What A Bust

Posted on February 10, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Rant | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

One more day to enter the yogurt giveaway!

Save anything food related, today was totally a bust! That incredible Nor’easter has hardly hit us, and there’s barely an inch sticking to the ground while just 10’s of miles away they’re getting feet. Feet. What a bust.

Also, my professor sent an email saying we’d have class today even though he sent one last night(after this grandpa had logged off) saying we probably wouldn’t have class. Another bust. Did I mention I volunteered to bring snacks for this class?

Xagave

Making Raw Frosting

Because this class is about 20% serious, 80% fun(like me! Or how I try to be), there’s a snack sign-up, and I volunteered first. I thought it’d be “cute” to make my raw vegan brownies because my essay–also due today in rough draft form–is on the food processor. And, yes, I’ve brought my food processor to Brown. As I plan on being here many weekends and days off, I’ve realized I just can’t be without it for so long and dragged it along(in 10 feet of bubble wrap) Sunday.

Raw Vegan Brownies With Raw Frosting

To be honest, I was aΒ little disappointed with this batch; the flaxseed was not ground well enough and so I could tell these would be “crunchy”. I think the problem was in making a double batch; these deserve the care of small-scale making so that the focus is on quality and not quantity! I also made a triple batch of frosting for them; that part was just for fun πŸ˜‰ For “real food” I made a real lunch.

Broccoli, Tuna Salad With Sunflower Seeds, Sunflower Cheddar Flatbread

Tuna salad was the perfect protein for today. I literally do not remember the last time I ate fish :-O And it makes a little more space in the bins under my bed; it’s just a little, but I need all that I can get. I mixed the can with 1oz full-fat greek yogurt for creaminess and sunflower seeds for crunch! Those went great with theΒ sunflower cheddar flatbread; I forgot how good these were over break! The benefit of eating out under my bed before buying anything new will be (re)discovering treasures like this.

Blueberry Pomegranate Steaz

And I had a Steaz because fancy drinks make me happy when everything else is a bust. Days Of Our Lives may not be a bust, per say, but it sure is a tease. Would something just amount from this Melanie drama! So frustrating.

Gingerade Kombucha

I got to class way early so I could also look to buy a book for one of my classes; the line was too long for me to wait in so that walk was a bust. While I was down there, I stopped by Blue State for my new favorite drink. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of looking at my School Card balance online to realize these cost $4 a pop! Yikes! I justify that by saying it’s money that’s “already in the system” and needs to be used up eventually, but I need to tame my addiction to these or get to a Whole Foods and start using the coupons I was sent to sample new flavors.

Raw Vegan Brownie With Chocolate Frosting

As far as I can tell, the brownies went over really well! There are 10-11 of us in the class, I made 16, and there was 1 by the end. You can do the math. I think the one problem was that there were flax seeds in everyone’s teeth, but the excess frosting totally makes up for it. I found it so interesting looking at who were the people taking seconds; it wasn’t the burly men but rather the happy and healthy looking girls. I love women with appetites πŸ˜€

Even though class was a go, our “field trip” was a bust. We were supposed to go to the library and get a presentation on some one-of-a-kind Native American watercolors from the 16th century. The librarian who was supposed to do this never came in today because she was “sick”. I’m pretty sure that’s code for not wanting to go to work on what should be a snow day. Oh well, we got out 50 minutes early! That gave me time to get back into my dorm and eat this:

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Hulled Hemp Seed

I swear, if it weren’t for the food today this would be a total bust. But this surely wasn’t! Nothing about me was craving the fat in chocolate avocado pudding; actually, I’ve been craving So Delicious soy yogurt all week and it’s driving me up a wall! BUT I did need to get my Bob’s Red Mill hemp seed fix in. I am just loving these! They’re so much more nutty and vanilla than any other seed, and quite unique. I wonder if hemp seed butter is as delicious.

Stir Fried Tofu, Tempeh, Mushrooms, And Snap Peas With Soy Sauce And Sesame Oil

For dinner, I had planned to have a red thai curry tofu and tempeh dish with a coconut milk based sauce(Trader Joe’s Brand). Once I got a whiff of sesame oil, I knew it was all I wanted. I made a quick stir fry of snap peas, mushrooms, tofu, and tempeh, and then added soy sauce and more sesame oil at the end–delicious! Whenever I do a stir fry, I think tofu and tempeh is a must; I love the soft and chewy contrast.

