Priorities And Directions

Posted on February 27, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good evening. I’ll just mention now that I’m bloggin’ from another state! But more on that in a bit. When I was wrapping up the post from this morning, I was thinking how much I really wanted to walk to Whole Foods, but didn’t have a lot of free time. Where are my priorities! I’m scarily good about doing what “should” be done, but not so good about always doing what I “want” to do. At that point, I let the dishes be dirty, the emails go unanswered, and stepped out the door. I know, I’m a rebel πŸ˜‰

Groceries

I grabbed the typical stuff for next week: soy yogurt, beef, condiments, etc. The only thing they didn’t have was any soft tofu >:-( We got that a little later on in the day, though. And I say we because my dad met me at Whole Foods to pay for this and pick me up(double score). I just really felt like I needed a trip home this weekend after a lot of work and 3 weeks of not being in my own bed. So I packed up and was out of there!

Buffalo Chicken, Broccoli, Snikiddy Cheddar Cheese Fries

On the way back to good ol’ MA, we stopped a different Whole Foods to grab some lunch. I grabbed buffalo chicken off the food bar, a bag of new chips that were on sale, but broccoli out of the produce section(!!). This is the trick to eating at Whole Foods without breaking the bank: get the things that are cheaper raw and cook them in the microwave–it’s so simple and instead of $7 a pound broccoli was $1.50 a pound.

Snikiddy Cheddar Cheese Fries

These were the chips that were on sale made by Snikiddy and oh my God were they brilliant! I had never tried any of their products, but if it’s on sale I’ll definitely give them a taste. Cheddar Cheese Fries says it all; these were like straight up Cheetos. Heavenly. Unfortunately, Whole Foods didn’t have one of the Bob’s Red Mill products I was looking for, so we went across the way(literally, right across the street) to Market Basket.

Bob's Red Mill Products

Check out that selection! And it’s all super cheap because nothing costs much at Market Basket(granted, most of the stuff they sell I wouldn’t want to touch with a 10-foot pole). I definitely need to keep this place in mind more often.

Red Delicious Apple

After I found what I wanted, I snacked on this apple until we got home safe and sound, where mom and Montana were waiting to say hello. Apparently, it’s been snowing in MA all week, or at least moreso than it has at all at school. Now, for the big unveiling…

GF Vanilla Cake Mix, Coconut Oil, Eggs

What I wanted to pick up was Bob’s Red Mill‘s gluten-free vanilla cake mix! God, I really need to lay off the exclamation marks in this post. Normally, I wouldn’t use a mix, but since I know so little about gluten-free baking I felt like I needed to the first time. But Bob’s is a good one because it uses whole grain gluten-free flours(very important to me). I used 1/2 the bag to make 8 cupcakes. And, while it called for vegetable oil, I asked myself “WWFLBD?” or “what would fat-loving bloggers do?” and swapped that out for an equal amount of coconut oil. Is there anything coconut can’t do?

Gluten-Free Vanilla Cupcake With Coconut Oil Vanilla Frosting

I couldn’t wait longer than 30 minutes for them to cool; these smelled too good. And they tasted too good, too! So perfectly light, airy, and sweet. The texture was a bit chewy, but I think that’s just the general way of gluten-free flours and eggs. For a frosting, I mixed powdered sugar, coconut oil, and vanilla extract–heavenly. But you know what they say about cupcakes…

Gluten-Free Vanilla Cupcake

1 is just not enough. At least I didn’t frost this one? It may have been a bit more sugars than I’m used to in an afternoon, especially an afternoon where all I did was find TV shows like Friends on channels I haven’t had in a while, but no regrets; when there’s cake around baked fresh, you better eat it up! To compensate, there at least was a vegan dinner.

