Who Plucked Out My Sweet Tooth?

Posted on March 9, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

If I took you all in a room, and told you I didn’t like things sweet, I’d expect a roar of laughter(or at least some backwards glances). But today it’s like I’ve crave nothing sweet(that, for me, just meaning not a lot–not literally nothing). And the only reason I can think is that–save 1/8 teaspoon in my coffee at 6:15–I haven’t had any stevia. Today was not a hot drink type of day and I used agave in my yogurt this morning. I’ve never thought it before, but maybe there’s some truth to not craving sugars without low-cal sweeteners, even natural ones like stevia.

Red Delicious Apple

I can never make it between breakfast and a reasonably timed lunch on Tuesday/Thursday, so I had a naturally sweet apple. It was also quite naturally mealy and just naturally not-good, but it held me over so that I could make my favorite salad to eat in class.

Hemp Oil Dressing And Mulberries

I’d never thought I’d say that: “Favorite salad”. But I’m really digging the new flavor combination I struck on 2 weeks ago. I guess these are sort of sweet ingredients, but not too much. I used a good squirt of Foods Alive Hemp Oil Sweet & Sassy dressing and a handful of Navitas Naturals mulberries, mixed in with chickpeas and diced cheese.

Raw & Probiotic Chickpea Salad, Trilogy Synergy

Chickpea, Mulberry, And Garlic Parsley Cheddar Salad Over Dressed Spinach

Everytime I eat this, I swear it gets better; it just makes me feel so fresh! The garlic parsley cheddar raw & probiotic cheese from Next Generation Dairy really makes the flavors come together. And so much of this is raw, you know it must be good for you. On the side, I accompanied the meal with a raw and probiotic drink, namely the Trilogy flavor by Synergy. I talked about this more in the end, but it was quite the tastey juice. It tasted more just like a regular gingerade kombucha to me, but I didn’t mind because that’s most of the ingredients and a flavor I love. I would’n say this was sweet, though; It’s much more vinegary. And it finally made me feel full. Where was that when my stomach was on a war path yesterday?

Orange Chocolate Energy Bar

This afternoon, on top of my 3 hours of class I had another engagement that lasted about an hour. Therefore, a bar was a complete must. I grabbed this Nature’s Path Organic Chocolate Orange Energy Bar from my bag. Sweet? Definitely. I didn’t say my sweet tooth had wholly disappeared 😉

Broccoli With Salsa

When I got back to my dorm, it was the oddest thing: All I wanted was dinner foods, even though dinner was a good time away and I still had preparation to do. I scrapped around for something not sweet, and this was the best I could do; it totally hit the spot, too! Go figure. I just hope this doesn’t continue for long because I do not keep that much savory stuff around.

Forming Grass-Fed Beef Patties

It was that time of week again. I want to thank each and every one of you who comments on how well I eat for living in a dorm. I assure you, after a full day of classes, the last thing I want to do is form burgers, cut sweet potato fries, and cook it all, especially when I still have homework for the next day. To be honest, I just don’t feel like there’s much of a choice, though. To eat in the dining hall, I either need to compromise a lot of my food philosophy, or learn to be happy with the salad bar; I just don’t like raw vegetables that much. When you get right down to it, cooking is work(God, now I understand my mother all too much), but it’s work I’ll do.

Grass-Fed 1/4 Pounder, Sweet Potato Fries

This was worth the work, too. I do not know what was up with the beef; it was incredibly juicy but wouldn’t hold on to the juice. That’s OK because I ended up licking the plate clean(did I really just admit to that?) Happily, despite the lost prep time, I can be a fast eater and move on to my readings for tomorrow now. I’m sure today was just a fluke and that my sweet tooth will reappear soon for dessert(how could it not?).

There’s so much extra out there, I feel lie I have to mention a few before I give a product review summary. First up, there’s this article concerning fat as a new flavor. I’ve read this a couple places now, and I’m totally willing to jump aboard the flavor train if that’s the case. What’s interesting is reading how they want to take and utilize this knowledge. There’s also a funky monkey snack giveaway for you all to enter, not like those have much fat in them 😉 And check out the $50 shopping spree giveaway on Mary’s Weight Loss Blog! I can win an $50 Shopping Spree Giveaway from iHerb.com and so can you! Click here for contest details! Now, I’ll wrap this up with my Kombucha product review recap. I was able to sample 4 flavors to review for Synergy, and here’s my thoughts on those I tried. I think what I learned was, whichever you choose, you won’t be disappointed so long as you like Kombucha. You can also look at my Synergy review page to see what other flavors I’ve had and might have in the future. Enjoy!

