The Downside To Christmas

Posted on February 17, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

For Catholics, the time has come to pay up. Remember getting goodies from under the tree almost 2 full months ago? Yes, that last part depresses me, too. I feel like the Christmas season of family time, holidays from work, and gift giving are far enough back to be “gone” but way too far off to be considered “coming up”. Any, now we’ve came to “the downside of Christmas” otherwise known as lent. On the one hand, you have the feeling of I can eat cookies and cake and candies so long as they’re all shaped like a tree or an ornament. And now we’ve come to Lent where, not only should we work off those cookies and cakes, but we should give something up, too. Well that’s just a kick in the shins. I thought about it long and hard, and the answer became clear soon enough…

Just kidding! But really…

Preflavored soy! It took a lot of thinking to come to this one, but I feel really good about it all around. Even though one of my money-saving tips is always buying the “raw” material, I have to admit I go against that from time to time. Especially with soy, it’s so easy to pick up a log of “meat”, a veggie burger, or marinated tempeh. My fave fave favorites have been fakin’ bacon tempeh, Lightlife’s buffalo wings and soy sausage, and a whole tofurkey loaf at Thanksgiving! And on days that I have no time, these have been quite useful. But now I’m saying no to them for Lent. I’m a little wary that I might get home at 7pm one night and just start eating raw tempeh, but if that’s the case I’ll deal; and it’s only about a month, right? Anyway, on to the eats.

Vegan Sweet Cherry Coconut Cup Over Oikos

I hate to tease with these amazing coconut cups before I’ve put up a recipe page but… I will. Oh my God are they good. And they have a name! Vegan sweet cherry coconut cups. I’ll clue you in that the inside is a blend of cherry butter, unsweetened coconut, coconut oil, and agave nectar–yum! It was perfect with some yogurt for protein while flipping back and forth between Idol and the Olympics. Last night, I wasn’t a huge fan of either, though, honestly. Idol’s kind of at that boring stage where no one’s bad but no one’s great, and men’s figure skating just isn’t my sport to watch. A little bored, I made a not-so-boring bowl of oats.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Mighty Maple, Coconut, And Dried Blueberries

I was thinking for some reason this might look more “American” than it did: orange, white and blue. I guess I’m supporting Holland these Olympics? Haha, those uniforms are styling. Not styling were. Shredded coconut, even unsweetened, is definitely growing on me as a dry and fiberous fat. And Bob’s Red Mill‘s dried blueberries are sooo delicious! They reminded me of wild Maine blueberry pie. I stayed up long enough to see the Canadian skater and then hit the hay; I felt bad that he didn’t do “perfect”, but he still did well and especially for still being a teenager! And I thought I had pressure on me…

10 Miles In 88:14

This morning, I had 10 miles planned again–yikes! I woke up feeling good, but I just couldn’t tell how good. I got to the gym and started running. After a while I wanted to get off, more from boredom than anything else. For a long time, I debated stopping at 8 miles. And then I looked down and realized I had gone through 9 1/2. 1/2 a mile more? Yeah, I could do that. And it was faster than Monday’s pace! That’s the part that made me happy.

Green Chocolate Dreams Superfood Snacks

Green Chocolate Dream Superfood Snack

Back at the dorm and I felt like a mad man trying to refuel! First I took a superfast shower. It’s a good thing I was so quick because someone was waiting behind me. Then I started tearing at things trying to figure out what’s for breakfast. I’m very noisy making breakfast; it’s something that annoys even me. But I have oatmeal flying here and there and a microwave beeping at me and dealing with underbed storage–it’s kind of a mess. Needless to say, these raw balls from Superfood Snacks worked their way in there.

