TGIT!

Posted on February 18, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I can’t decide if that 2nd T should stand for “Thursday” or just “Today” becuase today has been so much better than any average Thursday! I know wordpress has been down a lot, so if you missed this morning’s post you can read it In A Jiffy 🙂 No worries–it’s really quick because I was really in a rush. My breakfast ended up looking more like this:

2% Yogurt With Pumpkin Flax Granola Bar, Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanut Sunspires

I realized after posting that it might give the impression I was eating all those sunspire candies. Nope! Haha, I took a reasonable amount for my yogurt; that’s just my whole stash 😉 I realized in class what these granola bars taste like: Apple Jacks! I can’t say why, but they’re dead on.

University Whole Foods

I made the decision to go to Whole Foods in between classes to get some Asian style chicken for dinner; I was having a craving and knew I couldn’t eat meat tomorrow even though I’d had more time so I thought I’d go today. I called ahead to make sure they had it, and then walked the 1.2 miles. Obviously, I spent a good amount of time perusing the aisles while I was there.

Golden Sesame Tofu

It occurred to me around the hot foods area all the things that fall under my Lenten giveup, like these! At first I thought giving up prepared soy was kind of a cop out and wouldn’t affect me much. but since I’ve almost slipped twice in 2-days, I’m thinking this was a good one. I also looked on non-soy veggie burgers while I was there but nothing impressed me.

Organic Anjou Pear

I needed a snack for the 1.2 miles back. I would have totally hit up the tri-colored raw peppers from the prepared foods bar if they wouldn’t have set me back so much money. I also almost bought a chocolate bar but decided I should not be paying for chocolate when I have so much in my closet. 😦 A rough decision but it’s good to self-edit in the checkout line. Ironically, the person behind me picked up the bar I put down and bought it! Maybe it was destiny…

Groceries

What did I get? In short: sensible things. 2 Chobani, 2 So Delicious Plain Soy Yogurts, a Kombucha(for review), a ripe avocado, cocoa powder(I normally prefer Lake Champlain but this was what they had and cheapest), and General Tso’s chicken. Well, this did not leave me much time before my next class, so I hopped to making lunch!

1/4 Pounder Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Hash, Orange Steaz

I planned to cook this burger yesterday on Ash Wednesday–yikes! Thankfully, it was just as good today, though a bit browned. I cooked it alone in a pan and it could not have came out more perfect! While it was resting, I cut up leftover sweet potatoes and cooked them in the fat drippings. Holy yum. My thought today: You couldn’t eat meat yesterday, you can’t eat it tomorrow, so get your fill now!

I ate this entirely in Greek History. I almost fell asleep in class. Maybe the walking tuckered me out? If not for one of my best friends, Alex, to make fun of the stupid things this professor was saying(like trying to reference gameboys for a joke), I definitely would have conked out. After that, another class and then I was free! When I got out at 4, I officially began a 5-day weekend! let the celebration begin!

Xagave Chocolate Frosty

I’ve had this Xagave recipe bookmarked for a long time. I didn’t have an open can of coconut cream(is this even the same as coconut milk? I’ve never heard of it before) so I just used 1/2 a cup coconut milk kefir instead. I also cut the recipe into 1/4th, and even scaled back the Xagave to 1 tablespoon.

Bob's Red Mill Guar Gum

This gave me cause to break out the guar gum I was sent by Bob’s Red Mill to sample and review; I won’t review it quite now because this feels like something I’ll need to use a few times to get used to. There was more excitement in store for today, too:

Emmy's Organic Mint Chip Macaroons

I won a bag of Emmy’s Organic Mint Chip Macaroons. And in a poetry contest, no less! You can read my poem here. After lots of work and blending, things looked like this:

Probiotic Frosty Milkshake, Mint Chip Vegan Raw Macaroon

Wow. Where to start? As for the milkshake: It was really good! But I didn’t blend it enough I don’t think 😦 I’m always afraid to overblend things until they get hot and liquidy(TWSS), but I guess I shouldn’t be so long as I have the guar gum? Also, this was very sweet and had a strong agave nectar flavor. And that was after I cut down the amount in the recipe.

As for the mint chip macaroon: Holy Moly! I give a lot of things into consideration when I review a product, including price, availability, nutrition, taste, sustainability, etc. I had to give this a 10/10, even if it’s not completely available nation wide in stores; they were just that good. When I’m out, I’m going to cry for about 10 minutes and then order myself a batch. They’re amazing! They completely out shined the dinner I had planned all day:

General Tso's Chicken And Broccoli, Citrus Synergy

General Tso's Chicken And Broccoli

That being said, this was pretty damn good too 🙂 I had a major craving for Chinese chicken last night. And I knew I wouldn’t be eating it tomorrow. It’s glaringly not the healthiest option, but once in a while why the hell not? And because it was from Whole Foods, it was completely natural chicken. On the side, for good health, I had a citrus Kombucha drink. It’s not my favorite flavor, since I could hardly taste the sour through the vinegar of the kombucha. But it was still pretty good; and, as always, stellar nutrition! You can always eat the bad if it’s with some good 🙂

As if I needed any more sunshine today, Jessie of Vegan Minded sent some my way. Thank you! If you’ve never read her blog, you must go check it out if for nothing but inspiration! Everything she eats is Tasty with a capitol T. And now, here’s 12 more sunshiney bloggers or bloggers who need sunshine or just awesome bloggers!

