I Almost! But Then I Didn’t

Posted on February 19, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I almost peed myself when Survivor came on last night, but then I used the toilet.

I almost cried when I realized I’ve been watching Survivor for more of my life than I haven’t, but then I held it in.

Coconut Oil Chocolate

I almost made a bowl of chocolate avocado pudding, but then I didn’t. Instead, I thought this coconut oil chocolate bar made with virgin coconut oil from Tropical Traditions that’s been in the fridge a bit too long would be good enough. It was pretty tasty, though could have been fresher if you know what I mean.

I almost forgot that I promised to put up the Vegan Sweet Cherry Coconut Cup recipe, but now I threw it on the to-do list.

I almost got a chance once to go to a fundraiser where Steve Carell was hosting and the cake was made by Duff, but then I didn’t(mostly because I didn’t know a lot of these important details). Instead, I got to watch it on an episode of Ace Of Cakes. What a slap in my cake.

I almost liked Grey’s Anatomy last night, but then I decided it was just “meh”.

I almost thought of starting homework for the 5 day weekend, but–oh wait. No I didn’t ๐Ÿ˜€

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

I almost went for savory oats(nutritional yeast and smart balance), but then I went with sweet. You just can’t beat Justin’s chocolate peanut butter for some CPB lovin’ late at night.

I almost wanted toย stayed up to watch men’s skating, but when it was starting at 10 and the best people weren’t until the final group, I knew that was code to give up hope. Instead, I caught it all on The Today show this morning. Go USA!

I almost snoozed in a little bit, but then I didn’t. I love running first thing in the morning for a lot of reasons, and not so much for others. In the end, the good outweighs the bad.

8 Miles In 73:07

I almost thought of running further today, but then I didn’t. I had 8 miles planned. They were a bit slow, but overall I felt really fresh.

I almost thought of having the typical oatmeal and greek yogurt for breakfast, but then I didn’t. Sometimes you just need to break out of the norm! And eat some fun and funky foods.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Hulled Hemp

I almost thought of doing a vegan Friday as part of Lent…

Soy Yogurt With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

…but then I didn’t(on account of the butter toffee peanut butter from Naturally Nutty). I’ve done the vegan-for-a-day thing here and here, and I’ve learned that forcing it for a 24 hour period is not for me. Curiously, there has been random periods of 24 hours straight where I ate completely vegan without trying! I didn’t point these out on the blog, because they weren’t exactly breaking news, but I thought it was interesting that something that can at times feel forced happened so naturally.

I almost forgot to say how amazing the pudding with the Bob’s Red Mill hemp seed and yogurt with the peanut butter tasted, but now I did. And don’t think some peanut butter didn’t hop over from the yogurt to the pudding ๐Ÿ™‚

I almost forgot to ask my Lent question, but now I will: Fish on Friday, yes or no? I grew up in a house where fish was OK on Fridays. At the same time, we always say we’re giving up “meat” on Fridays. Well, if I ever went vegetarian, fish would definitely fall under the category of “meat” to me. So what’s the final stance? Is fish good on Fridays or is it just another meat? I’m curious to hear responses(and any authoritative statements you could point me to would be even better!).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “I Almost! But Then I Didn’t”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I say form your own opinion and stick with it! When it comes to religion and specific rules laid out for when you can or cannot have certain foods at meals, i think that is kind of ridiculous. You seem like you have your head on straight and i say if you want to have fish on a friday, have fish on a friday and don’t worry about any repercussions! ๐Ÿ™‚

We always had fish on Fridays! I think it also depends on the church. My Dad’s church growing up said no, my Mom’s said yes, and the church I grew up in said yes. We decided that two votes for fish meant fish was a-okay!

Chocolate avocado pudding? MM! I watched the men’s skating until 10:45…when I crashed! lol

you know what’s ironic, other than thanksgiving i have not cooked any kind of animal product for anyone in about a year. And tonite, i have out of town guests that i am cooking chicken for. And it happens to be friday in lent. What are the odds?!

Anyway I made raw choco bars yesterday and linked you back. And also a link to Heathy’s blog, she’s got some winners on her site!

Like your opinion on Grey’s, I think fish is just ‘meh’, not anything special…
and while we’re on the topic, stop insulting Grey’s!! This uspets me lol ๐Ÿ˜›
Oh, and that butter toffee peanut butter sounds soooo good!

I am not Catholic so I don’t do Lent but growing up all my friends ate fish on Fridays. But in my own personal opinion I consider fish to be meat. I never understood why it wasn’t….

Dammit! I missed the skating last night AND the Today Show highlights this morning. I had to catch sloppy thirds off the Internet.

Hey! First time reader over here….though I see you post on a lot of the blogs I read, as well. This was a funny post..8 miles! You go!

Enjoy your 5 day weekend, I am jealy!!

I plan to visit more in the future! Oh, and thanks for entering my Vitalicious giveaway the other day. The winner still hasn’t contacted me, but you were the “runner up ” draw — so keep your fingers crossed!

you are owning running these days boy!

i’m not catholic but i remember my aunt (who is) having fish on fridays. so i say go for it. to me fish is a meat but it seems acceptable to the church i guess

fish on fridays is because the catholic church uses aquinas’s definition of “meat” which was that things that walked on land are meat, those that live in water are not
http://www.newadvent.org/summa/3147.htm#article8
(basic premise being that things walking on land were more like man, and therefore afford greater pleasure to man…)

but as the lenten season is about prayer fasting and almsgiving it is not an excuse to eat lots of delicious fish because you love it on friday. (not that you can’t, but the idea is to live simply and grow closer to christ, not to indulge the pleasures of the flesh, so a crazy decadent meal of fish isnt’ the idea with fridays.)

have i ever mentioned that i’m actually really catholic? cause i am.

Thanks! I asked my mom(who I’m assuming learned from my uber-Catholic grandmom) and she said fish would be fine. But when it came down to eggs versus canned tuna, I just went with the eggs. It didn’t seem like one was a real “winner”

All my Catholic friends growing up had fish on fridays…but hey, I’m Unitarian, so don’t ask me! ๐Ÿ™‚

What a great run!

i love your themed posts lately, the “i almost” and “in a jiffy” etc. i went to catholic school and they ALWAYS served fish on fridays and no other meat, so i’m guessing fish is kosher (errr, you know what i mean) during lent too

Hey Evan,
I think the idea behind no meat at Lent is that meat was a delicacy back when the customs were established. FIsh was cheap and abundant. So the idea was that by cutting out meat you were eating simply. Of course now people would go and get lobster at Lent because it’s not meat but in reality that kills the spirit of observance because that lobster is much more extravagant than a plain old hamburger!

Hope this helps! Eat your fish if you want, but sushi might not keep with the Lenten spirit!

I love Ace of Cakes!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

