Oh Really?

Posted on March 7, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Some things recently have made me question the sanity of certain humans(myself included). I stumbled on a Mythbusters marathon last night and watched it for 3 hours. I love that show, but I have to wonder who’s funding The Study For How Much Popcorn It Takes To Blow Out A Window. Oh really?

Chocolate Avocado Pudding With Coconut + Vanilla Macaroon

I took my mind off those things by making some chocolate avocado pudding made with almond milk and NuNaturals‘ vanilla stevia. I don’t know why, but this particularly batch tasted amazing On top I broke up my last Emmy’s Organics Coconut + Vanilla macaroon. These had SUCH a good vanilla flavor to them; if you can find them, I’m jealous and would highly recommend grabbing them if only to flaunt in my face.

While I was doing that, I was of course playing around on the internet. I haven’t even been away from Facebook for very long, and already I wonder things every time I log in. Like since when can you become a fan of any random object such as brownies? And for the love of God if I get one more invitation to be a farmer, or a vampire, or a vampire farmer…

Better Than Roasted Sprouted Almond Butter

I wasn’t cute sure whether to have oatmeal or more pudding after that. I debated this for 10 minutes like it was a matter of life or death. Oh really? Do I have nothing better to do? Apparently not. And then after decided I wanted pudding, I realized I was out of avocadoes. Oatmeal it was!

Oatmeal With Sprouted Almond Butter And Sweetened Chocolate Coconut

Call me coconut-crazy if you want; I mixed some organic unsweetened shredded coconut with raw cocoa powder and raw vanilla agave. Oh really? Did I just discover how to make quick and sloppy macaroon shreds? Because that tasted a little too good to be true… Concerning the sprouted almond butter by Better Than Roasted, it took me a good 5 minutes to decide what it tasted like: raw almonds. I know–aren’t I a genious? But after chocolate almond butter, roasted almond butter, and white chocolate cherry almond butter, this was definitely unique and delicious in its own right. I’m sure you’re asking yourself, “Oh really? He got in to Brown?”

Maple Butter

I woke up at 4 and couldn’t get back to bed. I knew I was hungry, but was hoping I could shake it off and fall back to sleep. Eventually, I told myself, “Evan, you’re an A——. That’s right, you’re an athlete. If you’re hungry now at 4:30, for God sake’s stop being lazy and eat something.” Clearly, I also thought that maple butter, which is pure sugar, would be another good choice for falling back to sleep. Oh really?

French Toast Oatmeal

I went downstairs to the basement to make french toast oatmeal. And you know what? This was actually perfectly cooked; apparently the secret is to do it at a ridiculous hour, half in the dark, and not involved–go figure. And the secret to a “keeper” of a photo? Moving the red Solo cups out of the way.

Morning Apple

I can say that, after that, I fell asleep nicely. And for the first time in longer than I can remember, I overslept. I got up, looked at the clock, and realized it was 9:30! OK, can you oversleep when you really don’t have any “plans”? Probably not. But that’s later than I prefer. I decided the weather looked perfect for another outdoor run, gobbled down this apple, and hit the outdoors.

9.55 Miles In 1:20:53

Before I get into the run, I’d like to point out that’s 3 1/2 minutes faster than yesterday, meaning I shaved off 20 seconds per mile. Wow! Where did that come from? When I looked at this, my first thought was Oh really? Apparently! It was just so gorgeous out again how could I not get into it? I also had motivational support via a country playlist with Taylor Swift telling me “These things will change” and Brooks & Dunn that cowgirls(and cowboys?) don’t cry.

March/April Whole Deal Flyer

Can I also mention my favorite part was running in to Whole Foods, grabbing the new Whole Deal flyer, and running out? I think I got odd looks, but it was worth it. There are fantastic coupons in here, including $1 off their 365 peanut butter! With only peanuts and salts for ingredients, it’s delicious, and that’s a steal. When I first heard about that sale, I had to thing “Oh really? Have they lost their mind?”

Oatmeal With Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter And Coconut Milk, Cherry Vanilla Greek Yogurt With Cherry Dark Chocolate

And then I made breakfast, right at 11:50. I’m glad to have slipped under the wire; I’d have hated to have missed this and then feel like I should eat “lunch”; breakfast is better anyway. I sweetened the plain 2% yogurt with cherry butter and vanilla agave in an effort to keep stevia out of my breakfast. For the oatmeal, some chocolate cherry peanut butter and coconut milk was perfect! Coconut milk keeps forever if you put it in a thick plastic container sealed off in the fridge. And it makes fats more readily available as a fuel source! Perfect for fueling.

I have to sound like “Much to do, gotta run” but… much to do, and gotta run(not literally)! There’s a Vitamix presentation at the Whole Foods nearby today I might get to see(along with some friendly faces), and my grocery list is turning in to a catalog. But first, I need to ask, breakfast, lunch, or dinner? Clearly, breakfast foods are my favorite!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Oh Really?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

breakfast foods are my favorite too. but i can eat them at any meal 😉

nice job on the run. hopefully it stays warm out so you can be outside more often!

Congrats on that run! And yes, the new facebook developments are aggravating me too. I DON’T want to be a farmer!

breakfast and lunch are hands-down my favorite. dinner can go either way, but I love breakfast and lunch the BEST.

Breakfast all the way!

I love the fact that you got up and went downstairs to make your midnight snack! Gotta fuel the ole furnace!

i’ve just recently discovered whole foods’ little coupon book. love it!

Oh REALLLLLY?! So yeah, a few comments here. There are SO MANY dumb studies out there, and I often have that same thought…who the heck is paying for these, and WHY?! Can’t they do something better with that money?? Like…give it to me!
Regarding facebook, good lord, it’s ridiculous. I get asked to be in groups and fans of the most lame things these days. To be honest, I don’t even read them anymore!! I just press, D-E-L-E-T-E.
Sprouted almond butter, eh?? Do you mind explaining that one to me?

Breakfast, please!!!! It’s my favorite!

From my understanding from the company’s website, the nuts they use are rinsed, soaked, and dried at a raw temperature(under 108 degrees) to keep the temperature-sensitive enzymes in tact. Then the almonds are slow-ground(skin on) into a soft nut butter with no added oils, salt, roasting, heating, etc. I assume they’re sprouted in a similar method as beans and grains can be, but it doesn’t make note whether this is before or after soaking(which I’m sure is obvious to really raw enthusiasts but I’m not that deep into it to know). I truly think the sprouting and non-heating helps with the nutrition, but I think just the fact that it has no added anything and is ground skin-on is the even bigger nutritional benefactor, which is something more companies should but don’t do


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