1. Caitlin

2. Cara

3. Heather

4. Averie

5. Kalin and 6. Baby Brother

7. Abby

8. Maddie

9. K

10. Katie

11. Holly

12. Heather

And now Survivor is almost on! I’ve seriously waited all week for this, so you know I won’t be missing it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “TGIT!”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Holy YUM! Such yummy eats 😀
Loved your lunch. Is it tukey burguer or something?
I couldn´t really decide. Hehe.
Have a great night!
Brazilian XOXO´s,
Gabriela

Mmm, it was better than turkey. Grass-fed beef!

mmmm macaroooooon!

Ya for walking to the grocery store.. In the two yrs Ive lived in NC.. Ive only driven to mine once (during a monsoon) lol. Great natural exercise lugging all those bags back!!

Thanks so much for the award.. I always need a lil sunshine!!!

As for the bars.. a co-worker called dibs on them.. Im bringing them in tomorrow for her..lol SORRY. 🙂

lol, np, with some luck I’ll be getting the same package in the mail 🙂

Aw, thanks for the sunshine!!!

Those macaroons look fantstic, and so does your dinner. Broccoli = pure love to me.

You and your chocolate concoctions always bring a little sunshine to my days Evan! I walked to that Whole Foods many a time. At least Benefit Street makes it a pretty walk! The only time I ever fell asleep in class I not only fell asleep, I also started snoring and I fell out of my chair into the aisle! In a 300 person lecture class (orgo, delightful). Allegedly, the professor still tells this story.

Gotta love Chinese chicken 😉 I am a sucker for moo shu chicken. That stuff is AWESOME.

Hey man, I really like the blog–good stuff! Check out mine sometime if you get a chance. I’d love to add you to my blogroll if thats cool with you and if at some point you would add me to yours, that would be awesome!

How is the avocado pudding? One of the triathlon coaches I work with is big on it but I haven’t tried it yet…I’m not really a big avocado fan…

Chinese food.. the best. Sometimes you just gotta have it!
And sweet potato hash is the best!

As for the coconut cream, (I think…) you can get it by popping a can of full fat coconut milk in the fridge and once it’s cold, a cream will form on top of the coconut milk (I learned this from May and her Cacao Euphoria). It’s incredible. But there may another way that I don’t know of..

glad you had a great day! i LOVED apple jacks as a kid, i need to find a healthier version stat. maybe in granola bar form id dig em too, but i am sorta wanting a cereal replacement ya know? if i find one i’ll tell you 🙂

i prefer the acronym S.H.I.T. for so happy it’s thursday hahaha 🙂

Aww, thanks for your kind words Evan! I am so jealous of your mint chip macaroons, they look delicious! 🙂

Hi Evan thank you for the award!!!!!!!!! You’re awesome!!!!!!!!!!! You totally deserve it too b/c your posts crack me up AND you’re a supurb cook and I truly enjoy and savor all your posts. You rock!

And the prof that almost made you fall asleep. God i remember those.

The Xagave. I actually found it sweeter than my madhava brand agave so yes, you can cut it back even more. Guar and XG, I really dont think you have to worry about overblending. I mean for like 5 mins, yes. But that extra 30-45 sec you needed to make it perfect? You woulda been fine. That said, I suck with gums b/c I over-add them. And create jelly goo. Lovely, i know. I have ruined toooo much food with them and over-adding them. Sigh.

🙂

Gah, so the WordPress thing was universal then? I thought it was just mine, I was getting so mad!!
5 day weekend…that sounds so wonderful. I’m quite jealous! Of that, and that you have Wholefoods just 1.2miles away…though if it were that close to me, I’d probably be bankrupt by now, so maybe it’s for the best 😛

Wow– you had a busy day!! I’m so jealous that you have a Whole Foods within walking distance!

Saw Survivor….to me James is now a villian…I see what he means – but jeez he was a total ass to Steph and rude in general. Gah!!

I *love* Kombucha! I had a friend in college who knew how to make it herself and it was so delicious. 😀

You have the most amazing college eats…I wish we had been friends in college! 🙂

FYI, according to my physics book a jiffy is 1/60 seconds. Thought you might appreciate that 🙂

I used to be a big frosty girl back in the day (with fries dunked in of course) so that shake sounds great! Good to know to cut back on the sweetener though!

Congrats on your award and thanks for passing it on to me!

Nothing like a good Whole Foods trip 🙂

Love the sweet potato hash! I have a great recipe for a potato-onion-dried cherry hash. Sounds a little odd, but I think it’s going to be yummy! TGIF 🙂

Thanks Evan! Made my day!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

