Almost Perfect Sunday

Posted on March 7, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Wow! Where did the weekend go? I remember getting a guest, and then an awesome run outside followed by a 3 1/2 minute faster run, and now The Oscars?! Already? Aww, man. At least Sunday felt great!

The perfect: It was super sunny outside in Providence all day

The almost perfect: A few more 10’s of degrees wouldn’t have hurt 😉

Peanut Butter Perfect Foods Bar

Lunch just… didn’t happen. I had just finished breakfast when my parents dropped by at 1:40. Instead, I grabbed a peanut butter perfect foods bar to snack on while we went grocery shopping. I recapped all my reviews of their flavor in this post, but I will say now the flavor was no lie: This tasted like straight up peanut butter and honey.

The perfect: Getting slipped money for groceries from my grandmother in the grocery stores.

The almost perfect: Having to listen to said grandmother comment on every single building she sees on the car ride to the grocery stores.

Vita-Mix Demo

The perfect: Getting to go to Whole Foods.

The almost perfect: Seeing a Vita-mix demonstration all set up but not actually running.

I don’t know why I didn’t stick around to see the full demo; I just felt time-crunched. But I’ve already decided the day I buy a house I’ll buy a Vita-mix. The ridiculous cost wont’ seem like so much in perspective and, from what I hear, the two last the same amount of time.

Jolly Beans

I was very excited to see at Whole Foods Easter candy all laid out! I had forgotten what a tasty holiday this could be 😉 I really wanted to grab it all, but I limited myself to jelly beans from the bulk bin which were also on sale.

The perfect: Getting jelly beans.

The almost perfect: Having a funny feeling I’ll be getting fair-trade organic chocolate eggs in my Easter basket but having to wait a few more weeks for those.

Groceries 1

Groceries 2

In the loot:

  • 5 So Delicious soy yogurts
  • 1 Oikos
  • 3/4 lb grass-fed 85% beef
  • 2 blocks Nasoya soft tofu
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 5 organic avocadoes
  • Multi-green Kombucha
  • Fudge mint cookies
  • Jelly beans
  • Jokerz all-natural candy bar
  • So Delicious plain coconut milk kefir
  • Organic 365 decaf coffee
  • 1/4lb black forest ham
  • Sea salt
  • Chocolate brownie Z-bar
  • 3 cans pumpkin
  • Individual sized fully loaded Kettle chips

The perfect/almost perfect: This is a total catch-22; I ended up maybe grabbing more than I needed, but it was because all of my “maybe” items like the kefir and the cookies were on sale this weekend–I can’t pass up a sale! Most of the other stuff was on sale or I had a coupon or I just got for a good price/know I’ll eat and fast.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Maple Almond Butter And Peanuts

I was also a starving Marvin when I walked in the door; meal replacement bars don’t replace much for this fueler. Before I even put much of it away, I was simultaneously making this bowl of oatmeal. How does that work out? Not well.

The perfect: The flavor of Justin’s maple almond butter and that so many other bloggers are getting on this flavor train; I’ve had this in my pantry since Summer, have never regretted it, and I think my dad’s gone through 3lbs easily in that time, too 🙂

The almost perfect: This has been on my list to give a review page for forever now! I’ll get around to it… eventually.

Sea Salt & Vinegar

Dinner was destined to be low-key; I spent what time I had catching up on emails and what not and looked at the time to see that I should really start thinking of something and fast! That’s a good enough reason for me to break out the Pirates Booty.

The perfect: Being fast and convenient.

The almost perfect: Being a processed food. Really though, this is an all-natural foods blog and not a 100% healthy all the time blog. Just eat mostly whole foods and then slip in the good stuff 😉

Ham, Broccoli, And Cauliflower Salad, Sea Salt & Vinegar Pirate's Booty

Ham, Broccoli, And Cauliflower Salad

For a simple salad, I diced up the deli meat I got from Whole Foods today and tossed that with steamed broccoli and cauliflower. I added smoked Scottish sea salt; I completely forgot I had this and the flavor went with ham perfect.

The perfect: I’ve been craving ham since seeing it on Meghann’s blog earlier this week. It felt sooo good to dig in to some.

The almost perfect: I liked the vinegar flavor in these chips to begin with, but then it had me wondering, “What happened?” The corniness of them was just a bit too overpowering.

Overall, today has been almost perfect; I have yet to crack open a book(whoops). But at the same time I know I haven’t been not doing things, and that definitely counts for something. And soon I have the Oscars to curl up too 🙂 That doesn’t happen often enough. Here are my reviews for all 4 flavors of Perfect Foods bars I’ve had the chance to try now.

