“It Has That Green Smell”

Posted on February 21, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Glad you all liked my Lennon this morning ๐Ÿ™‚ Clearly, I was the missing Beatle. Anyway, right after potsage I hopped on out for a long Sunday morning gym extravaganza!

Mint Chocolate Attune

I didn’t have any probiotics(a superfood of mine) at breakfast because I was out of yogurt, so I grabbed this mint chocolate Attune bar on the way to out the door. It was pretty tasty! I like that it tasted like dark chocolate even though it’s milk. I was not a fan of the rice crisps, but I never am. According to the package, this was 5x better than a store brand yogurt would have been! Score! Plenty of probiotics to work my digestion while I ran.

6 Miles in 54:21

I don’t know what it was about today, but time felt like it went at a snail’s pace. I set my treadmill to go 6 miles; when I could have sworn I was getting close, I looked down and saw a disappointing 4 :-/ At that point, I had to put on a movie to finish me through. Afterwards, I was inspired to keep watching the movie and do 20 minutes on the elliptical at resistance 7 and 20 minutes of treadmill walking. Getting back the last thing I wanted to do was shower and make a meal, but that’s what ended up happening somehow.

Grass-Fed Burger, Broccoli, New York Pizza Pirates Booty

After a quick one I was downstairs cooking my burger in the dorm kitchen. I might have forgotten a shirt. Oops. The Naked Chef, anyone? I actually overcooked it for the first time! Well that makes up for yesterday when it was undercooked and I ate it anyway; I love my meat red ๐Ÿ˜€ On the side, I had some new snack’ums.

New York Pizza Pirate's Booty

I thought about giving up chips for Lent; that would have gone horribly horribly wrong. I opened up a bag of New York Pizza Pirate’s Booty I was sent to review. The flavor was not what I was expecting. That being said, I liked that it had flavor. It was very heavy on the paprika with some sharp cheddar to it. It didn’t knock me off my feet but I liked it. Maybe I need to spend more time in NYC?

After that my parents and grandmother took a trip down to see me with mail and such. It was good because I needed supplies like paper towels; I’ve been pressing too much tofu! My mom even vacuumed and in response my grandmother had to say “It smells good in here. You know, it smells clean. It just has that ‘green’ smell, like somebody’s been eaten broccoli and brussels sprouts.” LOL She nailed it on the head. I guess I don’t notice the smell since I’ve lived with it so long?

Zevia Twist

While I had the ride, I took the chance to get a trip out for groceries; how could I deny that? I grabbed a Zevia and we were out the door. First up: Trader Joe’s! I’m actually becoming more apathetic about that store. I feel like the best things from it are the plain stuff that you can get in bulk for cheap. And I’ve already gotten those in bulk! Well, it certainly is a good place for everyone to find something, at least, so while others finished shopping I had a snack:

Carob Chip Perfect Foods Bar

In the mail I got from home was some Perfect Foods bars. These are made primarily with organic peanuts and raw honey along with all different forms of protein and are meant as a meal replacement, but I’m pretty sure for athletes they’d just qualify as a snackypoo. This flavor was carob chip. I’d actually never had carob before! And I still don’t really feel like I have; this bar was pretty heavy on the peanuts with the carob only coming up in chip form even though carob powder is the 5th ingredient. BUT it was also really tasty so I can’t complain too much. It tasted a lot like peanuts and honey–duh. And it kept me fueled for all the serious grocery shopping, so it was definitely hefty.

Oatbran And Oatmeal

I got 2lb of oatbran from Trader Joe’s and then 2lb of oatmeal from Whole Foods. I’d say I’m pretty well stocked! The oats were on sale 99 cents a pound from the bulk bins(organic), so I had to load up. I also completely lost my shopping list in Whole Foods which freaked me out, but I was able to remember what last scribbles were on it. Seriously though, who would even have picked that up and taken it if they came across it? Weird.

Whole Foods Groceries

I liked using the pound of grass-fed beef I got last weekend so much I decided to do it again! Unfortunately, they didn’t have the fattier cut, which I would have gone for, so this one ended up costing a little more, but it’s still not bad since it will work over 4 meals. And I might have snuck one of my favorite ice creams and favorite chocolate bars into the shopping cart–not going to lie.

