Today Was Not S.A.D.

Posted on February 14, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Today has been a lot, but you know what it wasn’t? Singles Awareness Day. I must have been living under Β rock, because I first heard the term driving up to my house this morning. I have to say–it made me laugh at loud! I love it πŸ™‚ It’s totally a great attitude to have if you can “wear it”. I think I can defiitely wear it and proud; I will 100% celebrate V-Day single with a box of chocolates and not give one bit. If you’re single, would you embrace S.A.D., too?

Making Chocolate Cups

Today for me was not S.A.D. or V-day but B-day, or my Aunt Leslie’s B-day at least. We rushed home and got their at 12:30 after stopping at a few stores to get baking supplies. I always feel like I need to make a dessert. And while I know I don’t need to really, I think it’s fun πŸ™‚ Today, I made simple milk chocolate peanut butter cups, and a new recipe for vegan coconut cherry dark chocolate cups! How good do those sound?

Next Generation Cheddar And Caribbean Cheddar Raw Cheese

I also was able to provide some appetizers for the crowd; Next Generation Dairy really did send me 2 moo’s worth of cheese to sample and review so I loved the chance to share. This later sparked some great conversation about raw cheese and Canada and “the old days”. Yes, 1/2 of me stems from cow-milking Canadians πŸ™‚

Sour Cream & Onion Popchips, Cheddar Cheese

As we waited for the relatives I made a snack plate of sour cream & onion popchips and cheddar cheese. Yes, we found them! I’ve been looking for this flavor for so long since I loved them so much and now I have a brand new bag along with the cheddar flavor πŸ˜€ I do have yet to review this flavor of cheese, but I’d rather do it when I’m not rushed so will the next time I taste it. From what I could tell, it was very good! It didn’t have a strong tang like raw cheese tends to so I think it would be a great start for beginners.

Carved Chicken

It was my job to carve the chicken, as usual. First off, my dad had the sniffles all day, so we didn’t want to infect anyone. Besides that, I’m just better than anyone πŸ˜‰ Not going to lie. And I totally stripped the 2 we have down to the bare bones. My mom made a point that the were Amish and from Whole Foods. Do you think that means they would have protested to being cooked in an electric oven?

Table Set Up

As always, there was an impressive spread of food, of which we could not begin to eat all of. Whenever there’s so many options in front of me, I like to keep it simple and just pick the 3 that look most appealing. Then I feel free to load my plate with those. I think that’s so much better than “sampling a little bit of everything” because it leaves you so much more satisfied with what you did it.

Golden Beets, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Dark Meat Chicken

I went with roasted brussels sprouts–a favorite, obviously–, golden beets which were a new find at Whole Foods, and the dark meat chicken. I love the dark meat, and since I only eat meat so rarely and in small amounts, it makes sense to go for dark in my opinion. And if you’re buying naturally fed animals, all the better for the fats in there. It all was delicious! I’m sure the same goes for what I didn’t taste. A good home cooked meal was a major perk for making the trip.

Blowing Out The Candles

A little later, we sang happy birthday to my aunt who turned 46, and then my cousins blew out the candles. They love Carvel cakes and I cannot begin to imagine how many they’ve eaten in their lives–100’s for sure. There was all-natural vanilla bean ice cream from Hannafords for me, but honestly this wasn’t 30 minutes after lunch so I couldn’t care less for dessert and passed.

PB And Coconut Cherry Cups

From what I could tell, everyone who had one of my cups found them delicious! I’m always worried trying out a new recipe, especially when I myself haven’t even tried it. I’m so glad they worked out. Most of the time, my cousins were playing my video games as we were eating. They couldn’t figure out how come I’d only gotten through so few worlds on Mario; I don’t think they quite understand what it means to not live at home. Oh to be young again πŸ™‚

Acorn Squash With Maple Syrup, Cinnamon, And Sea Salt

While they were doing their 30 minute farewell tour(as anyone with young children understands), I totally got hungry for real food again. I heated up an acorn squash that was meant for lunch, and added maple syrup, cinnamon, and sea salt. It’s an unusual “snack” for sure but so good! This is absolutely the best combination of flavors, and was 100% necessary to suffer the parade of hugs.

Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

After the relatives left, it was then time for my family to get back in the car and bring me back to campus. My grandmother even came “just for the ride”. Oh, am I jealous of having time like that. Right before we hit the dorm, we hit Whole Foods for this, which I was waiting for all afternoon. Seeing everyone else have ice cream really gave me a craving for some, but we didn’t have any flavors/types that would fit that craving. I knew I needed to give this one a shot if only to quench my curiosity.

Vegan Coconut Cherry Cup With Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

This would be my dinner. Oh yes I did πŸ˜€ I figure–If I’m ever going to go all-out dessert for dinner, it might as well be on Singles Awareness Day, and might as well be vegan, right? The ice cream was a little bit of a let down because it tasted a bit too coconutty, but besides that was decent. The vegan coconut cherry cup was incredible! Oh my God, now I get why people were raving about them. I will get a recipe page up for them, but first I want to submit them in to Tropical Traditions and want to keep it under wraps until then.

Speaking of Tropical Traditions, I’m picking a coconut oil giveaway winner in the morning! Now’s your last chance to enter! Also in the morning, I have a long run of 10 miles planned! Yikes! I’m a bit nervous to go for double digits again, but I’ll give it a whirl. I also need to do my laundry, but that’s a bit less frightening, haha.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Today Was Not S.A.D.”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

You reminded me of laundry – not cool….you always refer to “we” in your posts whenever you go somewhere – is this with friends or something??

Ice cream for dinner = win.

i proudly celebrated SAD today, aint no shame in being 21 and single! mmm i want that squash with cinnamon. never seen golden beets before, interesting. ibought the snickerdoodle ice cream i’ve seen you rave about, looking forward to tasting it!

Just out of curiosity, do you mind sharing a bit more of your history with food? I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, but not many 18 year old guys are so controlling/obsessive about portions and ingredients. It’s great that you’re unique but I was just wondering what your story was.

Hot diggity to this: vegan coconut cherry dark chocolate cups!
Oh my. Yes. Bring it! I can’t wait! I need to submit some recipes too but all that typing is just not appealing to me πŸ™‚ I type too many comments to actually earn my keep and maybe put my keystrokes to better use. ha!

Anyway golden beets, brussels, acorn squash. Nice! Dark meat from ethically raised animals is a powerhouse. But you already know that.

Ok so I have just made up 3 separate batches of raw coconut oil choc bars.
1st no where near sweet enough, 2nd really nice consistency and sweet enough but barely 3rd, going to be plenty sweet but it was thin and is settting up in the freezer. I am really impressed that you can rock out only like 1 Tbsp of Agave to 2 Tbsp of cocoa powder, b/c obvi the coconut oil itself isnt sweet. The 1:2 ratio is sometimes just too bitter for me. 1.5 Tbsp agave to 2 cocoa powder is more my speed. If I make is 2 Tbsp each, it’s almost too sweet and too runny. Sorry to ramble πŸ™‚

Oh and S.A.D….I had no idea. I used to work in bars and would make TONS of tips on VDay. All the lonely hearts that werent curled up w/ choc were out getting drunk LOL

Ah I wish I’d read this post on the official SAD Day, instead of the 15th! Darn time difference…maybe I’ll make today my SAD Day instead!?
Love the squash maple snack thing, that looks sooo good!!

Now S.A.D. is a holiday I can get behind. You know what else I can get behind? Roasted golden beets. They’re a bit tricky to find, but totally worth it when you do get your hands on some.

Glad you’re living up the coconut ice cream too!

Haha…I’ve never heard of S.A.D. until now. Although I like the idea of it, I don’t know if I like how it spells “sad.” I’m single and happy. :mrgreen:

I never heard the term SAD before… but I am usually happiest when I am single, haha πŸ™‚

Your PB and chocolate cherry cups look yummy πŸ™‚

Have a great day and good luck on your 10 mile run!

Looks like a great day with the fam! And I’ve never heard of S.A.D. either– funny stuff!

I’m sure you will rock that 10 miler, you are a running machine!

i’ve heard and used the term single awareness day but it doesn’t really mean anything to me. neither does the term valentine’s day.

and you skipped the carvel cake? what’s wrong with you πŸ˜›

Loved your “S.A.D.” idea!
And I really liked your way to celebrate V-day!
ItΒ΄s probably much more fun doing whatever you want, right?
πŸ˜‰
Have a great Monday!
Brazilian XOXO,
Gabriela

oh my gosh, your coconut cherry cups sound amazing! i’m such a sucker for anything involving chocolate and cherry!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

