Not On My Time

Posted on March 9, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

If you had told me I would spend the past 15 hours like I have, and appreciating them, I would have said you’re nuts(I use this expression a lot for obvious reasons)

Burnt Homemade Chocolate

7:54- I have no sense of wasting food, so I eat this homemade chocolate I burnt trying to melt the cocoa butter in. It tastes gritty

7:56- Hey–on the bright side that tasted like burnt chocolate, not like some horrible dorm-made concoction. Go me!

8:17- Oh my God, I’m exhausted. Can I go to bed now?…

8:20- I can totally go to bed now. Bye, bye computer and hello bed.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Mighty Maple, Nutritional Yeast, A Wild Peanuts

8:40- 20 minutes of lying in the dark has felt good, but something’s not working. I’ll try some oatmeal to get me sleeping.

8:55- Wild jungle peanuts… do not taste wild. In fact, they taste a bit more like cardboard than regular peanuts? Maybe I’ll roast the rest. Or would that devalue them? Or do I not care…

8:57- Mighty Maple is goooood.

9:20- Sleep. Glorious sleep.

2:40- Great, now I’m awake. Do I want sleep or cookies? I want to sleep.

2:45- Sleep’s not happening; it’s tea and cookie time.

Bedtime Tea And Chocolate Cherry Goji Cookies

2:58- Hey, Anderson Cooper’s on TV!

3:00- And now he isn’t…

3:04- God, these Goji Gourmet goji cherry cacao cookies are good. How do they get them so sugary gritty? It must be in creaming the butter and sugar. I need to bake with more butter(always more butter).

4:00- How am I still awake?! This is ridiculous.

4:15-4:20- Self-diagnosing myself with wayyy too many problems to deal with at 4am. Thinking is dangerous, people. Don’t do it.

4:35- I give up. I’m checking my email

4:44- Will my dad notice I’m responding to him at 4:45am? I don’t think he’ll be savy enough to look at the time stamp.

4:56- And now I’m tired again. I’m not sure how that works out, but I’ll take it.

6:15- Why do I set my alarm for 6:15?

Fudge Mint Back To Nature Cookies

6:29- 3 Back To Nature Fudge Mint cookies are juts as good pre-run as an apple, right? I’m going with that line of thought.

6:32- Oh my God, are these cookies good. Thin Mints who? Take that, needy girl scouts.

6:41- There are 4 other people at the gym. Now that’s odd; I wonder what time they set their alarm for.

10 Miles In 28:33

7:34- That guy better not touch my 2nd TV. Just because I have 2 TV’s and a movie going on my iPod doesn’t mean I don’t need them all to pull through 10 miles.

8:11- Wow! I never thought I’d squeeze in 10 miles on a Tuesday/Thursday before me. Sweet! Now get ready!

8:29- Showered and dressed. What for breakfast? What for breakfast? What for breakfast?

8:34- More cookies? Sure, why not.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Honey Maple Protein Peanut Butter, 2% Greek Yogurt With 3 Fudge Mint Cookies

8:48- Portable breakfast packed and ready. I’ve got pumpkin oatmeal with honey maple protein peanut butter and an agave sweetened greek yogurt with 3 fudge mint cookies.

8:56- Oh thank God, I did my homework for this class.

2% Greek Yogurt With Fudge Mint Cookies

10:02- Don’t call on me; I’m still savoring the last few bites of this yogurt. Oh God, that was good. Why don’t cookies come in yogurt more often? If I’m hungry in 10 minutes, it was worth it.

10:22- Do I want coffee? Or tea? Or just water? Why is it so sunny now that I don’t have time to spend idly outside?

10:34- Oh. I should write a post.

10:59- OK, I should probably make a review page for these cookies, since I’m not sure they’re going to last the night.

11:19- Time to let out some lies…

1. My favorite candy growing up was Snickers! False. I was all over anything Reeses. I loved the peanut butter cups, reeses pieces, and fastbreak bar the most. Holiday eggs anyone? I’m just happy Newman’s Own Organics has my back on all-natural ones.

2. I was debating between going to Princeton, Stanford, and Brown. While I think I might have got a better education at Princeton, I stuck more local to be near my family. False! Wow, anyone who thought this was true must think highly of me 😀 To be honest, there was no choice involved. I applied to Brown early decision, and when I got accepted for that it was binding. I wasn’t even sure if it was the right school when I sent in my app and was still debating about Williams. Who’s to say there’s ever any 1 “right” school anyway?

3. I’ve been on every continent but Antarctica(I’m coming for you, glaciers ;-) ). False. I’ve been only to North America and Europe.

4. I left my passport on a plane on a school trip to Greece, but thankfully we got it before the plane left the gate. False! I’m always overprotective about my things even just in Boston so this would (hopefully) never happen to me. It did happen to a friend, though.

5. I speak fluently 3 languages. False. I wish! Really, the only other languages I know are Latin and Greek, and I definitely couldn’t “speak” those, especially not fluently.

6. My parents were extremely strict on anything electronic growing up, so I never owned a video game console until I got one as a High School graduation present. False. My parents had a gameboy in my hand by my 5th birthday.

7. The first time I had greek yogurt was in Greece on restaurant sidewalk with peaches and honey. True! I don’t even remember if I liked it at the time, and didn’t have another until 1 and a half years later, but on a school trip to Greece in 10th grade, we were served yogurt with honey and peaches as a complimentary dessert, and I remember being the only one at our table to eat it(I think I picked out the honey and peaches, mostly).

11:31- Publish!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Not On My Time”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

those cookies look SO good! i LOVE thin mints, but there aren’t many girl scouts around here, thankfully. I get into trouble with those cookies!

Burnt chocolate – no good! I love that you were up half the night and still got that 10 miler in! Crazy! And I guessed you got into all those Ivy league schools. Brown? How could I not think highly of ya!?

not a bad way to try Greek yogurt! i wish I was as creative as you are when I lived in the dorms (long time ago!)

Cookies are always a good snack!

No shame in going to bed before 10. I am usually passed out by then!

Cookie monster!!!

around 8:17 i was wanting to crawl back into bed too, but i was at school. boo! YES those cookies are awesome, perfect pre-run food :).

Welcome to the insomniac club 🙂 I hope your stay is pleasant.

Okay, all kidding aside, I hope this problem does not last for you because let me assure you, as a lifelong insomniac, having nights like that day after fay after day is quite painful. Ugh. sorry to be such a downer.

On a more positive note, your eats look delicious. I love thin mints, so I might have to try those guys!

i was totally wanting to hit the hay around last night too. stupid assignments getting in the way!

ah sweet reeses, you are a fellow after my own heart 🙂

this made me laugh, i had a night like this last night. the not falling asleep thing. though not as much snacking, thank god because I didnt wake up and run 10 miles you crazy runnin’ fool! 🙂

hahhaha…i loved this post. and i hear you about thinking too much when you’re trying to sleep. totally me.

Ugh – burnt chocolate is the worst! I think it smells worse than burnt popcorn! 🙂

Wow, what a long day! You packed so much into it, though! 🙂 Great job on the run.

you took a SCHOOL trip to GREECE? nice school you went to.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

