On An Almond Butter Kick

Posted on February 12, 2010. Filed under: Book Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

With so many nut butters around here, my taste buds can really go any which way they desire. Obviously, I have plenty of peanut butters, a good number of almond butters, a few varieties of cashew, and then 1 or 2 jars of sunflower, pumpkin, pistachio, pecan, hazelnut, and–of course–coconut oil. But lately I have been all about the almond, baby!

Endangered Species Organic 1.4oz Dark Chocolate Cherry Bar

OK–I lied. First I was all about the chocolate πŸ˜€ To be honest, I didn’t care much on what flavor I was grabbing for(in fact I would have preferred plain dark chocolate but thankfully the cherry isn’t too pronounced in this bar). What I wanted wasΒ justΒ toe at a whole chocolate bar! Not break of 2 chunks from a HUGE one, or finish a half eaten one. I just wanted to eat a chocolate bar. I think that’s the strongest feature of Endangered Species 1.4oz organic line to me.

A lot was going on while I was eating this. First and foremost: Survivor! I love the new season already, and hate the villains already. They get my blood boiling! I was bummed that the whole thing was 2 hours. Now I need to watch Greys and NBC shows online. I also found out that my peaceful, catch-up weekend on campus might not end up like that; I might need to take a trip home Sunday where my relatives and us would celebrate my aunt’s birthday. Of course, that’s Β a pretty darn good reason to put down the books and go home, so 95% chance I will. Now I just feel as though I need a new recipe to try. Suggestions? Anyway, that all went down and my hunger went up; now bring on the almond butter!

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Dark Chocolate Almond Butter

Almond butter and chocolate? My heart be still. This bowl was a salty/sweet mess; that’s one of the best kinds of messes, in my opinion! So in love with Justin’sΒ chocolate almond butter, but not quite as much as his maple almond butter. And how have I never reviewed that?! I’ve gone through pounds(literally). Adding that to the list of things I might not get around to this weekend… And after that I got to bed(finally!) to cap off the work week. Woohoo!

Honest Foods Choco Peanut Butter Bar

I wasn’t particularly starving before my run today but I wasn’t exactly “topped off” either. This choco peanut butter bar from Honest Foods(which I also ate 1 of yesterday afternoon…) was what I needed to hit the spot. What’s the 3rd ingredient? Almond butter! That’s interesting for a chocolate and peanut butter bar, but the flavor works regardless so it’s good with me.. I’ve been asked if I eat something before I run in the morning; the simple answer is “If I take a picture/mention something, then I ate it”. I always have a unpictured, single cup of black decaf coffee before leaving my room, but that’s it otherwise.

Running Stats

This morning’s run was a dilemma, but a happy one indeed. I felt very on top of my game throughout the whole planned 8 miles; I think watching about Olympians on The Today Show had me all fired up! Naturally, I just didn’t want to stop, and I thought today I could reach double digits again. Well, after talking myself down from increasing my mileage that much, I went with my schedule: 8 miles(70:42) and 30 minutes cross-training.

Elliptical Machine

I also took ya’ll advice and swapped to the elliptical from the bike. My verdict: I loved it! It felt like a “real” workout. I put on resistance level 5 and did about 4500 strides in 30 minutes, trying to stay above 150/min. It kept my heart rate at 120+ and got my sweat on. Lovely, right? Thankfully, I then got my shower on and eventually my eat.

Breakfast

Hemp And Oatmeal With Vanilla Almond Butter

My grandfather always says “Holy Hannah!” as an exclamatory but I think “Holy hemp!” could be my own thing πŸ™‚ In place of 1/6th a cup oat bran in my oatmeal, I swapped 2 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill hulled hemp seeds. This was a bit of a haphazard swap; oat bran is the outer, fiberous layer of a grain whereas hulled hemp is the innermost part of a seed. Naturally, that meant the “fluff factor” was not there in the oats. But it was delicious! Nice and nutty(or “hempy”). And perfect with some vanilla almond butter from Naturally Nutty, which is made with hemp ground in! On the side I had some vanilla-y green tea and vanilla 2% Greek yogurt. I think today might be a vanilla sort of day πŸ™‚

