Let Me Eat Oats

Posted on January 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Happy national peanut butter day! Right now, I’m sitting here watching the Screen Actor’s Guild awards that I tivoed and I’m still entirely in a food coma from yesterday. Seriously–how do you get over food like that? At the same time, I’m so happy to get back to “normal” eating. I’ve often thought about how great it would be to be a celebrity and eat at the best restaurants every night, but 1 day and I’m dying to get back to good old cheap-and-tasty food. Does anybody else think certain celebrities are the same? Steve Carell is one celebrity I could certainly picture going home after a long day of work and reaching for a bowl of oats instead of anything fancy; I like down-to-earth celebs like that.

I didn’t want to completely abandon my ritual of chocolate after dinner last night, so I found room for some dessert 😉

Chocolate Banana Soft Serve

It always amazes me that cocoa powder, bananas, and a dash of nut milk can make something so glorious. I’m planning on making a How-To post for chocolate banana soft serve, because there’s a little “trick” to it if you ask me. But when you’ve got it right, it comes out so deliciously cool and creamy–you’ll think it’s soft serve!

Did anybody catch the new Unwrapped last night? It was on at a really odd time: 10:30. It was all about bargain eating, and the first 10 minutes were devoted to Trader Joe’s! Gotta love that store. They also showed a visit to the Hungry Man factory; I don’t know how anybody who works there would eat one of their meals. I actually thought some of the photos were bit graphic(if you saw this and the chicken, you might now what I mean).

That show probably influenced a dream I had last night about being at Trader Joe’s and looking for Swedish fish with a friend from high school. I used to love Swedish fish, and it sort of bums me out I haven’t found a natural alternative yet. There just soooo good. I might have to make an exception in my diet one day soon for them. Anyway, the dream got me hungry so I scrounged the kitchen for the closest thing to Swedish fish.

Dried Raspberries

You know–for something not Swedish fish, these weren’t half bad? Chewy? Check. Sweet? Check. They were just a little too tart, but I bet blended with dates they’d be a good substitute. When I stumbled on an old Disney Channel Original Movie on the TV at 4am, I might have had a mid(quarter?)life crisis; why can’t we all grow young like Benjamin Button? No worries–I’ll spoil the hell out of my kids and live through them. Lucky bastards 😀

Because of my latenight wanderings, I slept through my alarm for a full hour. That’s not an easy thing to do at the volume I play it, so I’m sure other people got an earful. I decided to just save time by nixing the strength workout since it’s good to give muscles a rest, but kept the cardio and did stairs for 200 flights(which takes almost exactly 1 hour). For breakfast, I was soooo up for eating more “normal”.

Crofter's Europe Superfruit Spread

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy myself; I opened the European superfruit spread from Crofter’s Organic to see if I could add some exotic(or at least organic) flavor.

Goat Milk Yogurt With Europe Superfruit Spread

Oatmeal With Mighty Maple And Organic Pasture Butter

I thought the goat milk yogurt with Europe superfruit spread would be a fun and exotic(well, as exotic as Europe gets) combination; honestly, the spread did not wow me, and it would have been a better idea to completely mix the two since it’s so thick. On the other hand, it was pretty “European” in flavor, so if you just can’t quit Europe this might be your best bet. The oatmeal was a divine treat. It came out kind of like pancakes topped with butter and brown sugar, except with a peanut buttery twist. All I wanted was my oats–no fillers–so I just loaded up on ‘dem grains 😀

They just played the In Memoriam section of the SAG awards. Those are always my most and least favorite parts of an award show; I totally forgot Bea Arthur died this year 😦 Youtubing Golden Girl clips for the rest of the day? Yeah, that could be a plan.

Here’s a giveaway for teather fruit strips and here’s another for nutrasalt!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Let Me Eat Oats”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Glad to see you are properly celebrating national pb day! 🙂

Only you would know that today is National Peanut Butter Day! haha! Guess that means I need to go get a spoon and jar and go to town! I mean no use having a holiday if you can’t celebrate, right?! 🙂

I read in a magazine article that Carrie Underwoods favorite snack is greek yogurt and cereal.. I fell in love 🙂

Happy National Peanut Butter Day!

NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER DAY! What is better than celebrating my favorite food? So far I have had it three times today 🙂

I bought some goats milk yogurt at Whole Foods on Friday. That stuff is awesome. So creamy…

hey evs! i cant believe it has been so long since i have been to your bloggity! how have you been? yummy eats as allllways

lol– the image of Steve Carrell coming home to a bowl of oats is making me giggle.

That jam looks delicious!

i totally forgot about the sag awards. where was my head.

and i didn’t know it was national pb day?! but i think it occurs several times a year…or at least should. 😉

Well crap, I totally missed PB day. PB with bananas would have been sooo good too. I’ve never seen dried raspberries – are they seedy like fresh ones?

I’m right there with you! Call me crazy but I prefer my ‘comfort’ foods of veggies/fruits/oats and of course PB!!! your own eats look delicious in this post…no wonder you were craving them!

Glad you’ve got your “trick” goin’ for the nanna choco softserve. I personally think the dash of milk is KEY. In a Vita it is for sure.

Brownies Raw. Tasha’s. She just re-linked them today and i thought of you b/c you’re into this now 🙂
http://thevoraciousvegan.com/2009/12/01/raw-double-fudge-brownies/

i love me some steve carell! he def seems like an oats kinda man to me :). aww bea arthur! youtube fest indeed

I’m so happy to see that I’m not the only one out there eating goat’s milk yogurt…..and with jam in it!!! 😉 Reminds me of cheesecake!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

