Randomness

Posted on February 15, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

That pretty much is how today has felt, but all in a good way. I knew I’d have a lot to get done today, so I tried to organize things by making a list.

To-Do List

But then my typical randomness broke in…

Pressing Tofu

Doesn’t everyone press tofu with about 4lbs worth of chocolate? On the bright side, this meant that my plan to meal plan was a success! In fact, I planned parts if not all of 5 separate meals today; I should be quite on the ball through Wednesday.

Clean Laundry

Laundry is always random. I think that’s half the fun of going through everything and realizing none of the socks freaking match! Since when did I become such a sock-hoarder in life? I love having Monday’s off this semester since no one else is thinking of silly things like laundry on Monday mornings.

Foods Alive Maple Cinnamon Flax Crackers

A few things that aren’t random but rather well known are that a) I like trying new foods and b) I love chips and crackers. What is random is crackers made of flax! Foods Alive sent me some fun products to try including these. And I’m happy to report that these totally fit in the bill of trying to eat less carbs and more nutrient dense foods! These babies are full of healthy fats, protein, and fiber up the wazoo!(“Wazoo” equaling 8 grams per serving)

Maple Baked Tofu, Roasted Broccoli, Maple Cinnamon Flax Crackers, Hazelnut Cinnamon Decaf

Pairing lunch with a coffee flavor might be a little random for now but it’s definitely on the path to being a new tradition 😀 Of course, I made the tofu and broccoli with my favorite method of roasting; these broccolis came out so good and nutty! The Organic Maple & Cinnamon flax crackers unfortunately didn’t wow me with maple and cinnamon flavor. They actually tasted quite neutral :-/ On the bright side, the nutritional stats on them were out of the park.

Apple

I still felt a little hungry after all of that and went for an apple. I think this was my inner carb-lover trying to satisfy itself, which I figured an apple would be a nutritious way to curb, until I thought about how long this must have spent in the dining hall. Somethings are best left unthought.

It was a bit random to find out Days and a lot of NBC’s daytime shows are being covered by the Olympics, but not wholly displeasant. Did anybody else catch the cross-country skiers? Now that must be a workout. I half watched that and half Grey’s Anatomy from last Thursday. Alex and Lexie? Random.

Emmy's Organics Lemon-Ginger Raw Macaroons

Lemon and ginger are two classic flavors in my book.

Raw Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Raw Lemon Ginger Macaroon

Lemon, ginger, and chocolate? Well that’s a little random. But I love pairing raw with raw, so I added a lemon-ginger macaroon from Emmy’s Organics to my (almost) raw chocolate avocado pudding. That this would taste delish was not at all random; 2 good things make 1 great thing. And a nice high-fat snack was definitely a nutritious way to pump out a short history paper. I’m glad I got that out of the way before my computer started malfunctioning; I had to reboot it entirely 😦 While I was waiting, I got snacky.

Teriyaki Vegan Seitan Primal Strip

How is “vegan” and “jerky” for random? I would say very much, but the teriyaki seitan strip from Primal Spirit Foods was actually really good! It didn’t taste just like soy sauce, but also wasn’t super sweet–perfect teriyaki. And it’s a convenient snack with a lot more protein and fat than a granola bar would have, so I was all over that. I think the fact that this is high-gluten might have made my stomach feel a little funky, but it’s a lot more manageable than with peanut flour discomfort.

Another random part of my day was handling raw meat on my laptop desk. Do normal people do this in college? You all had great ideas for what to do with the beef. And I’d love to make a chili! I just wish I would have thought up to buy the right ingredients. When we bought this, I thought only 1/4-1/2 a pound would be mine, so that would be a burger or 2 tops. When I realized I had so much more to be creative with, I got a little confused as to how to make it interesting. Tonight, I tried something completely new and random:

Steamed Broccoli, Quickie Grass-Fed Beef "Chili"

Steamed Broccoli, Quickie "Chili" With Grass Fed Beef

I woudn’t quite call this a normal chili in any sense of the word, but I’m not sure what it is otherwise. In my pan, I browned the beef with some onions and diced tomato. Then I added about 1/4 cup Trader Joe’s salsa and reduced it all. At the end I spiked it with cinnamon, cocoa powder, and sea salt, and served over lettuce. I guess that’s sort of like taco filling? It actually came out a lot better than I was expecting. Like, I practically had eggs ready to be cooked in the event that this sucked. But it’s something I might consider making again.

I would like to say I have something funky and random planned for dessert, buuuut I’m guessing those 2 hours of sleep I lost are going to catch up with me at some point, and Tuesday’s an early rising day.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “Randomness”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Do you know how unusual you are for a college freshman? I never saw clean male laundry in all my four years :O

I love making lists and crossing things off! I always feel more productive that way : )

xo

Jocelyn

Haha unusual is an understatement 😉

I don’t think there is a wrong or bad way to eat grass fed beef. That stuff is money.

The picture of your tofu being pressed by chocolate is seriously priceless.

i love your method of pressing tofu, genius. i agree with the first commenter, you are the only guy i know who does laundry, hallelujah!

computer issues = sucks!
macaroons and Foods Alive swag = score!!!!!!

Errh lemon and ginger 😦 nasty.
And damn it! I LOVE Grey’s and I just read Alex and Lexie!! Noo! (I’m behind in seasons as I’m in England..) darn it!! I wanted Alex and IZZIE to get back together lol!! Bah.

I’m a TOTAL list-maker. I write things on my list like “shower” just so that I can cross them off.

Wish the maple/cinnamon flavor had been stronger on those crackers– it sounds so good!

i’m a compulsive list maker too. there’s something that’s so satisfying crossing stuff off

brocolli was the theme of the day 😉 haha and i always have to reboot my computer, like 5 times a day hahaha

Yum! Your dinner sounds amazing. It does sound a lot like a taco filling. 😀

I love making lists and then not sticking to them.
I would eat tofu more often if it came already pressed.
Have a great day!

I press tofu with my 800 page Physics book – that’s the only thing it’s useful for! As a cinnamon lover that makes me sad to hear that the crackers weren’t that flavorful. Too bad!!

Have a great Tuesday 🙂

Those crackers looked yum…I am going to go check the website now to see if they are sold in my area! Thanks for the review!

Yum, I love the flavor combo of lemon and ginger, I can only imagine they would go well with chocolate too. Those flax crackers look really yummy. 🙂

I’ve had issues with high-gluten foods lately too, especially whole wheat. Bummer, since I’m such a carb-junkie!

I’ve never pressed my tofu….? Guess I should hop onto that bandwagon soon too.

I love the olympics, if I didn’t have to be at work I’m not sure I would do anything else!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