Trader Joe's Groceries

At Trader Joe’s, I was all over the proteins and fats. I also had my parents bring me whole eggs, too; the egg whites are more for oats. I feel like I should have gotten another block of tofu now that I think about it :-/ It’s such a perfect protein!

Apple

I grabbed an apple while I was in the dining hall scrapping up veggies for dinner. I really felt like I needed to eat something “clean” for one reason or another. “Clean eating” in my mind is something where each ingredient is a raw ingredient or has only a few components to it. I was planning on aย Thaiย dish with Trader Joe’s coconut milk curry sauce but that long list would not have fit as “clean” :-/ Instead, I went ahead and just used coconut milk and honey.

Tofu And Tempeh In Honey Coconut Milk, California Vegetables, Cayenne Parma

Pretty clean, if I do say so myself. The tofu and tempeh were cooked in coconut milk, watter, and honey, then drained and splashed with coconut milk and honey(it’s a flawed process). On top I sprinkled some cayenne Parma, which, if that’s the most unclean thing I was eating, I was doing damn well. All the flavors fought a bit but it was still very much enjoyable. I just think it needed more cruciferous veggies! OK, I can cross my word of the day off ๐Ÿ™‚

Blah, today was fun but I felt like the productivity took a dive. I got about 20 pages of reading done in the car and… yeah. I actually got into my PJ’s before dinner just to be able to cross that off my mental to-do list. Is that crazy? That’s not something I want to hear the answer to. Hopefully, tonight will be better.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to ““It Has That Green Smell””

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Tofu And Tempeh In Honey Coconut Milk, California Vegetables, Cayenne Parma=OMG that looks good and the honey & coconut milk w/ the heat of the cay. and the parm…wow that would be amazing!

I lose my lists too sometimes. annoying and then i forget things and have to go back. again.

And the Perfect bar. Well, it musta been lacking on the carob b/c carob is so distinct to me, if i was there, you’d have known it. just grab a handful of carob chips from the WF bulk bins next time. Free sampling allowed ๐Ÿ™‚

never heard of attune bars.. are they expensive?

Oh snap! That dinner looks amazing! I’m guilty of putting my pajamas on almost immediately when I get home from work if I have nothing else to do that evening…

and you won the dr zevia giveaway right? score! i just bought 2 attunes, never had em before but looking forward to tasting. you’re not a fan of rice crispies in bars? oh i love em!

Gotta love taking advantage of your parents ๐Ÿ™‚ I always do that when I see mine too.

I have an obsession with crossing things off my list too (although mine isn’t mental, it’s physical!).
I was just at Trader Joe’s today and bought many of the same things you bought! Tofu wasn’t on my list, it gives me the worse gas ever (sorry, graphic, but it’s true). I did get that bag of oat bran because I am in love with it. I eat it every morning with pumpkin puree and peanut butter. Yum.
You Indian dinner looks amazing, and I bet that coconut milk really made is spectacular!

what a sweeeet dinner!
i love lists and love crossing things off
where do u go to school again? u are close to a TJS and whole foods–im super jelous!

Zevia Twist is my favorite! I’m glad someone else likes the treadmill…I always feel like people think I’m a hermit or something when I say that!

Hope you had a great weekend!

you are probably the one and only boy i know that makes a shopping list. hahaha.

btw, did you get your forze bars?

Hey Evan– you get to review so many great products; do you contac the companies you want to review, or do they usually contact you? Just curious! I’m jealous of all the great stuff you get!

I need to start buying oats by the bulk. That’s super cheap! ๐Ÿ˜€

Do your parents read your blog by the way??

And I’m assuming your campus is pretty close to your home since you usually go home or your parents come up to see you!!!

i love eating dinner in my pjs ๐Ÿ™‚

i just bought the same bag of oatbran at tj’s – im excited to try it this week!

I liked the attune bars a lot, they are such a treat!

I have seen the attune bars but haven’t ever tried them…might have to now! Except I HATE the combination of chocolate and mint (go figure) so I am going to have to opt for a different flavor!

Hahah to green smell! That’s too bad about the lack of carob in that bar because carob is delish! I’m loving the sounds of the Attune bar though especially since it tasted like dark chocolate.

You know, most people wouldn’t say that broccoli smells “clean”. I think it’s really cute your grandma would say that.

I’m thinking I should look into bulk bins more often for my staples – you got a great deal on oats!

What an awesome stash of stuff you got


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

