Long, But Not Longer

Posted on February 22, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good morning and happy Monday! Are you a Monday lover? Or maybe it’s that dreaded day that sparks the work week for you? I’m a big fan of Monday’s myself; to me, they’re the time when things “normalize”: The gym is open at 6:30 again, the TV shows get better, I do my laundry, etc. It’s just a great day to get back at it! I’ll rave more about Monday when we get to that point. But first, Sunday night I had a lot to look forward to, too.

Trader Joe's Bed Time Tea

I tried this new tea from Trader Joe’s. Of course, since it was TJ’s, it was a cheaper knock-off version of some chain’s flavor. But it was also ridiculously good! It had plenty of chamomile and vanilla going for it, which tasted like a sweet treat with stevia. Mmmm. Beyond that, I opened up a new pint.

Gluten-Free Snickerdoodle Soy Milk Ice Cream

Not that kind of pint; this kind! Although to get to this in the common room fridge, I did have to walk past a group of guys playing beer pong in PJ’s. LOL! Some might find that a little awkward but I’m comfortable in my own skin(or pajamas) and will jump through hoops for my ice cream! I love how this had a Gluten-Free seal on it, as if gluten is a creeper that would crawl up the sides and slip on in 🙂

Snickerdoodle Ice Cream

Yum! So good. I can’t even count how many pints of this flavor I’ve gone through. Incidentally, I’ve also lost a few scoops to stealers in the dorm in the past 😦 That won’t happen again, hopefully.

This also led me to question whether this conflicted with my Lenten give-up of pre-flavored soy products. My answer: No. I really wouldn’t say soy milk or soy ice cream counts very well as “food” to begin with(as opposed to tofu and tempeh). The point of giving up what I did was to take away a convenience food–2 key words there–and not to take myself off of trivial desserts. I don’t think it’s very “Lenten” to banish unhealthy food as if another excuse to diet. That’s my 2 cents; check out this post for what I think sounds like the best and toughest give-up by a blogger.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Blueberry Jam And Mighty Maple

Later on I had some very New England oats while watching Brothers & Sisters. Warm jam? Heck, yes. I’m glad Brothers & Sisters is back. Last night’s episode was incredible and next weeks looks good, too. I just wish it was actually played on Valentines Day, which would have made it more effective. I was not a fan of that crazy ice dancing; seriously, the aborigines?

Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar

For 3 weeks now, Sunday has been the hardest night for me to get to bed. Maybe this time it had something to do with the people singing Bohemian Rhapsody a few floors down–don’t know. I had to stay up late, watching something about King Tut on the Discovery Channel, and chowing on this Chocolate Brownie Z-Bar I found in my stash. I forgot how good these are! Too bad I don’t think I have more 😦

Newman's Own Organic Decaf

Back to why I love Mondays;. For one, I got to open this new bag of coffee which we bought at Stop & Shop yesterday; it’s one of my favorites! I got up at 6:50 so that I could be at the gym at 7:15, which I find is the perfect time for me to start running. Recently, Mondays have also been my “long run” which has so far been 1 mile longer than the one the week before. That would have put today at 11 miles. Well, my heart was just not that into it today. So I decided I’d still do a “long” run of 10 miles–just not a “longer” run.

10 Miles In 89:49

That took 89:49, in which time I had the good company of The Today Show, Cartoon Network, my gym friend who works for the college, and the local news. Apparently, it’s going to rain Tuesday-Friday straight! If that were snow, I’d be happy as a clam, but rain has me frowning 😦 At least it’s sunny today? Before breakfast, I also squeezed in a trip to a campus store for yogurt, a shower, and stuck my laundry in the machine. Needless to say, I was ready for fuel when I sat down!

Pomegranate Yogurt With Dark Chocolate, Pumpkin Oatmeal With SB PB And Nutritional Yeast

Pomegranate Yogurt With Organic 70% Dark Chocolate Shavings

Mmmm, yum yum yum! I would call this a sweet and savory meal. For savory, we have the pumpkin and nutritional yeast combo with Smart Balance Peanut Butter; I swear it tastes like cheddar cheese crackers with peanut butter on them, and it’s a vegan dish! Perfecto! For the sweet, I bought a pomegranate yogurt this morning and topped it with 1 square of the 1.4oz organic dark chocolate bar by endangered species; this is pretty much my favorite dark chocolate–very deep in flavor, hard texture, and entirely organic.

So, have I convinced you of Monday’s greatness or not? Answer quick because my laundry comes out of the dryer in 20. Or, if you want to rant about Monday in the comments, I don’t mind that, either 😀 For my part, I’ll rant that I have a paper due Wednesday for which the writing fellow was no help with and a Greek test on Thursday I feel under-prepared for. To all that, I just have this to say: Que Cera Cera

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “Long, But Not Longer”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I like Mondays too. Of course, I don’t work an 8 to 5 job, and so I still get to sleep in. 🙂

I really need to try your pumpkin oats with nooch. Sounds so good Evan.

The no stevia thing is getting easier. My cravings are starting to diminish as I knew they would. However, I won’t lie…those first few days were rough. Thank goodness for dark chocolate! I love the Endangered Species Panther bar.

Enjoy your week and good luck with your paper and your Greek test!

90 minutes on the treadmill? I seriously have no clue how you do it. Even with the Today Show, E News, and Pandora radio I am still dying!

I agree with Madeline, your 90 minute bout with the treadmill stupefies me. Kudos!

Ummmm, snickerdoodle ice cream????? You should put a bike lock on that so no one steals it again. That sounds DELICIOUS.

rock on hon! I love 90 minute cardio sessions. Always makes ya feel awesome after! I love Mondays actually. I dont know why but for some reason I always feel rested and ready to go. The end of the week is usually where i get super tired and drained. Snickerdoodle ice cream sounds amazing by the way! Awesome stuff! Good luck with your tests and paper!

Right there with you…LOVE Mondays!

I’m warming up to Mondays, trying to view as a fresh start to a week with many possibilities and not the start of another grind cycle. The ice cream looks heavenly.

great run Evan! On a monday morning too!!!

Im a big fan of TJs tea.. I just got a huge box of green tea bags for like 2 bucks!

Any clue how to delete those pics to make room for more?!? Im an idiot when it comes to computers…

I love Mondays! I generally don’t dislike one day of the week over another, not really sure why 🙂

I actually like Mondays, too! I like being back on a regular schedule after a few days off 🙂

Snickerdoodle Ice Cream. Nice.
The Z Bar, duly noted. Everyone raves about those but when i get to the store i forget what flavor is the preferred go-to 🙂
The choc shavings 70% AND the coffee…good stuff. Except it’s decaf. I need full strength baby!!!! 🙂

i’m a monday lover although monday might just be my longest day. but the feeling of accomplishment at the end of it is great 🙂

Yum, I love that snickerdoodle ice cream! It tastes just like an iced cinnamon bun to me. 🙂

I am still confused about your living situation. Are you in a small room that has a large common room for the whole building or are you in a suite style room that has a common room for just a few people?

Great run! and that ice cream does look pretty amazing 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

