Feel Good Fueling Well

Posted on March 8, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I am so happy Monday is over; it’s amazing how much ended up getting done today and needing to be. And the prize? Kicking back with my feet up, scrapping to finish up work, trying not to think about the 6:15 alarm I have now. This week is packed! I have 6 engagements I wouldn’t otherwise have–some for fun, some having me looking for the exit–so I need to be fueling well all along(aka, there’s an interesting blurb from me at the end on fueling)

Gourmet Groceries

While I had tofu pressing and laundry spinning, I got an email to go pick up a package. Can’t it come to me? Well, I threw on clothes to go get it and it was the jungle peanuts I ordered. In fact, between shipments to home and here, I got a good number of fun foods in the past 48 hours. A little while ago I might have gone internet-shopping happy; all but the Tropical Traditions coconut creme were my own purchases, and the creme is to review. I can’t wait “playing” with all of these, though! Chia seeds sound so good and nutritious, and cacao butter will make some mighty chocolate if I can figure out how to use it.

Preparing A Burger

I had planned to have maple baked tofu for lunch(I even had it in the oven), but swinging by the dining hall for veggies on the way back to my dorm really had me craving meat. I believe my words were, “Screw tofu, this is burger weather.” I removed a frozen 90/10 burger I had from 2 weeks ago and cooked that from frozen. Really, for decent flavor and cooking, 85/15 is the better option.

90/10 Quarter Pounder With Ketchup, Roasted Broccoli And Sweet Potato Rounds With EVOO, Root Beer Zevia

Yep. It was definitely burger weather. The roasted vegetables with EVOO drizzled on top was just what I wanted. My only complaint would be that between this, Days Of Our Lives, and folding/putting away laundry, there wasn’t much sitting down and enjoying the meal :-/ Otherwise, I try to make it a point to eat slowly and savor each bite.

Wild Jungle Peanut Butter

With laundry done, I broke out the food processor to–you guessed it–make peanut butter with my wild jungle peanuts. I only used half the batch, and ground until a thick paste. I’m just glad no one dropped by to ask what the noise was πŸ˜‰ As I was talking about with Gina, really, the greatest thing you can do for nutritional benefits in making your own peanut butter is keeping the skins on; I’ll be interested how “wild” these jungle peanuts taste.

Oikos Yogurt With Dark Chocolate Crunch Truffle

Like I mentioned, I didn’t sit down and savor much of that meal, so no surprise when I was hungry for a quick dessert. I added some NuNaturals alcohol free vanilla stevia(also included in the shopping spree) droplets to a plain Oikos and then broke up a ChocAlive! dark chocolate crunch truffle on top. Yum! I’m still not sure how I feel about stevia in yogurt instead of just sugar/when to use it, but whenever it is such I like the alcohol free vanilla flavor for a clean, pure sweetness. And the truffle was good because… well just when is chocolate not?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Amazing Grass Bar

I was hoping the dessert would hold me over through extracurricular appointment #1 and beyond. It did the first part but soon after getting back I grabbed this chocolate peanut protein Amazing Grass bars. I can not afford to keep these around because… well, I eat them. I think this was bought on sale, though. It was also my last one 😦 I would have thought all this protein throughout the day would have been more satisfying. I would have been wrong.

Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

I’ve had this chocolate chia pudding gelling for a bit too long; I’d been avoiding eating it because… well, it scares me? But I was hungry enough that it didn’t even matter. I could only get through 1/3 to 1/2 of it before throwing it away; chocolate chia pudding is not for me. So then that wasn’t very substantial, which called for another bar.

Peanut Choco' Nature's Path Organic Bar

This time I went for a peanut-choco Nature’s Path bar. Sense a theme of flavors throughout today? Usually I reserve these for pre-run fueling, because they do have a good deal of sugar compared to other ingredients, but it was at hand and a tiny snack to hold me over while dinner was in the oven.

Roasted Indian Chickpeas And Broccoli

For tonight, I thought I’d try something Monica inspired. Would ya’ll believe I never have roasted chickpeas? I tossed these with EVOO and indian spice along with some broccoli. I know–this is the second time I ate roasted broccoli today. But while the oven’s on why not roast some broccoli? It’s that good. The chickpeas, on the other hand, will not be a new obsession; they just tasted… more stale? Oh well. They also felt more like finger food than any protein I know. I resisted eating them with my fingers, though, because I was at extracurricular #2. I try to have some manners.

Feel Good Fueling Well

Since I feel it’s my duty with a blog called Food Makes Fun Fuel to talk about fueling sometimes as opposed to just food, I will! Let me first assure you it’s easy for anyone in any walk of life to feel a little “blah” on days where they’re a bottomless pit.Β Today, I couldn’t help but get down on myself for how much random snacking I did. Β I’d just rather I had sat down to a bigger, less-processed mid-day meal at some point(chocolate avocado pudding crossed my mind but non of my avocadoes are ripe :-(). But, regardless of snacking or meal-eating, you should always feel good fueling well.