Breakfast

I think you’re supposed to fast on Ash Wednesday? Whoops. Well, I really needed to eatsomething a lot. And, yes, I’ve already eaten fake meat, but I’ll justify it in a bit. I was dying for chocolate avocado pudding since I didn’t have any yesterday. It tasted sooo good; absence really does make the heart grow fonder. The green chocolate dream balls were… “interesting”. I don’t mean that to sound like how your high school art teacher described your painting; after all, I did give them an 8/10 in my review. They just needed a touch of fat to taste richer. I am glad to have gotten so many green in at breakfast, though.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With White Chocolate Wonderful And Tempeh Bacon

This is not an Erkel “Did I do thaaat?” moment. I decided I was giving up prepared meat for lent last night at around 10:30pm, still havings 4 strips of tempeh bacon in the fridge. It is not the point of Lent, in my mind,  to be wasteful; I’m pretty sure even the opposite is true. So I used 2 strips at breakfast and will work in the other 2 at some point just to “use them up”. After that, any tempeh bacon I want I’ll have to cure myself–simple enough.

And so that is my kick-off to Lent. I still need to figure out how/when/if I’ll be able to get ashes today. And I have 3 1/2 straight hours of class now that history discussions are running. Whoopdie doo. Here’s a contest for some booty(of the pirate kind). Happy hump day!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “The Downside To Christmas”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Tempeh bacon on oatmeal! Love it!
I haven’t given anything up for lent…hmm…I once gave up glitter pens (then never went back :p) but I think I should give up something a bit better this year! Decisions, decisions….

I’m giving up a couple things for Lent – I think both will take some effort – good luck with yours!

I think I got my ashes on campus actually when I was in college! Otherwise there is a Catholic church on Hope heading down towards Wickenden.

i’m catholic but i’ve never given anything up for lent. my mom always told us that “if god truly loves you, he wouldn’t want you to be deprived of anything.” lol! i do like the message behind sacrificing things for lent though, but i try to be mindful year round and just be even more in touch during these 40 days!

Ooooh, yay!! So excited to see something other than the typical “giving up sweets” for Lent! Good luck!

I know that technically your oatmeal was a Lent outlaw, but it sounds so delicious! I never would have thought to add the tempeh bacon. I’m sure the mix of sweet and savory was awesome. Yum. 🙂

Hope you have a great Wednesday!

I always love all your creative oatmeal mixtures. Very cool! Those coconut cups sound awesome!! Have a great day!

nice oatmeal mixture — although i think i’ll stick with my boring old apple & cinnamon ha 🙂

You are bored because you are running on a TREADMILL. Lol.

Does your roomie get pissed when you make a lot of noise? I drove my roommate bonkers freshman year when I would make oatmeal in the microwave!

YUMMM all the food looks so good!!

LOL noisy when you make breakfast, I think I am the same there is so many things to do and open and stir its just a non stop process but the end result is uhjhhmazing!!

oh I love your blog…I saw the fake jerky (which I love) and was hooked. good for you for the running. i get soooo bored with walking and give up too.

I grew up Catholic.. dont practice anymore but I still never “gave anything up”.. I just tried to be a better, more sincere person during that time!

Tempeh bacon is the BOMB!!! (haha…did I really just say that?!?!)

Is it lame that my heart skipped a beat when I saw that pic of nut butter as what you were giving up? haha! 🙂 I’m not catholic, but I have given things up in years past and it definitely had a positive impact on me.

Oh man…did you see the curling team with the checkered pants? Makes my Norwegian genes a little embarassed!

Haha to ‘here’s a contest for some booty’! That’s the best kind!!

Oh did someone say chocolate balls? I think I can always use some 🙂

I remember as a kid having to fast today and being really freakin hungry. Just the act of being told you had to fast, made you instantly 10x hungrier than normal, of course LOL

The beeping mirco and noisy breakfast…I can picture it…haha!

I’m still debating what I want to give up. Hopefully decide before its over!

i love yo bacon in oats!!!

i went to a catholic college… ash wed mass was 10 pm. which meant your mardi gras hangover was lonnnng gone. (sunday mass? also 10 pm)


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

