Meals And Moving

Posted on January 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Woo, I am beat. So much for a somple Sunday. Can I fall asleep now? Maybe a post(and dessert) first. For lunch we ewre roasting half of an all-natural turkey, which raised a little dilemma in my head. I knew I didn’t want meat, but I hated the idea of not eating good meat when it was cooked. In the end, I decided I knew what I knew and I should make my own meat-free lunch if that’s the way it should be.

Fakin' Bacon Marinated Tempeh Cubes

I did some research and found the generic ingredients for something bacon-like in flavor. After toying around I came up with this combo:

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon liquid smoke
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic

This was much more marinade than I needed for 1 serving of tempeh, but the flavor came out great–very bacon-like! I’ll make an actual recipe page for this soon enough. I ended up skewering and grilling the tempeh, which also really helped out the flavor.

Fakin' Bacon Tempeh, Sweet Yam With Cinnamon, Roasted Brussels With Nutritional Yeast

Fakin' Bacon Tempeh, Sweet Yam With Cinnamon, Roasted Brussels With Nutritional Yeast

Like I said, the tempeh came out delicious. My grandmother made me give her a piece even though she had no clue what it was, and approved of it highly. Well that should be all the convincing you need πŸ˜‰ Apparently the “sweet yam” was marketed as different from a sweet potato. It got really caramelized from roasting for an hour and definitely tasted sweeter than normal.

After lunch, I kind of knew what had to be done even though I didn’t want to admit it: We had to start moving things back into my dorm. A pain? Majorly. But if we didn’t do this today, we’d either need to make an even bigger trip down Tuesday or 2 trips. Yeah, there was no winning here, so we went with plan A. We loaded up the car, drove down, and got to Providence quick. I made us stop at Whole Foods because I was hungry.

Amazing Grass Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bar

Amazing Grass Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bar

The perfect snack. I had to get this to celebrate National Peanut Butter Day. It was also 50% off so it was only 1.50, eats like a complete meal, and has a great(though tasteless) green body to it. We also found nutritional yeast at the bulk bins!! This was excellent, since I was thinking we’d need to go to Dedham again to get more. When we got to my room, it looked so sad 😦

Bare Room

The athletes who had lived there left a little present: some champagne stoppers on the floor. Joy. Besides that, it was all pretty well clean, and the closet hadn’t been broken in to. We de-iced the fridge/freezer, set up the TV and microwave, made the bed, put away some food, clothes, and books, and 75 minutes later it looked more lively.

Half Moved In

Ignore the sketchy pillow on the floor; I just didn’t want it touching my bed since it’s the random pillow the school provides and had hair all over it. Now, I don’t really believe in New Years Resolutions mainly because I’m constantly changing my mindset/prerogative. I like this, though, because it lets me make many “mini” resolutions throughout the year. One of these resolutions will be to make better use of my dorm’s kitchen.

Basement Kitchen

It may be small. It may be ugly. And it may definitely smells like too many bottles of Bud Light have spilled on the floor. But it’s a hell of a lot more functionable than my little microwave, and I do want to get away from the dining hall as much as possible this new semester for several reasons. So hopefully I’ll be able to make friends with these burners. Hopefully.

On the way home, we just stopped at a local grocery store quickly because, once again, I was hungry.

Cortland Apple

I don’t understand how I eat the most out of my family; they need to start shoveling it in to compete! This Cortland wasn’t organic, or even washed because I just needed to get it in me. That being said, I’d still argue it was a better decision than 90% of things in any standard grocery store–just saying. This didn’t have to last me long, anyway, because it was about dinner time.

Vegan Meatloaf, Butternut Squash With Black Pepper

And now I’m full, tired, and lounging on my couch at home. This meatloaf never fails to get better with age; if you go to the recipe page you’ll see I included the full nutritional info for a slice! It’s quite a balanced portion of protein, fat, and fiber for something began. It might change with the rice you use(I use a brown rice medley from Trader Joe’s with some seeds in it), but it should come out similar enough. Since dinner, we’ve been arguing about my meal plan, how much I ate first semester off of it, and what to do with the new year. Is it possible that I used over $450 in flex points in 3 months? I don’t really think so, but they do charge 2.69 for 1 freakin‘ Chobani, so who knows. If that’s the case, I’m screwed. Let’s hope that’s not the case.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Meals And Moving”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

im so impressed with all of your fake-meat creations! yum!

I’ve not tried a recipe for making the tempeh bacon, just keep buying the flavor. Glad you shared your thoughts on it. I def. need to give it a try.

Well, you’ve got the blog to keep you accountable for using the kitchen – guess it depends what you decide to do with your meal plan too!

I haven’t tried tempeh – I’ve heard so many bad things, I just don’t want to buy it in case I don’t like it!

I love the Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood bar! ❀

WOW thats a lot for a chobani! dagumm!!
that tempeh looks baller.
i found the protein luna bars!! which one did u say was your fav again?

I had quite a few friends that ate off the co-op meal plans when we were at Brown, have you looked into that at all? It’s a great way to be on a meal plan, but have “good” food instead of chicken fingers!

The panut butter chocolate amazing grass bars are great and you’re right, they are like a meal! Ugh, I totally feel you on the crappy dorm kitchen, icky dorm room situation. Boo college, lol!

oh i do not miss living in the dorms, stale beer on the floors, yuck! but your room looks legit! mmm tempeh kabobs! i’m excited to see your eats now that you’re back at school!

OMG Evan, I have to say, I am sorry that you must endure this. I don’t know how you can do it but you are one helluva sport! I guess most people your age are spilling Bud light everywhere but you’re creating gourmet meals…that’s the difference I guess. I am in awe of your fortitude; hang in there, and soon you’ll be rockin’ your own fab kitch πŸ™‚

I remember dealing with dorm kitchens.. listen to Averie.. hang in there.. you will be on your own in no time!

I love your tempeh, sweet tater, brussels combo.. 3 of my favs!

I’m loving your tempeh, brussels sprouts, and sweet potato meal. I always forget how much I like tempeh – I think I’ll make some this week!

Schlepping stuff to and from college is never fun, but it looks like you’re nearly all settled in. Good luck with the spring semester πŸ™‚

oh dorm kitchens…how i don’t miss them. i’m sure you’ll be able to make use of it…you’re a creative and brave guy. πŸ˜‰

and love the tempeh…i’ll have to try that one, since i’m terrified to try tempeh again after a horrible first encounter.

Mmmm…that combination of “bacon” and sweet yam with cinnamon looks amazing!

Bleh– dorm rooms suck 😦 If it makes you feel any better, I’ve seen MUCH smaller than yours! That kitchen actually looks pretty nice! I bet you’ll be able to cook a lot of fun things in there all semester long πŸ™‚

ARe you required to get a meal plan as a freshman? I was and barely used that damn thing because I had a full kitchen!

That is my FAVORITE amazing grass bar…yum!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

