But I Just Want A PB&J!

Posted on March 1, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Wow. The comments on this post have been phenomenal. Whether it’s vegan guilt or any other kind, there is something so therapeutic about writing it down. It doesn’t have to be on a public place like I did, but if you have anything inside, consider writing it on a piece of paper, even if that only thing that sees that paper is the inside of a trash can. You’ll feel better.

Celestial Teas

This morning, while running errands, I was sipping on the Bengal Spice Celestial tea and I had to mention it because it’s phenomenal. It’s very earthy with cinnamon and nutmeg, and has a definite Indian spice to it. And I got both of these for $3 total with sales and store coupons at Stop & Shop Sunday–good deal! I managed to pry the cup out of my hand long enough to do laundry and make a trip to the dining hall before a phenomenal lunch.

Garbanzo Bean Salad

Chickpeas, Raw Cheddar Cheese, Hemp Seeds, Hemp Oil, Mulberries, Spinach

Normally, I couldn’t care less for salads, but WOW was this good. The base was just a spinach and greens medley with plenty of hemp oil sweet & sassy from Foods Alive. On top of that was 1/2 a can of chickpeas and a diced cheddar raw & probiotic cheese stick from Next Generation Dairy; I’ve nibbled on this cheese before(so I knew I liked it) but I finally got an accurate review up. If you love cheese, check it out, because this practically redefines cheddar from a flavor and nutrition point. Lastly, I topped it with Bob’s Red Mill‘s hulled hemp seeds and Navitas Natural’s Mulberries. I’ve had the mulberries before and wasn’t a fan, but here there mellow sweetness really worked, almost like golden raisins but duller and more superfoody. This held me over for a good while until my chocolate tooth struck.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With ChocAlive! Dark Chocolate Crunch Truffles

From raw cheese I went to raw pudding and truffles. I made a batch of chocolate avocado pudding using 1 tablespoon coconut milk and 2 tablespoons water for the liquid. The topping was no question; recently, Chocalive! sent me a couple of samples to review. They’re completely raw, vegan, and endorsed by Alicia Silverstone! I tried the dark chocolate crunch ones first. The inside was to die for–so chocolaty and soft. The cacao nibs were a bit too bitter in contrast for my taste :-/ I’ve never really liked those sucker. Can you imagine that? A part of the cacao pod I don’t enjoy? Go figure.

Cranberry Crunch Perfect Foods Bar Lite

Before dinner, I snacked on a Cranberry Crunch Lite bar from Perfect Foods. There’s nothing particularly “lite” about this bar; it’s just not a full meal replacement bar like their other flavors and filled with brown rice crisps for volume. I liked how, even though they cut the calories from 300 to 180 in here, they kept the same mentality of a bar with a focus on healthy fats, protein, and a whole food blend. And their signature raw honey made this so sweet! It seemed like there was something raw in everything today.

Oatmeal With White Chocolate Raspberry PB, Greek Yogurt With Organic Raspberry Conserves

For dinner, I had an odd craving for me: PB&J. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day? Well, anyway, I don’t keep any bread around; gluten-free breads are usually more expensive, I don’t know of any good brands, and I don’t need bread that much, so what’s the point?(Sidenote: When I told my mom I don’t eat bread over the weekend, you would have thought I shot her in the chest. She loves bread, especially the Italian white stuff.) Sooo I improvised with some PB oats and J on the yogurt.

Oatmeal With White Chocolate Raspberry Peanut Butter

My poison PB of choice was the last of the raspberry white chocolate peanut butter from P.B. Loco(who apparently have fallen off the face of the earth since I did a review for them in the Fall). I just go loco for anything white chocolate and/or raspberry. I’m sure there’ll be more peanut butter celebrating in a little bit but this was definitely a delicious start 🙂 Did you celebrate? How so? And now I’m going to do a little research to figure out what the heck happened to P.B. Loco.

Here’s a giveaway for Tropical Tradition’s coconut oil and here’s another for their coconut creme concentrate–both great products!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “But I Just Want A PB&J!”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That cranberry lite bar is my fave right now!!! SO FLIPPING GOOD!!!

Favorite tea ever! I love it iced in the summer with a splash of milk, it’s like iced chai without the sugar!

I could actually comment on 17 things here:
the ChocAlive! Dark Chocolate Crunch Truffles-i am getting some Choc Alive I have been told. Cool!
The burnt PB. That just sucks. Yes, the sugar in it I think is what charred. I got my shipment today. Because of my “vegan label” I was not sent your fave, the Butter Toffee, which I would have loved to try, vegan or not, but i got vanilla pb, vanilla ab, and pepitas sunbutter. I really wanted the butter toffee but hey…i can order it 🙂
The Perfect Foods. I have heard really good things about those. I need to try them.
Vegan guilt and labels. I hate that I am a vegan in the blogosphere. People FREAK out if I stray, make a mistake, and it feels very confining. I am 99% vegan but I dont stress about the trace things and I really dont care, at all. It’s the easiest label to fit what i am, but i dont like labels, even when they mostly fit. So trust me, I understand what you’re saying. And there is nothing “amazing” about being vegan; I have ended up this way b/c of my food allergies but vegan chose me, I did not choose it type of thing 🙂

Peanut butter lover’s day…lol.

I want to check that cheese out! Sounds interesting!

I’m glad it’s national PB day because I had it in my green monster this morning and on toast for a snack. I made a PB&J smoothie for breakfast. SOO yummy!

I ate enough nut butters today (and everyday) to warrant a national holiday….on another note – if YOU feel guilty for what you eat – then I am SCREWED…seriously kid your like a Saint.

There are many a night when I get home from work and all I want is a peanut butter sandwich. Sometimes I force myself to make “real” food, but other times I just give in!

That garbanzo bean salad looks delicious! I really need to get my hands on some vegan truffles, asap!

I had peanut butter oatmeal for breakfast and peanut butter and banana bagel for a snack to celebrate today 🙂

I was wondering the other day what happened to pb loco too…i loved loved loved their cookie dough pb…soooooooooooo good.

never seen that tea before..interesting!

I am constantly on the lookout for new teas to try, and the Bengal Spice sounds perfect. I love spicy teas. 😀

Your salad looks awesome, by the way!

If anyone knows how to celebrate peanut butter lover’s day in style it’s you! YUM!

Your eats look amazing, as usual. My mouth was watering over your salad – how often does that happen!? I had PB the usual way (for me, at least) – with banana oats. 🙂

Have a great Tuesday!

Those Perfect Foods bars always look like a great find! How did I celebrate? Reese’s Oats, of course!

I tried Bengal Spice tea for the first time the other week, and I sweat it made me want to be a better person. amazing stuff

I hate to say it but I did not like teh white choc raspberry flavor of PB loco PB 😦 it just tasted artificial and not as satisfying as DCD or some of their other flavors. I didnt like the banana one either 😦 DCD though, AMAZINGGGG that stuff I could eat a whole jar of LOL

thanks for the review on tha ttea! it sounds so good, lots of chai flavors in there, love it !

Have you tried making your own gluten free bread? Its really fun- like a Chemistry lesson. Oh no. I just realise what a nerd I just sounded like. I guess if you invested in a gluten free loaf and stored it in the freezer at college the Food Snatchers would have that as well as your ice cream?! I live right near Stratford Upon Avon (Shakespere’s birthplace), and there are the loveliest mulberry trees around here- maybe I should start a cottage business?!

Food for Life makes a really good millet bread (at whole foods)- not too pricey but the portions are pretty small. It doesn’t give me any tummy issues though which is the best part. Love the texture. It’s almost creamy??


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