Bottom line number 1: If you’re hungry for it, eat it. There’s no two ways about this one; if you’re hungry, even if it’s not within your “routine” schedule, it’s important to eat. Not doing so can actually throw you more off routine

How much is it really? Here, the key is thinking macro, not macro. TodayΒ I ran 12 miles this morning. OK, that accounts for some extra hunger. But also look at your workouts on a weekly schedule. I am running a lot more recently, and my body anticipates more running to come. It’s right! So it needs more fuel.

Want to avoid any guilt? Get away from knowledge–knowledge of calories that is. Depending your intent or method, this may not be for you. But personally I feel much better knowing as little about the exact nutrition content of my meals as I can, which also corresponds to eating whole foods. An apple doesn’t come with a calorie content! Today, I can pinpoint just how many calories/fat/protein/sugars were in my plain Chobani(100), oatmeal grains(105), Oikos(80), truffle(66), Amazing Grass bar(270), and Nature’s Path bar(140), and I can guestimate the 1/2 a cupcake(100). Beyond that, there’s plenty of foods I don’t know that much about, and I’m happier with those. Like I said, ideally this list would be even shorter, but today was an off day(ripen, avocadoes, ripen!).

I think that satisfies my “fueling” obligation for the week. Don’t forget to guess among my sea of lies! I’ll tell the truth tomorrow morning πŸ™‚ But I’m loving the guesses, haha. And now, in honor of proper fueling, plenty of dishes are crossing my mind, not the least of which is this winner from breakfast πŸ˜‰

Agave Sweetened Greek Yogurt With 1/2 Vanilla Cupcake And Jelly Beans

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Feel Good Fueling Well”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Could not agree more…you rock Evan!!

Fueling well and not obsessing and micro managing things. Amen. It’s SUCH a major turnoff to me to go to blogs where all they do is write about stats. I actually dont go to them that much anymore b/c I cant stand it πŸ™‚ Great rant. And not even a rant, just info πŸ™‚

The stale chickpeas. well i think they taste stale in general and that’s why ive never roasted them b/c i imagined they’d taste like that i also have seen people roast/spray them with a variety of oils, butters, sprays, seasonings and some people like them, but i have also heard that the trend is overrated.

the jokerz. OMG I want that!!!

the lies. Ok I am dense but 6 are lies and 1 is a truth or the other way around? They all sound pretty good to me!

I hate hate hate when people will deny themselves what they really want because usually, they’ll end up munching on a bunch of crap they don’t ACTUALLY want before ending up eating the treat they wanted in the first place

Definitely– fueling is so much more important than calorie counting!

Nothing better than getting a fun package in the mail πŸ™‚

yes totally grilling weather today! i love it πŸ™‚ did you get outside for a run today?!

i’m glad you realized you just needed to eat! and fuel! so important for runners and many people just in general!!

thanks for the fueling post πŸ™‚ good stuff.

re: chickpeas, I find that tossing them with some tofu and with a jarred curry sauce (a few tbsp’s does the trick for me) is the best way to enjoy them. I agree that they’re kind of bland by themselves. you can find really good, natural curry sauce (or try to make your own!!) easily and use it for tons of veggies, too!

i love living by that rule! and i’m sooo glad monday is over too.

i am SO impressed that you make all of this food in the DORMS! i think the only thing i cooked in the dorms were brownies fro a friend in the kitchen there and they came out burned because the oven was seriously on steroids. All of your meals look great! cupcake in yog with Jelly beans?! sign me up!

ohh I always eat when Im hungry πŸ˜‰

Your breakfast yogurt looks so fun, Evan!

Really like your fueling section in this post – eating when you’re hungry, real foods that is, is the way to go!

I am totally with you….I am finally getting back to thinking about food as fuel, not as entertainment…but a way of helping my body perform.

You’re so smart! πŸ˜‰

I agree about sometimes feeling bad on days I can’t stop eating! I have found that eating a complete meal late afternoon (4-4:30) and then another smaller meal/big snack around 8 really helps. Once I get hungry a few hours after lunch, a snack just doesn’t do it! I say might as well eat a meal and feel so much better!

I’m loving the chocolate treats and sweets in this post, especially that cupcake/jelly bean yogurt mess. If you’re going to indulge in sweets, best to add some creamy protein to them!

I agree completely! I used to count calories but I spent less time thinking about the actual food (if that makes sense). I feel better just listening to my body and eating whole foods! Well for the most part at least πŸ˜‰

Root beer Zevia = excellent choice! Your Greek/truffle combo sounds fantastic! I’ve never had roasted chickpeas either but it’s good to know that you weren’t wow-ed. Loved the fueling section, eating and guilt should never go together!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