Asparagus, Snobby Joe Mix

I actually love green lentils. Too bad they aren’t more dorm-room friendly. For the mix, a little ketchup and mustard and a lot of steak sauce and voila! It’s so good! And I couldn’t imagine a more homey meal. On the side was asparagus grabbed from Whole Foods because, well, they really keep this house bare. And now it’s already almost 7:30; how did that happen? I need to get a move on things! I can’t wait to hear what people think of the cupcakes once they eat them for dessert(obviously, I hated them ;-)).

Here’s a popchip giveaway! Perfect for fueling my addiction.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “Priorities And Directions”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I need to jump on the coconut oil train! Does it taste sweet like coconuts?

It tastes very rich, and a little sweet. I’ve never found coconut to be too sweet, myself, except for the angels bakers shredded sweetened stuff, lol.

I have never been to a Whole Foods, but OH MY, do I ever want to go!!!!!!

What a selection of Bob’s RM products! I’m a huge fan, esp. of their millet and quinoa flour. Yummers.

I’ve never been a huge frosting fan, so I probably would have just dived straight into those cupcakes! I always forget about Market Basket…

Damn I need to try coconut oil! Is it expensive?

It’s pretty cheap. 1lb goes for about 10 dollars

Sometimes we just need to be home! It was great of your dad to come pick you up. Dads are awesome. πŸ™‚

Your cupcakes had my mouth watering. Yum.

Evan, I just found your blog, your meals look great! When you started describing the Whole Foods and the Market Basket across the street in Massachusetts I knew you must be near my hometown. I’m from Medfield, not far from there. Ha
Glad you got a chance to enjoy the comforts of home! The cupcakes look delicious- so moist and fluffy.

glad that you decided to go home for the weekend, it’s always nice to cozy up in your own bed, i’m doing the same thing! so cool that you walked to WF :). i want to try those snikkidy things! and that cupcake sounds great. i do hope you used the whole deal coupon book and saved $1 on your almond breeze!

Two trips to Whole Foods in one day…you lead the good life, my friend πŸ™‚

Thanks for the comment .. Although, Im takin a break, Ill still be keeping up with your blog! I enjoy it πŸ™‚

That’s the biggest collection of Bob’s Red Mill!!

I actually love stocking up on things at places like Market Basket. Almond milk, soymilk, tofu, grains, cereals, etc…they actually have quite the same collection as things to find at whole foods, but at half the price. Can’t beat that! πŸ˜€

The cupcakes look like they came out absolutely *perfect.* πŸ˜€

Wow, I have never seen that many Bob’s Red Mill products in one place!!!

I LOVE market basket!

I would have died if I saw that much Bob’s in one room! I love their cake mixes. I’ve tried gingerbread and chocolate. Bob does it right!

Seems like youΒ΄ve had tons of fun at Whole Foods yesterday.. Foodie heaven πŸ˜€
And those muffins looked amazing – youΒ΄re talented, you know that right?!
πŸ˜‰
Have a great Sunday, girl!
Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
Gabriela

Thanks, but just to set the record straight, I’m a guy

I’m not a HUGE fan of Whole Foods, for reasons that you mentioned in the post (TOO EXPENSIVE!!). I happened to go there twice yesterday, very strange. I bought some nutritional yeast, and then went back for sushi. I also get milk there, and sometimes meat and yogurt, oh, and their beer selection is pretty amazing! I actually live within walking distance too, and sometimes I feel bad getting in my car and driving over (it’s about 2 miles) but I just don’t have the time to walk! I know what you mean….
Those cupcakes look FABULOUS. I love the Bob’s RedMill products. I can usually find them on sale too, which makes me happy πŸ™‚

i have a love/hate relationship with market basket. i love that it’s really cheap (and i’ll definitely eat most of what they provide. i’m not a whole foods snob πŸ˜› hahah ) but i hate how crowded it is constantly. sometimes i wonder if the stupid people milling about is worth the $$ saved (because i pay for my own food and money is really tight)

Coconut oil seems to be the ingredient of the month around this community – too bad I hate coconut….

Love the gluten free mixes from Bob – the man’s a genius!

I love those “fries”…gluten free too! woot woot! You need to try the pizza flavored ones!! πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

