Life Unexpected

Posted on February 25, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I’m just loving the little curve-balls life’s been tossing my way. Dropping over $40 last night online on some foodie goodies? Not expected, but I’ll roll with it! You might see some in due time 😉

Red Delicious Apple

I equally did not expect to be hungry after that fantastic dinner of burgers and fries but c’est la vie. I grabbed this perfect apple from the dining hall; it was the last one I had 😦 And I don’t think anyone was expecting for how bad some of those American Idols singers were; unfortunately, for the guy who sang Apologize, it’s too late to do the same.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter

I was still starving for some reason, and so early in the night. Oatmeal to the rescue! With a little Justin‘s chocolate almond butter. I ate like 2 spoonfuls of this peanut butter the first month I had it, and now I’m ripping through it; where’d that come from? I did a lot of focusing on studying for my exam(ugh) while noshing on that. A little later came chocolate almond in a different form:

Hot Chocolate Made With Almond Milk

Hot yum! For this, I mixed 1 cup original almond milk unsweetened with 1 heaping tablespoon cocoa powder and some liquid vanilla stevia. Sooo good. Why don’t I crave this more? And it was surprisingly filling; I thought last night would be a hungry hungry hippo time, but after this I was just exhausted and ready for bed, so I did! Sensical and unexpected 😉

Nature's Path Organic Pumpkin-N-Spice Chewy Granola Bar

It was not unexpected by me that I’d need a snack before my run; that was not a lot of food before bed but I was just jiving with my hunger. I grabbed a Pumpkin-N-Spice bar, which I’ve decided tastes straight up like Apple Jacks, but are jacked up on Omega-3’s. If it looks like this photo was taken in the men’s room, it was(I was also putting in my contacts at the time). If it looks like I was still half asleep, I also was.

Running Part 1

Everything actually went just as expected this morning. For one, I knew no one would be in the gym when I got there; 6:40 on a rainy morning is not a popular time. I had 8 miles in mind, which is exactly what I went for. I split it up into 2 parts partly because I dropped my ipod and it went flying behind me(oops) and also because nature picked up her phone and gave me a rang.

Running Part 2

For those of you playing along at home, that would total 8 miles in 71:55, which is a good amount faster than yesterday–unexpected since I felt like I was slugging through it but well welcomed! Also well welcomed was breakfast.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With SB PB And Nutritional Yeast, Soy Yogurt With Hemp Seeds

Soy Yogurt With Hemp Seeds

I was a little nervous to have to eat breakfast in class while taking the test, but by this point I think the teacher expects that of me 😉 I swear there’s something addictive in flax oil because I crave smart balance agave sweetened like nothing else–it’s so savory! Love it. To add more omega-3’s, some Bob’s Red Mill hemp helped to mellow out the soy yogurt. I think they actually have a higher omega-6 content, but that’s not on the packaged label. Hmmm, knowledgeable opinions? The test went good enough. I know I could have prepared better but I still think I did really well, so I’ll take that as an unexpected win 🙂

Only 1 week without them and I forgot how crazy my Tuesday/Thursdays feel! I just keep telling myself “it’s almost the weekend”. It really is!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

24 Responses to “Life Unexpected”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

what exactly does nutritional yeast taste like/what is the texture when its mixed into food??? I have been debating picking it up for week now and I chicken out every time.

It has a very cheesy mouth-feel. Similarly, it’s very salty and briny, especially with a little salt added. It’s very much like a more savory parmigiana. I get all of mine from bulk bins, which is often cheaper but also let’s you get just how much you want, so you should look to find some to try just a little of! I don’t think it will disappoint, though 🙂 On top of flavor, it’s entirely protein/fiber and has plenty of B vitamins

I did the same thing with my iPod this morning!

Good run! Woot Woot…it’s Thursday!! 🙂

are red delicious apples your fav? I noticed you included them in two posts in a row. As far as I’ve heard, they’re the least nutritious of the bunch. Am I wrong?

Red delicious are indeed my favorite variety. I have no idea about the varying nutrition contents between apples. I would imagine they might have more sugar than some other varieties because they are quite sweet? Then again, I feel like if you’re reaching for an apple that’s pretty nutritious to begin with 🙂

Awesome job on the run! Lately I’ve been waking up STARVING! I can’t start the day (or a run) without a little snack. It’s definitely related to how much I eat before bed.

Amen for the weekend! I have had SO much work this week, I’m excited for this week to be kaput!

What are the nutritional benefits from nutritional yeast? (whoa that was a mouthful)

gooood luck!!
okay what does nutrit yeast taste like?! i heard it was salty, like cheese!

Didn’t realize this would be such a popular question today! I’ll just reply to you two what I wrote above

It has a very cheesy mouth-feel. Similarly, it’s very salty and briny, especially with a little salt added. It’s very much like a more savory parmigiana. I get all of mine from bulk bins, which is often cheaper but also let’s you get just how much you want, so you should look to find some to try just a little of! I don’t think it will disappoint, though 🙂 On top of flavor, it’s entirely protein/fiber and has plenty of B vitamins because it’s a fortified food. 2 Tablespoons(14g) has 6g of fiber and 8g of protein I think, but don’t quote me on that

i NEED to try your crazy chocllate combo with almond milk! i am for anything with chocolate and stevia that warms you up esp during this crazy rain!!

smart balance agave nectar….good to know i watn to try some!!

Actually, it’s smart balance PEANUT BUTTER that’s sweetened with agave nectar. They’re regular one is sweetened with molasses and I would NOT recommend it. It just tastes “funky”. But the agave blend is so sweet and savory 🙂

I love all your crazy chocolate concoctions!

Are the hemp seeds chewy?

Yes, but they’re small so actually you could swallow them and not notice. They’re a lot softer than flax. Then again, this is hulled hemp so it’s pretty much stripped of all outer coating. I’m not sure about the whole seed

Whole hemp seeds, well, one would need to be quite certain their fillings were rock solid, nice crunch though. I think, although don’t quote me on it, that whole hemp seeds aren’t digested/absorbed as well, so its best to go with the hulled. Also, although the omega 6’s in hemp are higher than the omega 3s, they’re supposed to be in the ‘ideal’ balanced ratio. Plus hemp is a complete protein? Can’t believe you can eat breakfast in your lectures, food and drink are totally banned from mine!

i love hot chocolate. it’s always good. always.

Just one more class and it is the weekend for me 🙂

Reading your blog ALWAYS makes me crave chocolate!

only $40? that’s a value! kidding 🙂 I try to shop as cheaply as i can and never go into WF unless i have a store credit to use 🙂 or really need something like veganise or whatever that i just cant buy elsewhere but between the reg groc and WF today, that was $150. Its like poof…it’s gone. Although a $15 thing of nooch, etc does add up and i will have it for awhile.

so true on superfoods, it’s very personal pref, i.e. salmon/vegans.

And the xagave. YES i have had it before it IS def! sweeter, i kinda love that LOL

CHOCOLATE almond butter? ahhh I JUST got on the almond butter train and now I find out there’s chocolate. So behind!

http://www.surfsweets.com/sample_request.php

Do you know about this link to request free samples from Surf Sweets?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