Does it count as a bust that Survivor isn’t on tonight? OK, it never was supposed to be, but I was sooo convinced it was Thursday for the past hour. But it starts back up tomorrow! I can’t wait πŸ˜€ Maybe I’ll just have to bust a move while finishing Latin and getting an early night in for a 6:15 wake-up call. How many miles can I bust out before I need to get ready for class? We’ll see…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

26 Responses to “What A Bust”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

mmmm that dinner looks really tasty, I will have to try out this coconut milk sauce from TJ’s !

How awesome of you to make such awesome food for your class! That kind of behavior wins you friends in 3rd grade…

At least you got snow! Hasn’t snow in NH for weeks!

there is NO snow here in good ole SC!! haha
those brownies look GREAAT!

there is no snow here in good ole SC!
those brownies look AWEESOME!

man i wish i went to school with you so i could enjoy all of the treats you make! sorry about all the “busts’ today, how lame! hope tomorrow brings you more perks πŸ™‚

Hi Evan!
Sorry I’ve been MIA all day.
Thanks for the comments you left me today…
Now if only i could get my freakin commenting system under control. New system was working great then bam, reverted to blogger’s crap again. I hate technology!

As if you care but just wanted to thank you for showing the love.

And the brownies. I have also found in raw unbaking that smaller batches are better and that doubling the recipe mathematically doesnt always yield a perfect double batch. Something i have also noticed. You just cant mass produce this stuff!

As for the TT question…they have only sent me 2 things and a blogger friend sent me 1 other thing. So lately iti’s been a bonanza but prior to that, not so much. I should ask you the same thing, solicit or they come to you? I used to solicit and i go in spurts, but lately, I have had more content than time to write about it, so i havent been asking. But i may start up b/c the WOW brownies look great!

πŸ™‚

I really really want to make those brownies – they look SO GOOD! That’s me entertained at the weekend πŸ™‚

I definitely would have been one of the people taking two brownies πŸ˜‰

I love sesame oil! It smells awesome!

those vegann brownies look good!

Yum! Those brownies look great– crunchy or not! Sounds like you’ve defintiely been bitten by the kombucha bug πŸ™‚

I always think wed is thursday and also that survivor was on last night…oh well it’s on tonight….doubt i’ll have time to watch though.

glad your brownies were a hit…i’ll eat anything that’s covered in frosting πŸ™‚

Aww that’s too bad about the snow, at least you don’t have to deal with the day after mess though! Man, those brownies are seriously making me hungry:)

oh that tofu mix looks great!

ah Evan you are such a committed foodie. I am IN LOVE with the fact that you brought your food processor to school. I am seriously going through banana soft serve withdrawal!

” I love women with appetites” <— hahaha, that's awsome. I think a lot of men feel the same way. But really, were you surprised? It was chocolate after all…

Kombucha is ridiculously expensive. I've been able to find it on sale for about $2 but that's as good as I've gotten. In Hawaii they were $6!

Hemp seed butter is delicious! I love it, but it’s best as a savory meal – definitely not sweet like other nut and seed butters.

not only was the snow a bust but we don’t even have cold temps to keep it from turning to yucky slush. let’s just say that this morning’s tempo run was quite interesting.

I’m not surprised your classmates ate up those brownies, who can resist something healthy and delicious like that? Isn’t Kombucha the best? You need to try the guava flavor, I am SO addicted to it!

Man! Why didn’t I ever take classes with a snack sign up?! We never had a snow day while I was in school. We once had this crazy storm and people were snowshoeing and cross country skiing to class because it wasn’t canceled. So lame.

Love the raw brownies!
Hey, do me a favor and check out my post with Gina….what do you think?

I just have to say that I LOVE the fact that you watch Days of Our Lives and that you OWN IT with no shame! haha! πŸ™‚

Kombucha is outta control expensive! I’m totally addicted now though. If you would’ve told me a few months ago that I’d consistently pay $3.50 for a bottled drink (that isn’t alcohol), I would’ve laughed in your face.

i wish you were going to my college and brought me brownies πŸ™‚ and i love what you said about happy healthy girls! made my day!

and i tried kombucha for the first time today and it was gross! tasted like vinegar. maybe i got a bad flavor?

♥ lindsey

Actually, it’s 100% supposed to taste like that! It’s fermented and distilled pretty much the same way from my understanding. It’s part of why I love it, though I can imagine if I weren’t expecting that it would definitely take me for surprise as a flavor, haha


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

