Welcome To The Weekend

Posted on February 11, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Giveaway | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Welcome to my weekend, at least! I can’t think of a more perfect way than with a new Survivor season starting in 20 minutes! I’ve been watching the show since season 1 when I was only around 8 or 9 years old. Has it really been that long? Anyway,ย It felt soooo good getting out of my class at 4pm this afternoon. If you’ll remember, last Thursday it was out of class and off to chocolate fest so there wasn’t much “downtime”. This afternoon, however, has been nothing but. Speaking of being lazy, I really didn’t want a “real lunch” this afternoon. All I cared about was dessert. I ended up doing something sloppy and simple.

Scrambled Eggs With Ketchup, Canned Pumpkin With Nutritional Yeast

What can I say? I’m a college student ๐Ÿ˜› I scrambled 2 Eggland’s Best Cage Free eggs in a little pasture butter and topped with ketchup–OMG. I seriously forgot how satisfying just scrambled eggs are. My grandma would make them for me all the time; I’ll need to do them more often. On the other hand, I’ve decided pretty firmly that I just do not care for pumpkin anywhere but in my oats. It tastes bland and nasty, in my opinion. Blech. But I was also out of fresh, fiberous vegetables and was in a pickle(Mmm… pickles). More importantly, I just wanted my dessert.

Banana Whipe With Peanut Flour Topping

Banana whip! Oh how I love thee. So smooth. So creamy. So delicious. I’ve been keeping bananas from the dining hall in the dorm fridge for this; it’s free for me and takes up common space ๐Ÿ™‚ For the topping, I meant to make a peanut sauce but didn’t use enough flour so it was more like dough. That doesn’t matter; what was important was that I realized peanut flour is something that upsets my stomach. It’s weird to think something that’s only peanut would do that to me, but it does. And it sucks that it’s a perfectly vegan source of protein ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t even know what I’m going to do. Thoughts? Any lactose intolerant ice cream eaters out there?

Choco Peanut Butter Honest Foods Bar

During my 2nd of 2 classes this afternoon, I broke open this bar from Honest Foods. Honestly? It was pretty fantastic. I’ve come to notice that anything that’s supposed to taste like peanut butter with grains in it usuallyย doesn’t; thankfully that wasn’t the case. I think any walnuts/sunflower seeds in here would have been better off being more peanut halves, but beyond that yum!

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Coconut Oil

I could have been dancing getting out of my last class this afternoon; it didn’t quite matter that I didn’t do all the homework for it because we never get that far in translation courses. To celebrate the afternoon, I had some raw chocolate avocado pudding with Tropical Tradition‘sย coconut oil. Welcome to the weekend indeed! If this is any indication, this weekend will be fattening ๐Ÿ˜‰ After that I mostly vegged out doing some potential online shopping(aka filling a shopping cart with foodie finds but not hitting “check out”) and planning a comforting dinner.

Spinach & Feta Chicken Sausage, Roasted Brussels Sprouts And Sweet Potato With Maple Syrup

I think that pretty much sums up my comfort foods: brussels sprouts(or broccoli–either will do), sweet potatoes, maple syrup, fatty meat, salt, and anything roasted! Actually, the vegetables were a bit of a disappointment in that respect; either the fact that they were cooked in the dining hall(with no apparent fat) or my lack of patience meant they weren’t well roasted. This flavor of Al Fresco all natural chicken sausage cooked in a pan with some pasture butter made up for it a bit.

Fat Talk

Since I have a bit of time, I thought why not address some fat talk. And not the kind that we all snickered about in High School! I want to talk about fat in your(or my) diet. I was turned on to different and new fats and ways of thinking about them by bloggers like Heather and Averie. If today can be seen as an average day, then I get a good deal of mono- and poly-saturated fats from almond butter, peanut butter, and avocado, and my saturated fats from coconut, grass-fed butter, and hormone-free meats.

The obvious question would be “How do you feel?”. My answer is “Pretty darn good”. The fat is definitely delicious and filling. I haven’t had any stomach issues save the peanut flour which is actually only 12% fat. And–for what it’s worth–my skin and complexion seem smoother and clearer. If I had to sum it all up and be catch, I’d say “Fat is here to stay”. And I still think that getting the mono/polysaturated fats as well as the “bad” saturated fats. These really aren’t so bad if you stick with sources like coconut and grass-fed meat and dairy options.

Well that’s just my 5-minute 2 cents. But without further ado, the winner of the Yogurt Maker via Random.org is…

Erika!

