Reigning Over Imperfection

Posted on February 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Just so we all get the pun…

Rain In Providence

It’s raining really hard right now. And will be through Saturday, hence the “reign”. OK, good, I don’t feel crazy laughing alone at my own jokes 😀

I wouldn’t say I “struggle” with not being perfect simply because I’ve never met perfection in a bar and shattered a bottle to start swiping at it. That being said, I am pretty finicky(read: Polish stubborn) and try my best to excel at whatever I do or make. Sometimes A lot of times, things don’t work out. But the more I grow the more I learn to just “deal”.

Banana Whip With Vanilla Powder

This banana whip was far from perfect; some of the bananas I had just stuck in the fridge 2 hours earlier and weren’t even frozen. I needed to use Bob’s Red Mill guar gum and vanilla stevia here along with vanilla powder to get the flavor where I wanted it. And, in the end, I’d say it was just “OK”. Disappointing? A little. But there will be other banana whips.

Last night I also got the rough draft back from my writing fellow for a paper due today. I just don’t work that fast. And the comments she had I neither agreed with stylistically nor had time to properly work in. Naturally, my gut reaction was to freak out on how imperfect this paper’s going to be. In my stress, I made some tea to try and stop me from just grabbing a spoon and killing off a peanut butter jar(oh yes, I very well could have done this). But then I stepped back and thought: This is the class I took for “fun”. This is the class I changed to Pass/Fail so that it wouldn’t stress me out. And here I’m letting it walk all over me. I’m going to pass the class, perfect paper or not. And I was just being silly. At that, I edited what I could, and sent the final draft in calmly and rationally. So what did I eat in my no-longer stress?

Coconut Oil Chocolate

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

Simply: Food. I whipped up 1/2 a batch of coconut oil chocolate and stuck it in a muffin tin because I’m OK with eating something imperfectly shaped if you’re OK with seeing it. And I had a nice filling, relaxing bowl of oatmeal with Justin’s chocolate peanut butter to calm my nerves. Did you know oatmeal is one of the best things you could eat to fall to sleep or back to sleep? I would have thought the carbs would make it imperfect for that but I guess since they’re all complex it works out.

8 Miles In 73:31

This morning, I woke up to rain(as I pointed out). I started thinking about how this could be the perfect excuse to not hit the gym. But then I had a funny thought: I wanted to brave the rain and get a good run in. There I had it, so I went and ran 8 miles in 73:31. The treadmill set up is imperfect; it only goes for 1 hour at a time, throws too many numbers at you, and doesn’t give a remote for the TV when the hour changes. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love it anyway 🙂

Fair Trade Organic White Chocolate Strawberry Raw Almond Butter

If it’s not clear that I’m somewhat of a neat-freak perfectionist, check out the sweet label I gave this homemade nut butter I made over Winter break. On the other side, it has a complete nutritional panel and even a little Fair Trader sticker 🙂

Chocolate Avocado Pudding, Pumpkin Pie Oats With White Chocolate Almond Butter

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal With White Chocolate Almond Butter

Lastly, I wholly acknowledge that I’m an imperfect refueler; I break about every rule for post-run recovery(which you can read the proper way for in this awesome and detailed post). But the flip side to that is I’m very good at telling what I want/need. Today felt like a “fat” morning where only fat would fill me up. I added a nice plop of almond butter on top of oatmeal made with pumpkin and egg whites(for a wee bit of protein). And instead of greek yogurt, I had chocolate avocado pudding. And, in an effort to keep stevia out of my breakfast, I sweetened this with 1 tablespoon Xagave instead. Was the flavor perfect? Not at all. But what’s a little real sugar after 8 miles in an effort to use stevia–while sweet and natural–a little less?

