Sweet Oats

Posted on February 4, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

*Don’t forget to enter the Coconut Oil giveaway I’m hosting here*

I’m a distance runner, and Tuesday-Thursday has felt like a sprint! I can do it though; we’re all most there! I think I can, I think I can, I think I can. Or, if you’re more for Dory, Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming. Onto the eats:

Q.Bel Vegan Dark Chocolate Wafer Bars

You would think all of Q.bel’s dark chocolate would be vegan, right? Well not so. They put milkfat in the regular dark chocolate, but not in this one. It was pretty good–actually tasted strikingly similar to the other dark chocolate bars. It must have been good because before I knew it these were gone while I was watching Modern Family and The Middle. I knew the former was hilarious but never watched the latter; it was really good! I’m glad Patricia Heaton is back on TV, too.

Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter

I was so beat last night, and was the first to admit it. I did something appalling: I shut off my computer before 9:30 to start going to bed. And oh God did that feel good. After being freed from technology(and work), I turned on Idol and had a big comforting bowl of oatmeal with cookie dough peanut butter–such an amazing combo! And I’m almost done with the jar, and you know what that means 😉

I think I was asleep by 10:20, which is remarkable considering Wayland Wednesday was happening downstairs(think: music and booze). And I only woke up a few time! Some crazy dreams led to crazy cravings, though. I’m completely convinced I need to get some organic strawberry poptarts next time I’m at Whole Foods to settle those(speaking of organic junk food).

Nature's Path Peanut Choco' Granola Bar

I woke up right at 6:15 with my alarm and had to get going to the gym unfortunately fast. Already I could tell my stomach was feeling like a pit and I had to grab this bar on-the-go. It was good, but more chocolatey than peanutty; it reminded me a lot of a Kudos bar.

Running Stats

I don’t have a ton of time at the gym in the morning on Tuesdays and Thursdays; my goal is to be done by 7:30, though I can probably push that 20 minutes or so when I get better into a routine. Instead of distance, I worked on consistant speed and picked it up a bit from the past few days. I felt really good after these 5 miles! I definitely could have done 2 more at that pace, but time was not on my side(I didn’t even get to when Pokemon is on :-().

Peanut Soy Yogurt, Sweet Potato Oats With Justin's Chocolate Peanut Butter

Sweet Potato Oats With Justin's Chocolate Peanut Butter

My breakfast in 3 words: On-the-go, orange, and yummy. I mixed some partially defatted peanut flour in the soy yogurt to make it more proteinous(and obviously delicious); I think the key is salt and vanilla stevia–my two staples! For the oats, I tried something completely new to me; I had leftover sweet potatoes and mashed 3oz in my oatmeal with stevia and salt. This came out sooo good! Now I see what the fuss is about. I think it would have been even better with maple peanut butter but I still had a chocolate peanut butter craving from the bar.

Apple

At least my first class doesn’t feel like an overwhelming subject or have a very intense professor; I couldn’t handle that at 9am. But when I got back to my dorm I was hangry! So far it’s feeling like a bottomless pit day 😦 Maybe a delayed reaction from yesterday’s workout. It’s important to keep in mind always that if you’re eating good foods and your body’s still hungry then it’s what it needs to refuel, so by all means dig in!

I have plans to make review pages for a) The new Q.bel chocolate, b) The Nature’s Path granola bar and c) Justin’s chocolate almond butter, but since none of those were sent for reviewing I might meander and take my time getting around to those. In the meanwhile, here’s a Q.bel giveaway, a Tropical Traditions giveaway here, and a chocolate giveaway.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

20 Responses to “Sweet Oats”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That’s a GREAT point! If you are truly hungry then you should most definitely eat! I hear my clients all the time say that they couldn’t eat because it wasn’t time yet…no…if you are truly hungry then your body is telling you it needs fuel. So eat….

Some days I feel like I could gnaw my arm off! You are definitely becoming a speed demon Evan!

“Eating every time you feel hungry is the equivalent of sleeping every time you feel tired.” Haha that post deserved a Mark Bittman quote!

I can’t believe I haven’t tried those oats with a sweet tater! Will do soon!

I agree with eating good healthy foods if you’ve worked hard, listening to your body etc etc- they’re so clever, they know what they need 🙂
PEANUT soya yogurt! That’s so awesome sounding, I want some..and sweet potato oats, my 2 fave foods 🙂 I did butternut squash oats the other day, that was immense 🙂
Congrats on your run!
Have a good day!

I love all my oats sweet!

Hey! Ive been reading your blog for quite a while and I just wanted to let you know how much I love your blog, eats, and what you have to say! Im a runner and college freshman as well and I can relate to alot of what you say. Just thought i’d comment since I haven’t before, haha. hope you had a good day 🙂

Chocolate pb and sweet potato oats?? Yum!

And I’m with you, EAT when hungry….seems pretty basic right?

Oh wow…cookie dough peanut butter? Sounds incredible. I go to bed super early to workout in the morning, as well. I feel like the only person in college in bed by 10!

I just found your blog and I am officially HOOKED because of what you said in the second to last paragraph! I’ve been increasing the difficulty of my workouts lately, and I’ve definitely noticed an increase in hunger. I’ve been a little wary of eating more, even though I try really hard to listen to my body. But what you said is totally true – as long as I’m giving it GOOD, HEALTHY fuel, then I shouldn’t be afraid to give it more when it asks! So THANK YOU! 🙂

did you run in high school? you seem to be very good at it!
i hate when you get into a good workout only to realize your short on time. thats my least favorite part of working out before school.

i really need to make me some of that pb yogurt – do you just mix in regular ol pb?

Actually, there’s no peanut butter in it. What I use is defatted peanut flour. It’s a specialty baking product, and the biggest supplier I know of is byrdmill.com It’s really great at flavoring yogurt and oatmeal and can be used for high protein baking. I’m about to make a 2nd order from the company

i’m so jealous of how much sleep you get! send some my way?! hahaand amen to eat if your hungry!!

those oats sound tasty as well as that chocolate pb mmm

I am SO with you on the organic Pop Tarts. I’ve been craving those suckers lately and I don’t know why. I’m definitely swinging by Whole Foods later tonight to pick some up :X Oh well. I guess it’s like 1% better than getting the Kellog’s kind.

I’ll have to try that bar– I refuse to give up on the Nature’s Path bars just quite yet 🙂

the Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter yeah, that’s nice.

bottomless pit def from yesterday’s workout.

and anyone at 9am other than bob barker telling me i won 10 grand is just too early to pay attention 🙂
LOL

i’m glad patricia heaton is back on tv too, although i haven’t seen her yet! your pb yogurt sounds delish. i love qbels but inoticed they weren’t vegan, funny that that one is!

boy WHERE do u get peanut flour?!

I ordered mine from byrdmill.com. I’m actually planning another order right now!

sOoh, peanut flour, that definitely seem like a good pantry item to have on hand. Those q.bel wafers look delicious too!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

