Go On And Live Your Life

Posted on February 9, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Have you entered my yogurt contest yet? Or maybe my coconut oil giveaway? Both are still active!

Let’s just pretend that “funked-out” guy from this morning never happened ๐Ÿ˜€ The stress was good in that it motivated me to go 3 extra miles on the treadmill. But after thinking about it and realizing it’s one of those things that’s just out of my control at the moment, I realized it’s nothing worth fretting over. In the immortal words of Rhianna, “Go on and live your life”. OK–“immortals” an overstatement. But it’s a good song to run to ๐Ÿ˜€ I was certainly living my cravings at lunch!

Mexican Bowl

I needed something from South of the border in my life. I filled a bowl with lettuce, chopped tomatoes, green peppers, raw onions, and sprouts from the dining hall(underneath). On top I added cooked broccoli(I cannot do raw here), 1/2 a can of black beans, a little avocado mashed up, and TJ’s salsa. Muy bueno! I don’t remember the last time I ate Mexican, authentic or otherwise. Did you know Chipotle is a very eco-friendly chain? I’ve never eaten from there, but after seeing them on Oprah I want to now. Along with this, I had some raw goodies.

Gingerade Kombucha And Caribbean Cheddar Raw & Probiotic Cheese Stick

Kath wrote a good post a few days ago on getting nutritional bang for you buck; I think both of these products fit that bill! I loved this flavor of Next Generation Dairy‘s cheese; even though I don’t normally like cilantro, it really worked here. And would you believe this was my first Synergy Kombucha ever? The company sent me coupons to try and review their raw & probiotic beverages. Well where I bought this(a local cafe) couldn’t take the coupon, but I decided to pay for it anyway since I psyched myself up for it hoping I’d like it. Like it? I loved it! This was so deliciously ginger; and the fermented flavor was oddly nice! I loved the little “warning”.

Kombucha Warning Label

Perfect–I was drinking alcohol in class. That’s nothing that hasn’t happened at Brown ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did almost fall asleep at one point during this Greek History class, though. Oops. It’s not that bad though, I swear! After that, the classes just kept coming, as did my hunger.

18 Rabbits Belle Banana Foster Bar

Taking pictures in class? Do I get the good blogger award for that? This bar from 18 Rabbits had such an enticing description–“banana foster” with “caramelized banana”. Yes, please! Unfortunately, the flavor was very heavily like banana chips. This wasn’t a bad thing, per say; on the contrary, I really liked the flavor! It just needs to not set up itself for such high expectations with a name like that.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

When I finally got back to my room for the evening, I whipped up some chocolate avocado pudding to relax a bit. My afternoon might have looked something like this: The Office, 30 Rock, 5-page paper on food processors. Yes, you read that last one right. Why? I have no idea; we need to have a rough draft on an object in our lives we can look at from an objective perspective by tomorrow at 3pm and it was what popped into my mind. Thankfully, it’s not really due to be graded for 2 weeks, so I can surely change the subject if nothing pops(or processes as the case would be).

Along with my “meal planningย initiative”, I had a brilliant idea for dinner: Breakfast! It’s true that I most always have oatmeal and yogurt for breakfast. On the one hand, they’re cheap and tasty. But part of that is also because post-run it’s easy to whip together. Instead, I decided to make something with a little more complexity…

Coconut Flour Oatmeal Pancakes With NH Maple Syrup And Grass-Fed Butter

Goat Milk Yogurt With Xagave Raw Chocolate Sauce And Mulberries

Gluten-free, coconut flour oatmeal pancakes! Yum! It’s been far too long since I’ve had pancakes, and when I got this coconut flour from Bob’s Red Mill I knew this was one way I wanted to experiment with it. In the bowl went 1/4 cup oats, 2 tablespoons coconut flour, 1 egg white, 1/4 cup almond milk, stevia, and salt. I cooked them in a bit of coconut oil and topped them with pasture butter and local maple syrup. Can you say heaven?ย My favorite fat blogger(that would be, one who blogs about fat ;-)) has a longstanding tradition of pancake eating; I think I need to follow suit here, too, because I’ve been missing out! On the yogurt, I made some raw sauce with Xagave and added Navitas NaturalsMulberries; they may be a superfood but I was not that into them :-/ I’d rather have something like dried raspberries. Maybe they’ll give me superpowers? Here’s hoping ๐Ÿ™‚

Go on, live your life, and enter this giveaway from a loyal reader for peanut butter!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “Go On And Live Your Life”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That is my absolute favorite flavor of Kombucha. It’s definitely an expensive addiction to have. But oh so yummy!

Breakfast food for dinner is always a great choice!

Hi Evan
You’ve been a PM. Posting Machine.
I have been a BM. Busy Mom.

Anyway stress…yeah, college = tons of it.
The eating bottomless pit thing, running will do that to you!

18 Rabbits have not had but want to.
The coconut oil choc bar. SOOO perfect looking. You need to quit your day job and just start going into production making those things mass scale ๐Ÿ™‚

Off to do your contest.

And emailing you the macs!

mmm i love mexican bowls.

mmmm i miss my greek yogurt ๐Ÿ˜ฆ havent been able to afford it in months ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

i will oogle at it on your pages lol

I like banana chips, the 18 Rabbits bar sounds great! But the ginger thing? Urgh no thankyou! Ginger is on my list of foods (along with cauliflower) that should be banished from the earth!! Even the smell makes me nauseous :s

I was wondering about that bar! I’m not a banana chip fan, so I think I’ll have to pass. I LOVE Synergy Kombucha, its my favorite!

Did someone say YOGURT MAKER GIVEAWAY??? I’ve always wanted to make my own…cause I’m crazy curious like that.

Kombucha on last week at my WF’s = 6 in the fridge. I feel happy every time I open the door ๐Ÿ˜› I go for the grape flavor though – tastes like grape soda to me (and that was the only kind of soda I ever liked so… score)!

Nice job with the pamcakes! You just inspired me to make some for breakfast!

I tried the 18 Rabbits, I can’t remember which one, and I thought it was just “ok”, nothing special really. I love that you took picture sin class! Classic. You do deserve an award for that ๐Ÿ™‚

I can’t get over the fact that you have not tried Chipotle yet. what are you waiting for?! Your next post better include a Chipotle burrito, with all the fixin’s. You are missing out, big time!

The chocolate avocado pudding looks and sounds so good! What a unique combination.

Ooh, congrats on trying your first Kombucha!!! When I drink them on an empty stomach, I do get a little buzz!

I love running to that song too! So motivating ๐Ÿ™‚

hahaha…awesome writing subject. i wrote about pb once for a science class. everyone that it was funny…and unique/interesting cause i did some awesome research on nuts!

I love Mexican food – I would probably eat it all the time if there were any Mexican restaurants around here…Tacos are great hangover food, which sounds gross, but they’re amazing.

I guess I should learn to make my own mexican dishes – all authentic and stuff!

I really have to try the chocolate avocado pudding. Looks so good!

(pst. The pb giveaway link isn’t working)

breakfast for dinner is the best!

Ugh, I get so annoyed when stores won’t take my coupons! Whole Foods is usually great about coupons, but some of the smaller chains look at me like I have 2 heads when I present a coupon. Glad you got to try the Kombucha anyway – I love that stuff! It definitely makes me feel a little buzzed ๐Ÿ™‚

you’re a pro, snapping foodie pics in class. that bar sounds good, but i have no idea what bananas foster tastes like!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

