Dynamic Duos

Posted on February 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Thankfully, the ice dancing is over, which means we don’t have to look at creepy, questionably incestuous duos dancing to poorly chosen songs in outrageous costumes. No, now we can get back to the dynamic duos that set our mouths on fire!

Wicked Natural Caramel Mustard

Caramel and Mustard. REALLY. This stuff is heavenly. I have could eat it by the spoonful. Who would have thunk it? But the sweetness of condensed milk and the spiciness from mustard seeds just take the floor together. So for lunch, I baked up some tofu, coated it in this and another fantastic ingredient.

Broccoli With Soy Sauce, Coconut Caramel Mustard Tofu

Tofu, meet coconut. Coconut, tofu. When I saw Caitlin give this one a try, I couldn’t help thinking yes, yes, yes! So after the mustard was adhered to the baked tofu, I toasted coconut flakes in a ban and tossed them with the tofu. Winner, winner, vegetarian lunch or dinner! And let’s not forget the dynamic duo of soy sauce and any vegetable that will soak it up. Mmmm. I steamed broccoli and then finished it in a pan with a little of the black gold 🙂 And I ain’t talking Texas tea.

Red Delicious Apple

An apple and… coffee?! Not quite, but I needed something to fill me up before 3 1/2 hours of class! Not like I thought this would last me over that long, but for the first section I was A-OK. Then I had to lead a little discussion in my seminar, which went decent, until the teacher said I should have submitted a paper with my notes on it. Oops! I’ll type that up in a jiffy after this. During the “break” I “snuck” from my pocket perhaps the holiest of dessert duos.

Dark Chocolate Covered Coconut Sunspire Candy Bar

I like coconut. I love chocolate. I really love coconut oil chocolate. Sadly, I just “loved” this candy bar. OK, “just” maybe sets the wrong note. I loved this bar. The dark chocolate was perfectly bitter-sweet(70% I’m guessing). And the coconut was nice and a little sweet 🙂 Yum, yum. More companies need to make organic candy bars! Then again, maybe it’s a good thing for me they don’t, because I could go po’ eating through them.

.9oz Snack Pack Surf Sweet Sour Berry Bears

Speaking of candy, “healthy” and “candy” are not your typical duo, but Surf Sweets tries at least. Just like how I try to eat them the weirdest way possible…

Soy Yogurt With Sour Berry Bears

Sweet and sour needs no explanation. I took a container of plain soy yogurt sweetened with some vanilla stevia and added these gummy bears on top. A little confused? Remember putting gummy bears on vanilla froyo along with about 20 other toppings? Yeah, it was like that. This was after I had gotten out of class, flew my backpack down, and started cutting up a sweet potato for dinner thinking “Now I see why my mom would b*tch having to make dinner after getting home from work”. BUT that set up one hell of a duo for dinner:

Sweet Potato Fries, Grass-Fed Cheese Burger

This was more like a quartet of awesome. Of course, there’s burger + fries. Duh. And then there’s burger + cheese = meh but I went with it for a change from yesterday. And salt with sweet potato is “like woh“. And, while I recognize this is basically the same dinner as yesterday, to that I have to attribute a) my tofu block being on its last leg and b) the fact that I gave up “prepared soy foods” for Lent, so there 🙂

And now, tonight’s going to feature a lot of Evan + Plato before my Greek test tomorrow morning with a little bit of making + up that assignment I mentioned I forgot about. What’s your favorite duo? Or who? if we want to lead the edible persuasion. Personally, I’ve always been an Ash and Pikachu fan, but if you wanna say Ricky and Lucy I couldn’t deny. AND check out when Kate made my coconut oil chocolate. I love that all the ingredients she used were organic; a blogger after my own heart.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “Dynamic Duos”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Yum…that cheeseburger and sweet potato fries look amazing! I might be rethinking my dinner for tonight! Too bad…it is already in the oven!! 😦

I have never watched figure skating and don’t really ever plan to – they kind of creep me out.

I just bought my very first container of tofu – nasoya extra firm cubed. I think I want to try it with bbq sauce first and then coconut!

I cant watch Olympic skating without thinking its fake or something.. I always think of “Blades of Glory” with WIll Ferrell. lol

Sunspire makes candy bars?? I had no idea.. I always get their carob chips in bulk.. NICE!

Caramel mustard definitely needs to happen in my life! Sometimes the weird pairings are the best, case in point, my accidental cumin peanut butter pancakes

I must try that mustard YUM!!!

im glad that tofu worked better for you! mine was alright – yours looks GOOD

i thought honey mustard was the shiz but that one sounds even better! sounds GREAT on tofu! those gummies look awesome

Wicked Natural Caramel Mustard OMG that sounds amazing as I LOVE!!!!!!! caramel and mustard, too. Wow. That’s heaven.

And i can see why sunspire’s coconut bar would be heaven too. They make good stuff! Pricey, but good 🙂

So many great combinations of sweet and heat!!! I need to put that jar of carmel mustard on my list of things to try 🙂

You don’t like your burger with cheese? That is a sin!

You’re such a healthy eater, I’m impressed. I want those sweet potato fries! Mine never turn out as pretty, they always get kind of burnt (but of course, I still eat them and love them!).
So, the mustard and honey combination is fantastic? Well, I do like honey mustard dressing, so I guess this isn’t TOO surprising!! OF course, I bet this is a bit healthier, as honey mustard is probably the least healthy dressing available!!

The dark chocolate bar sounds really good. Thanks for the recommendation. I wonder if it really IS 70% cacao. It should say on the wrapper if it is. IF not, I tend to be skeptical about that.

I threw out the wrapper, but I don’t think it makes any claims on the dark chocolate(other than the ingredients). What I meant was that it tasted nice and dark–slightly bitter–and a lot like some of my favorite bars(which usually happen to have a 70% content because that’s my favorite :-))

I think the gummi bears and yogurt looks delicious 🙂

I’m with you, good riddance to ice dancing!

mmmmm gummi bears! i actually really like ice dancing but the comments other people make about it make me feel bad for liking it — as if i’m going something wrong or something

I nominated you for an award – check out my latest post!

Wow…caramel mustard…SO interesting!! I can definitely imagine it being delicious and how brilliant is it to bake it with tofu!! God that sounds tasty!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