Botanic No 9

8.5/10: A delicate blend of honeysuckle and flowers, this kombucha has an equally tame flavor. It wasn’t “blue” in a saddening way but rather very mellow. I almost missed the vinegar flavor of the kombucha which is pretty much rendered down to nothing here. This one wasn’t for me on account of its subtlety but would definitely be a mellow welcome to anyone looking for “down time” or simply new to kombucha.

Citrus

8/10: The vinegar flavor of kombucha is a lot to handle naturally. I’m afraid it just might be too much for citrus to handle, too. While I liked this as a drink, it didn’t scream citrus! or lemon! the way I was expecting; there was just some certain zest of life missing from the flavor. That being said, it was very good kombucha, and I’m glad nothing fought the natural vinegar punch but–if anything–enhanced it. And perhaps the citrus helped to boost my mood because I felt like an all star after drinking it.

Multi-Green

9/10: “Drinking your calories” often gets a bad wrap; but when you’re drinking greens, living enzymes, and a host of other nutritious things, how can anything be bad? I’ll admit that I was wary of the color for this. When I started sipping I was pleasantly surprised to find that the flavors here–vinegary kombucha and bitter greens–actually work and thrive together! And the algae and other add-ins give a welcome dose of protein. The only unpleasantry was the chalky remnants at the bottom of the bottle. Otherwise, this was a surprisingly joyful way to take in my greens!

Trilogy

8.5/10: Even when synergy dabbles with juices, they really can’t go wrong; so often, the typical juice drink is over-sugared and more of a dessert than a health drink. I like how synergy keeps the kombucha strong and the ingredients simple; in this was just kombucha, raspberry juice, citrus, and ginger. The “trilogy” of flavors work well, but perhaps a little too well; you can’t identify much more than a strong vinegar flavor with a sharp bitter tone that could come from any 1–or all–of the flavors. Still, this drink had me sipping more and feeling well,, and is one of the flavors I’d gladly grab again.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Who Plucked Out My Sweet Tooth?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Just wanted to comment on your comment on my post (haha, that sounded weird). I read the sections of the book to my bf, Nick, and he disagreed too. However, we agreed that it is easier for him to de-stress, overall, for example when we are on vacation, he can totally forget about work, yet I always have it in the back of my mind. So yes, I think the book was general, and may not apply to every man 100%, but overall, I do think it’s a bit easier for men to focus on one thing, and block out other less important stimuli. I appreciate your opinion!

mmm the patties look good! (not that I like raw meat) but I can imagine them cooked and yours looks SO good!!

ewww mealy apples are the WORST!! , I always keep them in the fridge too I like them nice and cold 🙂

Sometimes “real foods” make the best snack foods, no matter how weird it feels to be eating a burger in the afternoon.

Ok just read your last post which explains why i got an email reply from you at 2:30am my time which was about 4:30am your time…you were Mr. Insomnia. I was like whoa, did he just get in from a hot date??! Nothing that exciting, juts insomnia. Got it. And I am the queen of 5 hrs of sleep up til 3-4am, back up about 8. which is why i was up when your email came in. I work round the clock i tell you 🙂

Anyway the burnt chocolate. You are brave.
The Jokerz. I am so looking fwd to cracking into it tonite about 2am 🙂 right after popcorn and nooch time.

Your dedication to cooking. Amazing. You are going to make your future partner so happy. After 10 yrs of marriage, i kid you not when i say scott doesnt know where we keep the forks. He’s a great dad and provider$ but i keep him outta the kitchen LOL which may be why he doesnt know where the forks are.

Luna’s for a buck. I have now heard some people dont like those. I know you like them alot. So i have 2 new bars to try. Woot!

Oh I am an original girl all the way!

Evan,

I definitely admire your intense dinner preparations. As a boarding school student who usually snubs the dining hall, there are many days when I’m tempted to make it an almond butter sandwich and Chobani parfait night…

Does your dining hall list the ingredients in foods? I’d be surprised to find that there are hot options that completely disagree with your principles!

Man…I wish someone would pluck out MY sweet tooth 🙂

Great review of the kombucha flavors! Multi-green is definitely one of my faves!

fat as a new flavor: hmm. my brother is all over that one, lol. some days i crave nothing but savory foods and am repulsed by sweet things!

I always find time to cook because I love it. There is something more satisfying about cooking a dinner rather than putting a frozen dinner in the oven pr spending my hard earned money on takeout.

i took your sweet tooth, because all i want is chocolate. only chocolate.

i almost never crave dinner foods. it’s 100% breakfast with me!

I’ve been nervous to try the multi-green flavor, maybe I’ll have to check it out!

mulberries – huh – who knew?!?!?

Sometimes (rarely) my sweet tooth disappears too. The other night all I wanted was crackers and pb for dessert! Love the kombucha reviews – I need to get my hands on some of that stuff.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

