Layers Of Flavor

Posted on February 28, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Reunited and it feels so good… with Food Network! I forgot how much I enjoyed this channel. Right now, I’m getting my 5-ingredient fix with Claire Robinson on; I’m not even a fan of hers but 3 weeks without having it and I’ll watch anything on the Food Network. Her theme is layering flavors, so naturally I’m going to be a copy cat and show you some delicious layered flavors.

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Shavings, Peanut Butter, And Salt

From top to bottom:

  • Sea salt
  • 365 Creamy Peanut Butter
  • Trader Joe’s Bulk Milk Chocolate Shaved
  • Soy Yogurt With Vanilla Stevia

Hello, flavorful. I didn’t have any peanut butter cups around, and I didn’t feel like making the, so I just used the raw ingredients. Then I stirred it all together. BIG MISTAKE. The peanut butter always gets lost in the yogurt, so I finished it off with a garnish:

Peanuts Added On Top

Much better 🙂 I find, if you want peanut flavor in your yogurt, it’s better to use peanut flour(which I’ve discovered troubles my stomach) or peanuts to get it loud and proud. On TV was bobsledding; I think bobsledding/luge/skeletons are so much more exciting than most of the sports they show on The Olympics but they get almost as little attention as cross-country skiing 😦 And yet the world has to stop to see ice dancers. Go figure. Before I went to bed I had some nutty oats.

Oatmeal With Dark Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Creme Concentrate

One thing that is not muy bueno about being home is not having my super stash of nut butters to choose from. I ended up going with Maranatha’s almond butter, which is not nearly as good as Justin’s now that I’ve tried both 😦 I can’t wait to turn the people in this house on to Justin’s once it hits New England shelves!

Spoonful Coconut Creme Concentrate

The coconut creme concentrate is a new product I’m trying from Tropical Traditions. It’s kind of like very concentrated coconut milk. I haven’t explored it much and so won’t review it yet, but know that it was tasty enough that I took a spoonful straight from the jar before falling asleep 😉

This morning I slept in and read a little in bed before actually getting up. Is it just me, or are there a lot more commercials for cereals and breakfast foods before 9am? That would be good advertising if it’s true. It made me hungry for some cinnamon toast crunch–not like we actually have that or even any organic version around. That’s OK because I was perfectly capable of layering my own flavors.

Cinnamon Soy Yogurt With Ginger Cookie, French Toast Oatmeal With Honey Cinnamon PB

For the yogurt, I did…

This was delicious, kind of like my beloved snickerdoodle ice cream but breakfast-friendly. I think the fact that I have 3 soy yogurts in the my fridge right now for the week and I’ve gone through 2 in 12 hours is a bad sign.

Oatmeal With Cinnamon And An Egg Topped With Honey Cinnamon Peanut Butter And Maple Butter

The oatmeal likewise was a bit of a flavor conundrum(I’m pretty sure I’m not using this word right here).

Cinnamon toast crunch who? This was wayyy better. And it went good with some Mexican style coffee on the side, too. Now Food Network programming has shifted from Aida to Sunny Anderson. Fun fact: She actually commented on this blog once! It was towards the beginning of the Summer when I mentioned the new program The Best Thing I Ever Ate. It definitely made me feel famous for that one day(and might have gone to my head :-)). Now if you’ll excuse me, I believe Giada will be coming on, and she’s always entertaining to watch, and not because of her cooking 😉

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Layers Of Flavor”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

i’m watching food network too! but lol i thought aida mollencamp was on ask aida and 5-ingredient fix has claire robinson?

For some reason, I thought the chocolate in that first picture was shaved beef and I was VERY confused. Chocolate is much more “Evan like!”

sunny commented on your blog? that is so badass! it also means she googles herself, which is awesome. haha! uh clearly not having a tv at my apt has done a # on me..i don’t even know who claire robinson is! what kind of foodie am i? i love aida, she seems like she’d be a cool peeps…i can picture her blogging lol. fun fact: my cousin was in the room when giada gave birth! (she’s a doctor)

Oh man…I used to be obsessed with the food network! Giada is my fave 🙂

3 weeks of no food network? i would be a basket case. i love FN and PBS (and survivor)

that peanut butter, chocolate shavings and sea salt combo looks soooo good! I love mixing almond butter into yogurt but you are right about the flavor getting a little lost in there.

Oooh man that oatmeal looks so delicious 🙂

hope that Giada is entertaining 🙂 enjoy time with your special sweetheart LOL

the Gluten-Free Vanilla Cupcake With Coconut Oil Vanilla Frosting that you made in the last post…holy amazing!

happy sunday, evan! 🙂

I LOVE Food Network — I wish I had more time to watch it…all!

Coconut Creme Concentrate — hm. I’ve never seen or heard of this. But as a lover of all things coconut, it sounds fantastic! Is it available at Whole Foods, do you know?

Hope you had a great weekend, Evan!

All your combos look amazing! I don’t have the Food Network channel unfortunately, but I wish I did!

i am SO glad you put salt in yo oats! that makes me super happy.

Food Network is the best ever! That’s so neat about Sunny 🙂 And holy cow that Coconut Creme looks really really good

ugh for whatever reason my school just does not get food network channel and it KILLS ME. I miss Paula 😦


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