Speaking of “the day”, I may not have classes, but now I might have to get at working to make up for the weekend! And yet, for some reason I can’t stop looking at recipes for a lunch or dinner here or thinking about things I might want to order from iHerb. Do you ever feel like you need someone whose sole role is to tell you what you “need” verse “want”? Yeah, I “need” that person now.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

25 Responses to “On An Almond Butter Kick”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Thank you for introducing me to IHerb! Such a cool website! Now I’m in trouble with the “want vs need” issue too… πŸ™‚

I love endangered species chocolate!! Have you tried their 88% cacao bar? It’s my all-time favorite… πŸ™‚

Chocolate almond butter sounds SO delicious!!

Haha – I know what you mean by wanting to be able to eat the “whole bar” … it’s a mental thing πŸ˜‰

I used to love that precore machine.. our school gym just got the updated versions this year and they’re basically the same, except they have moving arms too which I love. Which training plan are you using?

I don’t have one, actually. I’ve been taking it week by week and planning out Sunday night my runs along the lines of how I increased mileage last semester and what feels right

Awesome run!!! You rock!

I just tried hemp for the first time yesterday and love it! and those honest food bars are awesome… but can you ever go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate combined? πŸ™‚

I really don’t like almond butter at all – just not sweet enough for me!

OH MY GOSH –
I just have to say, MARRY ME!!
Haha not really, but WOW I just made your raw vegan chocolate brownies (with some minor alterations) and they were amaaaazzzinngg!! They tasted like Nakd cocoa bars but with frosting. So good!
Thanks for posting the recipe πŸ˜€

How interesting that oatmeal is less fluffy by the switch to hemp seeds!! It looks great though!!! Do you add sweeteners to your oatmeal or is the almond butta enough? I love vanillaaaa too, but none of that artifical stuff!

It’s not less fluffy so much because of the presence of hemp seeds as the absence of oat bran. And I never sweeten my oats, but salt them pretty heavily. I have a nasty salt-tooth πŸ™‚

nice run. watching clips of the olympics always makes me want to run longer/faster

Great job on the run! I always feel more inspired during the Olympics as well….I have some of the instrumental Olympic songs on my i-pod, and I love running to them! NERD ALERT! πŸ™‚

Sorry about the lactose intolerant confusion.. My bad! Your post from yesterday totally inspired me to make scrambled eggs for lunch. SO GOOD.

I love endangered species bars.. they area always so tasty and the packaging is cute!

Have great weekend πŸ™‚

I’m glad you are down with the elliptical! Your body will definitely be digging the cross training!

love those honest food bars. like dessert!

wow youre a beast at running!!
hemp seeds?! ive never had them in oats! im all about some texture tho! do you just cook it IN the oats?!

Yes, well, it didn’t work wonderfully today because I used them in place of oat bran and seeds just don’t do the same in cooking as grains but if you cooked a regular bowl then you could include them right in at the beginning

I love those Endangered Species 1.4oz bars. I picked some up at TJ Maxx yesterday! Who knew they sold them!?

I’ve never seen those little endangered species bars! I try not to buy the big ones because I can sit and eat the entire thing! I’ll have to look for those πŸ™‚ Love those honest foods bars!

Survivor….I used to be a faithful viewer but the past few years with Skylar, I just havent. I was scheduled to try out for the show 4 yrs ago, got strep throat the day of taping, and then a month later was pregnant. So, will not be heading to the amazon but would love to!

As for a new recipe..OMG there are so many. Desserts, entrees, of course for me, it’s always desserts!

I’ve been wanting to try adding in some hemp to my diet but haven’t. I tried hemp protein powder and didn’t really like it. I am making a trip to Whole Foods tomorrow and will look for the seeds.

though I am a devoted peanut butter lover, I have to say — the naturally nutty vanilla AB is definitely some stiff competition!

Man, you are rockin these runs! you are going to do so great on that race!

jealous of the honest foods bar…i want them again. it’s been too long. πŸ™‚

i can’t believe i only tried almond butter for the first time about 2 years ago. how did i live so long without such a marvelous thing?! oh well, making up for it now πŸ™‚

what’s usually your heart rate when you’re running? i ask because i feel like 120 is really low, but maybe that’s just for me πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