Congrats! I can’t wait to see what she cultures up. And, if you didn’t win this, you can win Chobani from Anne in her giveaway here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “Welcome To The Weekend”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

enjoy survivor. although i’m upset because that means no new csi this week ๐Ÿ˜›

Mmmm….nothing beats eggs + ketchup.

I’m going to have to hunt down that Honest Foods bar– I love their stuff!

Sorry to hear that the peanut flour upsets your stomach ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

fat is def here to stay! at least in my diet :). it’s my weekend too, hooray, and it’s a 4 day one! i’ve never heard of peanut flour, is that similar to PB2 in theory?

I used to be so afraid of fats now I love them.

As for the lactose intolerance, there are pills out there that you can take. Have you tried soy delicious coconut ice cream from turtle mountain? or “ice cream”, there’s no dairy in it.

I think you hit the nail on the head. With all fat, including the “bad” saturated fats, the important part is the SOURCE! Get it from the right sources, and it’s really not so bad at all!

Have you tried So Delicious ice cream? SO GOOD. Dairy upsets my stomach in large quantities, so I never really eat real ice cream. Try peanut butter zig zag So Delicious. You will love it!

Oops, I think I may have been a bit confusing: I’m not actually lactose intolerant, lol. I was just comparing me being intolerant to peanut flour but eating it to someone lactose intolerant eating ice cream. But yes, I do also eat a lot of soy milk or coconut milk ice cream from Purely Decadent. Everything they offer is usually fantastic, too!

lactose intolerant girl right here. for many many years. i still eat frozen yogurt by stoneyfield farms (which is awesome btw) but otherwise stick to sherbet. ๐Ÿ™‚

sadness about the peanut flour messing up your tum tum though!

Congrats to Erica!

“I just do not care for pumpkin anywhere but in my oats.”-
Amen. It’s very meh to me too and i cannot understand the hype usually but hey, whatev.

The fat talk. Thanks for the shout! And honestly I love the HUNKS of coconut oil on your oats. That’s some serious fatty biz-nass!

haha!

Blog Fairy btw she is freakin amazing so if you’re ever in a jam holler at her. I loved your grandma thinks your tech savvy comment, LMAO.

And pea flour. Well, I think that anything that is 1. a very common allergen and 2. ground into a very dense and “heavy” form, i.e. a pulverized flour substance, is going to make your GI tract buck up and revolt. I cannot do pea flour either. The taste for one is too much for me but also it doesnt digest well at all so no info, just anecdote.

๐Ÿ™‚

I find scramble eggs really UNsatisfying, how weird!
I think fat is so essential; good for our skin and makes food taste good! I think I have quite a low fat diet though, simply cos I forget to include good fats sometimes!! But sayng that, I’ve got 2 avocados sitting in my fidge…it’s a toss up between a chicken/mango/avocado salad, or your raw vegan chocolate brownies, or that avocado chocolate thing you eat every day…DECISIONS!!
Have a good day ๐Ÿ™‚

That banana whip makes me want to hop in a car and drive to Providence! Looks SO good!

I have to agree with you on the eggs. Satisfying is a good word for them. And they take like no time to prepare. I totally should eat them more often.

I want to try coconut oil, they sell some at Hannaford for like, 8.99 – is that an okay price, do you know? I think it’s a 16 oz. jar.

I am really bummed out that I no longer have Fridays “off”, since I’ve got a workstudy shift from 11-430 every week now.

& an fyi, I have seen those honest foods bars at Marshalls last few weeks. ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s an excellent price. You just might want to make sure it’s a good brand and all. And unrefined is a wee bit better for cold applications, though that’s really splitting hairs.

I will tell you that peanuts have a sugar that may be hard to digest. I don’t know about the flour, but for some people the sugar in peanuts may cause bloating and stomach upset (especially if consumed in great amounts). It’s really sad, because sometimes that happens to me when I eat peanut butter, my favorite food!

So getting sick of pumpkin in your oats?! I haven’t reached that point yet, but I’m sure it’s coming.

Regarding fat, I get so sad when I hear people tell me they are eating “low fat” to loose weight. I say, eat it up! It’s so good for you and can actually help you MAINTAIN a healthy weight! A life without fat is a life without fun!

I think your lunch looks awesome. Yum. I’ve rekindled my love affair with scrambled eggs. Throw some veggies in and you’re good to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you enjoy your weekend!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

