Let’s Jam

Posted on February 27, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Well, sparing the drama, last night did not start off well; in short, I realized that all the Latin I had been translating through the day I was meant to read in English and the next two chapters in Latin. Gah! After that, I probably had more motivation than any other time to do what really needed to be done. But I couldn’t muster it up. Instead, I turned to food:

Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Yogurt With Banana Pineapple Rum Jam

That’s what Friday nights are for, right? I wanted something pina-colada like since that’s what my overripe coconut milk had reminded me of all day(I’ve since thrown it out–no worries there). I took a couple scoops vanilla ice cream from Purely Decadent made with coconut milk and added banana pineapple rum jam. This was sooo good; it reminded me of adding pineapples on top of your sundae, which I never got, but it worked with the coconut. I must admit that I have no recollection of the Olympics from 9-10 and I think it was because I was too enthralled in this. Like I said, not much work got done, which would have been helpful going in to this week with 2 papers 😦 Now, where was I? Oh yes, food therapy.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

Avery posed the question to enter her contest, “what’s your favorite peanut butter?” I’ll tell you, this is a really hard one for me, and it’s very mood dependent. But one that I can’t deny being in the top 3 is Naturally Nutty‘s Butter Toffee peanut butter. I don’t even think I’ve had butter toffee peanuts, but this just takes the cake oatmeal. If I win,her contest, you can take a wild guess which one I’d choose 😉

7 Miles in 61:54

Saturday mornings always feel “funny”, mostly because the gym opens at 9 so I have to sleep in until 8:30 if I want to time things like I do. Yes, “have” to because that takes effort for me! My grandfather always wakes up at 6am even though he’s retired; let’s blame him. I got their on time and ran 7 miles in 61:54, which felt easy if only because I wouldn’t let myself look at the distance for the first hour.

Berry Bot

Getting in the door I suddenly felt like I hadn’t eaten for 12 hours. Then I realized I hadn’t. Bot to the rescue! I wanted some quick electrolytes so I tried the berry flavor. No disappointment here; it was very berry! And it tasted just sweet enough with only 6g of sugar, which I can’t deny I needed at the time. After showering, cooking breakfast, and making a phone call, finally I was ready to dig in.

Oatmeal With COconut Milk, Walnut Butter, Cinnamon, And Sea Salt, Chobani With Blueberry Jam

Oatmeal With Walnut Butter, Coconut Milk, Cinnamon, And Sea Salt

I must have been hungry because it was one of those times when I wanted to use every topping in site; just like when a celebrity takes on every bit of plastic surgery, I know that doesn’t always work out, so I told myself to keep it simple. I don’t think I listened well :-\ But in the end, this combo of walnut butter with coconut milk wasn’t that bad. It wasn’t spectacular or anything, but it’s making do as I chow down. I’m glad I stuck just to blueberry jam on the yogurt, since that turned out to be fantastic. When does jam ever disappoint? And I’ll let you in on a secret: It’s just 365 brand 😉 I can speak for their blueberry and raspberry ones that they’re as good as any! And speaking of Whole Foods, I could definitely use a nice long walk while the sun’s still out with groceries at the end of the tunnel right now to clear my head.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Let’s Jam”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Happy Saturday! That ice cream cone looks delish!

OHH my goodness that ice cream cone..amazing!

OK, that banana pineapple rum jam looks and sounds crazy delicious. I can’t even begin to imagine how amazing it tasted with Purely Decadent coconut milk vanilla bean ice cream. I’m getting dizzy just thinking about it!

yum! perfect looking oats!

Ohhhhh, it’s you!!! I’ve been craving jelly/jam for the last two weeks and I blame it on you and your amazing assortment. Damn you. I never find fun flavors that you seem to show off. And walnut butter? Who knew?

my fave nut butter is totally mood dependent as well. plus ifeel like i haven’t had adequate exposure (never had pb &co!) you’re taking latin? wow!

Banana pineapple rum jam? I love how I find the most amazing foods on your blog!

you have no idea how amazing banana pineapple rum jam rights now – or a pina colada. I’d gladly take either one.

The: Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Yogurt With Banana Pineapple Rum Jam
Holy lordy have mercy that looks soo perfect with perfect flavors.

So on my trip to WF the other day I actually looked for that jam. I couldnt remember the exact brand so it was a needle/haystack situation, and i doubt they even carry it. But I want it. Or i could just buy smuckers pineapple jam and add a shot of rum. Which may indeed work out…

Thanks for the shout. Butter Toffee, duly noted. And ironically Katie of NN isn’t sending me that bc it’s not technically vegan…i honestly really wouldnt have cared…I want that flavor!! LOL


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