I’m also far from perfect for taking so long to get you this recipe; if you’ll remember, I made these coconut cherry cups for my family for Valentine’s Day. It took me a while to giving them their own recipe page but I finally have. Enjoy! If you try them, I bet they’ll come out perfect 😉

Vegan Sweet Cherry Coconut Cups

Ingredient:

  • 1/2 pound dark chocolate(I used 3/4 cup Trader Joe’s chocolate chips and 2 squares(4 pieces) Baker’s Unsweetened)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup cherry butter
  • 1/2 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 3 tablespoons agave nectar

In the microwave or using a double boiler, melt down the chocolate to a liquid state. Put a dab of chocolate into the bottom of 12 paper muffin cups to coat the bottom. Mix the coconut oil in a liquid state with the cherry butter. In a seperate bowl, mix together the coconut and agave nectar until fully incorporated. Mix together the two until a thick consistency and even red/pink color is reached. Add about 1 tablespoon of this mixture to each cup(there might be extra; if so, either make more cups or save for another use). Add a dollop of melted chocolate to the top of each coconut ball and work with a spoon until the cherry coconut is fully covered. Refrigerate for 20 minutes or more until serving.

And it would be imperfect of me not to mention this Chobani giveaway.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “Reigning Over Imperfection”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

that cherry choco recipe sounds so delightful 🙂 i just tried your coconut chocolate bars last night – ooommmggg good! youre a genius!
have a great day!

Hey, me fellow nutbutter-loving friend – have you every ordered any nutbutters or tried them from Spread? It is a resturant in San Diego that you can order from. Kinda pricey, but super amazing!!! http://www.spreadtherestaurant.com/

Ugh the rain is awful! Good work on not letting the paper get to you, I used to do the same thing for no reason at all!

Nobody’s perfect 🙂
Yay for getting in the run despite the weather. I actually really enjoy running outside in the rain. I guess I’m just a total weirdo. I’m super impressed with that almond butter. The flavors sound perfecto!

ahh i hate the rain!! i never want to go to class in it!!
those oats look great-they look like you baked em!

The fact that you went so far as to put a Fair Trade sticker on your homemade nut butter makes me want to give you a massive hug.

Ugh– I’m jealous of your rain! We’re supposed to get more SNOW!! 😦

I get really frustated when my meals don’t turn out great and are just okay, but I’m trying to be better about it. There’s always another meal just around the corner.

I got my peanut butter shipment literally 5 minutes before breakfast this morning. Justins Chocolate PB is EPIC!

I took International relations my 2nd semester senior year, right when i had all my other major core classes. i opted to take it pass fail to make things easier, but i still kicked my own ass with the class. when the prof sent me my final grade he said, “too bad you too it pass fail, you would have been the few to pass with an A-.” arrrrgggg! i def worked way too hard nad it took a toll on my other classes sadly…but i lived through it and know if i ever need to that again i won’t work as hard for something that’s not necessary (i am a huge overachiever when it comes to classes)!

ugh i knew when the rain started last night that my run this morning wasn’t going to be fun. but i was semi-wrong. once you get soaked things become fun because at that point it’s like how much worse can it get? hahaha. that said, i want this gray day to END

that umpkin oatmeal looks like pumpkin or corn bread! the way it cracks like that…looks So good!

yes it is POURING here!! blahhh, not a good day to exercise outside thats for sure! its raining a bit too much for that!

I am intrigued by the chocolate cherry cups, but cherry butter? What’s that?

ick it was pouring here yesterday. hey there is no such thing as being a “perfect refueler” every body is different so just go with what you crave and it’ll almost certainly be what your bod is lacking!

Sorry it is raining…not fun! I like your attitude of this post though. Are you ever in a bad mood?! haha…love it!

sorry the Banana Whip With Vanilla Powder required so much doctoring. i do things like that where once it’s perfect and the next time i require 17 tweaks to get it right.

writing critques,peer reviews, and deadlines. totally annoying and yes, roll with the PASS fail. You will pass and in 1 year or 10! or 10 weeks, it wont matter at all. Just do enough to pass 🙂

Great new recipe.

And the imperfect shaped food….yes, sometimes i wish i didnt blog b/c not everything would be camera worthy at all times LOL

ick the whether in New England this week has been miserable. Unfortunately. I don’t think it’s gonna get better any time soon. Woe is me!

sorry about the dud banana whip – you’ll get ’em next time!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