Peanut Butter

8.5/10: There was certainly no deception in the name or advertisement; this bar was fully peanut butter and honey. The only thing which would have bettered the flavor would have been whole or halved peanuts to crunch on. Otherwise, it was a bit inconvenient to have to worry about keeping the bar refrigerated. And for simplicity of ingredients 3 protein sources seems a bit much. But the nutrition in the end was spot on for a good sized snack with filling fats and protein.

Carob Chip

8.5/10: I’m always skeptical when a bar is this hefty that it has to be equally good and not at all disappointing. Well, this was just that for the most part. The peanut butter tasted fresh ground, and whereas the prominant honey flavor might put me off in any other bar, I wouldn’t expect different from a company whose mascot is a bee. The ingredients list seemed a tad long and complex, but I suppose it was necessary to fit the perfect nutrition these offers. The biggest let down was the carob flavor, which rather than being spread throughout the bar I only got here and there from a rogue chip. But overall this was a tasty and filling snack.

Cranberry Crunch Lite

8.5/10: Perfect Foods makes some fantastic “meal replacement” bars, but this was a much needed addition to their line: a bar that can be eaten as a more modest snack. For bulk, they use brown rice crisps. These felt a little overwhelming in presence, and unfortunately rather dull compared to the other flavors. As for the other flavors, while cranberry isn’t one of my favorite fruits I enjoyed how this at least had a strong flavor. The peanut butter did not come off as well, but the honey added a much needed, mellow sweetness. Nutritionally, I think they hit the nail on the head by maintaining high protein and fat levels. It’s a little annoying that this has to be kept refrigerated, but if I ever found this in the refrigerated section of my grocery store I’d gladly pick it up.

Fruit & Nut

7/10: This bar was–quite literally–a “fruit & nut” bar. It had 1 fruit and 1 nut: raisins and walnuts. And I can’t even say they were in a particular abundance, either :-/ Clearly, would have benefited from a wider variety and simply more of the “fruit & nut” aspect. Beyond that, it was everything I love about Perfect Foods Bars. The nutrition was once again spot on, with a great fat and protein content. The honey taste was particularly appealing in the fruit & nut theme. The one inconvenience that annoyed me was the refrigeration; I tend to eat bars when I’m not near a kitchen and so when I got to this it was a little soft, but not completely lost on me. It’s not my favorite, but I’d eat it again, and gladly knowing I’m getting so many nutrients.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Almost Perfect Sunday”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Ahh…if you had a few Perfects – then consider yourself lucky…I’ve had a day of crap-everything-gone-wrong-when-you-least-expect-it…argh so frustrating…anyhow – nice loot!
How do you make your pumpkin oatmeal?

i just bought cubed tofu today .. but I have NO IDEA what to do with it .. help!

You are making me want to try the perfect foods bars….esp. peanut butter and honey!

Yay for Easter candy!!! 🙂

From your last post:
Oatmeal With Sprouted Almond Butter And Sweetened Chocolate Coconut

Hooooly goodness! Glad you’re making bastardized macaroon shreds. My chocolate coconut snowball recipes is essentially uncooked macarron “dough”

The Perfect reviews. thanks and I have yet to try those but need to get on them.

Easter candy that’s healthy…yum.
And I have a tea give away i just started, not sure if you’re a tea guy or not but hey, it’s up. And my reader feed I think is going thru. Serioulsy, i freaking hate googlereader and blogger and soon, soon, I will be getting onto WP.

Have a great nite Evan!

Do they sell those perfect foods bars at WF? I need to look for them!

Man, why don’t my parents come visit me and take me to Whole Foods? Come on mom and dad!

yay those fudge mint cookies are the ones i’ve been obsessed with lately! they’re exactly like thin mints (only cheaper and SLIGHTLY healtheri, lol!)

Aw, grandma’s are the best. Last time my family and i were near a Trader Joe’s, my grandma slipped me a $10 to “buy something fun” – little did she know that everything at TJ’s is fun!

hooray for natural candy! i just bought my first 2 kombuchas today (im daring and bought two). im scared!

MMM I see you got some mulit green kombucha! I havent tried that flavor yet, but I always am attracted to the color of it! I would have stayed fro the whole demo too!! I LOVE the vita mix 🙂

And now I’M craving ham!

it is a little annoying that the perfect foods bar has to be kept in the fridge – but then again, i actually eat them more often since they’re there. interesting marketing strategy….


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

