“It’s A Race. It’s A Race. I Hope I Win.”

Posted on January 21, 2010. Filed under: Race Update | Tags: , , |

To be honest, I didn’t feel like writing a real post this morning; I’ve had too much on my mind both good and bad, I’ve tried too many new things I want to accurately review and tell you about, and I came up with a pretty sweet gimmick for a post which would work better tonight. But, I still wanted to have something to say. What was “the obvious” thing to do? Sign up for my first race.

I’ve officially registered for The Eastern States Run for the Border Half Marathon. A lot of things made this seem like a good decision. I haven’t ran in a month, and this will totally motivate me to get back into it. This is a distance I’ve ran(and further), but never on the road, so that will be a new challenge. And did I mention it’s the day before my birthday? Like Marie Antionette said, “Let them eat cake!”. It won’t be my first race; I actually “raced” two 5k’s in high school cross country, but I wasn’t very serious then. In all honesty, I have no hope for or expectation of “winning”; “winning” to me will be finishing and having a good time, both during the race and in the 2 months building up to it. 2 months?! Yikes! I don’t even have a training plan. Let me get on that, and those reviews, and the gimmick…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to ““It’s A Race. It’s A Race. I Hope I Win.””

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations – if you are looking for a training plan – try Hal Higdons training plans they are really good!

Yay for signing up for a race! I’m sure you’re going to do great! I don’t know how you wouldn’t!

yay! isn’t that a 20 miler though and not a half? i think i’m going to sign up for it too as part of my boston training

YAy for you!! That is an awesome goal! 🙂 I have some training programs posted on my blog from when I tried for my first half…maybe it will help?

That is exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

So exciting!!! Good for you. 🙂

Congrats!!! I ran my first half last November, and loved it! Can’t wait to read all about it!

And you will probably rock this – with as speedy as you are indoors I think you will find the road to be very fun 🙂

SWEEEET! good luck!

good luck with the race!

and p.s. rat race is HILARIOUS 🙂

♥ lindsey

yey! Sounds so awesome!!! I wish you the best of luck. It will be alot of fun Im sure.

Very exciting! Good luck!

I think you should run the 20 miler. What is another 7? Weren’t you running like 16 miles every morning on the treadmill?

ooh very exciting! i know you’ll do great, and it’s always nice to have an event/goal so structured to look forward to and motivate you! not that you seem to have a lack of motivatio with exercise, lol

Congrats Evan! You can totally do it!

Congrats on signing up for your first race! I’m sure you’ll do great – you eat half marathons for breakfast!

Congrats on signing up! You’re going to be awesome!!

woo woo congrats, Evan! that’s awesome!!!

Hooray for half marathons! I’m sure you’re going to do great:)

Good luck! I’m running a half-marathon in two months too. We’re race twins!

Congrats on signing up for the race! I’m sure you’ll do great!

good luck and just pretend there’s chocolate at the finish line. you will no doubt win 🙂

Came upon your blog through my wife (rhodeygirltests.com)….you won’t regret doing the half! We just did our first in November and just did our second this month in Disney….We used Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Training Plan and it worked out great. We had some ups and downs with injuries/soreness but once you do the 13.1 miles once, it gets easier each time. Then you’ll be thinking “Ok….so when do I sign up for my first full!”

Best of luck!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

