tbsp EVOO, dash of salt, garlic, onion powder, chili powder, none or all of the above, etc. BLend. Done. Bean issue solved.

Awesome looking dinner!

I HATE mayo as well. I made cfabcakes awhile back and subbed in greek yogurt for the mayo. It waorked perfectly.

i hate mayo too but i never thought of using yogurt instead. i’ve just been eating it dry. which i like but i’m willing to branch out 🙂

your chocolate banana avocado pudding w/ that nut butter is making me want to hunt you down and make it for me. i think you need to become my personal chef.

love the white beans! too good!

Very nice looking dinner…jealous of your creativity with food here. Wish I could put something together like that!

Once I learned to soak beans, I realized how cheap and easy it is! Once I cook them, I freeze individual servings, so it’s really easy to pull out for a quick lunch or dinner.

I say it’s not vain. 🙂 I mean, the recipe pictures are there to show you what yours is supposed to look like, right?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

