Sweets And Cheese

Posted on February 5, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

If I had to summarize in two words what I ate today, it would be “Cheese” and “Sweet”. I’m pretty sure those are the only two tooths I have in my mouth(and I embrace that).

Pirate's Booty Aged White Cheddar

The first culprit was this bag of Pirate’s Booty. I was sent a ton of flavors to review; none were particularly “sweet” so I went for the cheesiest mother of them all. At the same time, I had the oven going and baked some maple tofu.

Aged White Cheddar Pirate's Booty, Maple Tofu, Steamed Broccoli

Maple Baked Tofu

Maple baked tofu–simple, sweet, and so(y) delicious. The tofu came out particularly good because I had it pressing all morning and changed the towel thrice; when you get a ton of water out, you really notice the difference. These corn puffs were good, but didn’t really blow me away; I liked the flavor but the texture was just OK and overall they were “meh”. Maybe one of the other flavors will impress me more.

While I was watching this I got around to watching my DVRed Oprah with Michael Pollon. I know–I’m so behind! But I really liked this episode and was able to connect with it a lot. The part with Alicia Silverstone and Oprah talking about their business had me rolling on the floor! I do get what they’re saying, though. I also found it funny that Alicia “slips up” on cheese sometimes. It gets the best of us 😀

Count-To-10 Workout Sheet

In the afternoon I did my Count-To-10 workout. This’ll be perfect for any readers lamenting being stuck in doors for the storm! In case you forgot, it’s super simple:

  • 10 flights of stairs
  • 10 push-ups(15 for me)
  • 10 flights of stairs
  • 10 sit-ups(20 for me)
  • Repeat 10 times.

Obviously, I use a checklist just to keep track. While I was doing this, the mail came, and I got a “sweet” surprise.

Uli Mana's Raw Desserts

Uli Mana sent me a sampler of some of their sweet and raw treats. The seal on them was broken, but since these came straight from a closed USPS box, I assumed they were untampered and safe.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Goji Berries And Raw Chocolate Sauce, Raw Hemp Brownie

Umm, sweetest post-workout recovery meal ever? I think so. Where to start? This brownie was simply amazing. I’ll count it as my “Cookie Friday” treat(like I don’t have one of these every day). This was the 3rd bought raw brownie I tried, along with the 2 that I’ve made, and it was by far my favorite; it tasted sooo fudgy! I think the secret must have been in the cacao butter. I need to find me some. Any good brand suggestions? Or even just brands? The pudding was delicious and antioxidant rich with Navitas Naturals goji berries, but I added a little something to sweeten it up even more…

Xagave Raw Agave Nectar

Xagave sent me some of their agave nectar to bake and experiment with. Again, where to start? Simply put, from the 1 time I’ve used this so far, I’d highly recommend it. I mentioned on Monday(and even got some agreeance from readers!) that the agave nectar I used just didn’t taste sweet at all. Well, that was “Trader Joe’s raw agave nectar” for anyone curious. This, on the other hand, tasted sweet. It tasted really sweet, like I’ve been told agave nectar should. I can’t wait to bake more with it! Since I don’t prefer sweets for dinner, it was back to eating cheesy.

Next Generation Organic Dairy Raw Probiotic Garlic Parsley Cheddar Cheese Sticks

Yet another flavor of Next Generation Organic Dairy cheese to review. I knew this’d make a great addition to dinner not only because it’s no-carb, and high-protein and fat, but because of the added probiotics.

Lemon Cauliflower, Garlic Parsley Cheddar Cheese Stick, Grass Fed Beef Medallion

Dinner was also particularly good since we found out that Whole Foods(at least the one in Providence) sells grass-fed beef; sooo much cheaper than from a restaurant! And perfectly cooked so long as you know what you’re doing 😀 It tastes fantastic and I had my whole medallion. I was a bit underwhelmed though with this cheese stick; it tasted cheesy for sure, but the complexity somewhat stopped there. I suppose if it were too garlicy, that also would have been a problem, so I’m not sure where the perfect balance would have been. I do just love that they even make these in stick form; perfect for probiotics on the go!

And now, I’m thinking more sweet than cheesy for dessert. Wouldn’t you agree 🙂 For some interesting reading, here’s an article on the benefits of goat’s milk yogurt!  That’s a bandwagon I can get on. And here’s a jam giveaway and a granola giveaway

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “Sweets And Cheese”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Jesus can I switch mail stops w/ you? your mail looked way better than mine today!!!!!

“I also found it funny that Alicia “slips up” on cheese sometimes.”–I taped Oprah twice in a week, the alicia/michael day and yesterday w/ dr oz and diabetes, have watched mike/alicia but not dr oz yet. I found that funny too. AND i found it funny when oprah said she did a vegan cleanse and then either mentioned egg whites or dairy…i was like yeah, ok oprah. Go swing thru mcdonald’s later 🙂

The choc fest in the prev post. OMG.

The Uli Mana. They forgot to send some to me. Hate it when that happens. You lucky boy.

The dinner was a little clunky. LMAO. Love your dry humor.

Xagave. Tried it. and I think it really is better tasting than the avg agave. But i wouldnt mail order for it.

The pirate’s booty. TJ;s white cheddar puff for 1.99 for a hugh jass bag is better than pirate’s according to both scott (age 50) and skylar (age 3). LOL

that brownie looks delish !!

The count to 10 workout is awesome!! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!! I can’t wait to try it out when I’m back to full speed again! 🙂

The raw brownie sounds incredible… The texture looks gorgeous, too – so thick and fudgey! Mmmm, and your maple tofu sounds like The Best Tofu Ever! 🙂

Thank you so much for your great comment about my PB cookies post! 🙂 I think the dense, chewy texture of the cookies would work fabulously with almond flour… Great idea!

tao of cacao = great name! i haven’t had pirates booty in forevs, it’s so good tho!

I’m a big fan of cheese BUT that raw brownie sounds divine!! Your tofu also looks perfect – nice and pillowy 🙂

Hope you had a sweet dessert!

what a fun and unique sampler to try!

OoH I don’t like goat’s milk yougurt- last time I had it, it was so tangy and made me feel quite ill :s maybe my tastes have changes since then :s
LOVE the 10 workout idea thing -I could majorly use that when I’m stuck indoors! Fabulous, thakyou 🙂

you get so many samples sent to you! lucky duck 🙂

If you like goat’s milk yogurt, you’d probably also like goat’s milk ice cream! I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve heard this brand is good! http://www.laloos.com/index.php. (I read about it in the lastest issue of O magazine, actually!)

Actually, yes! I love that ice cream! I’ve had their strawberry balsamic flavor and the fig and both are amazing.

Those are pretty much the only “tooths” I have in my mouth as well 😉

Grass fed beef is seriously awesome stuff. I am heading to WF to get some today!

That Uli Mana package is making me drool. Looks. So. Good. I still haven’t seen that Oprah….I need to find it online!

Mmmm, I agree– tofu is SO good when you take the time to realy press it well and get all of the water out. Have you tried freezing it before and then “wringing” it out? I’ve never done this, but have heard it recommended by many “tofu experts” 🙂

I don’t know, I’d be skeptical. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had tofu freeze on me in the back of the fridge and it just does not seem like it got any better so I usually end up having to toss it

hey! I dont know if you are interested in more races .. but I found this one in providence!

http://www.stpats5k.com/

I convinced my roommates to run it with me! .. its going to be their first race!

I think cheese would get the best of me too if I ever decided to go vegan!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

