Oopsies, Daisies, And Half Marathons

Posted on March 12, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I was going to right a post about added sugars(which were not my crowning glory the past 14 hours), but then I accidentally ran a half marathon. Oops. I’m hoping that’s more interesting, as I look at the other “oopses” that led to that happy accident.

Peanut Butter Q.Bel Wafer Roll, Coconut Oil Chocolate

As you must know, I’m addicted to Survivor; I’ve watched every season! Last night, I was so enthused to see a reward for–what else–chocolate. Apparently, I must think I’m a contestant this season, because I went ahead and made a chocolate plate of my own to rival the prize. Oops. It was certainly tasty, though. The coconut oil chocolate got a little soft at room temp, but was fine with a spoon to finish it off.

Peanut Butter Q.bel Wafer Roll

I forgot how much I loved these peanut butter wafer rolls from Q.bel;; I should read my own reviews more often, haha. They taste so much more peanut buttery than you’d think, and it’s all natural! I only wish they’d be gluten-free, which I forgot they weren’t. Oops. As you can(and will) see, I’m awful about eating how I should.

Oatgurt With Vanilla Chobani And Nuttzo

I’ve never been one for oatgurt, but I thought I’d give it a shot since I was craving oatmeal and greek yogurt. Pouring salt over all of this was a BIG oops and made the yogurt taste nasty. After I scooped that off, it wasn’t half-bad, but still wasn’t half good. At least the Nuttzo didn’t have any added sugar thankfully? I’ll take a win in the nutrition department where I can get it. Perhaps this wasn’t such a big flop since it really nutrient-loaded me for the morning.

Fudge Mint Back To Nature Cookies

I set my alarm purposefully 10 minutes earlier, knowing if I wanted to get a long run in(still unsure how long), this would be easier than extending it 10 minutes later. While sipping some coffee and changing, I snacked on 3 Fudge Mint Back To Nature cookies. What can I say? When a cookie is a 10/10, you’ve just gotta munch on it 🙂 Plus, I was sure those added sugars would help me just a little bit(Note: These are also not a gluten free food, proving moreso my awfulness in that respect. Oops).

13.1 Miles In 1:57:39

I think it helped me to run 13.1 miles that there was always somebody else on the treadmills around me; that kind of atmosphere is so much more encouraging. I had planned for 12, but when I got there and it wasn’t even 9 o’clock, I figured why not go for it?My record(also on the treadmill) is 1:46:28. For my race(in 16 days), I’d hope to run it in 1:40, though won’t be disappointed by anything. It’ll also be my furthest distance ran outside!

Chocolate Avocado Pudding, Vanilla Chobani With 1/2 A Gluten Free Cupcake And Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

Vanilla Chobani With 1/2 A Gluten Free Cupcake And Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

And then there was refueling. As silly as it may sound, I didn’t have oats this morning in part because I didn’t want to have to look at one of those green plastic bowls again 😦 I can’t wait to buy a real one. Who needs oats, anyway, when you have flavors like these? I topped a vanilla chobani with my last Bob’s Red Mill gluten free vanilla cupcake–I think that deserves a moment of silence right there–and some butter toffee peanut butter ala Naturally Nutty. I made my standard chocolate avocado pudding with Xagave in place of stevia. After 13.1 miles of rough labor, I’d rather give my body a caloric sweetener rather than risk confusing it. Now if only I had measured or used a little digression on adding that sugar :-/

So there you have it: Fueling for an accidental half marathon. I think this goes along with the emphasis in this post that if you’re a regular exercisor, you really need not worry about overdoing it. Of course, there are exceptions to be said about any statement. But extra energy sure will show out in your workout. Now, you can enter here for a raw chocolate giveaway, or here for a Fresh & Fit carry container! And even though I don’t have classes on Friday(whoopee!) I have somewhere I need to be soon and am under-prepared for(Oops). Happy Friday!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “Oopsies, Daisies, And Half Marathons”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

eww salt does not go well with yogurt haha! You can never go wrong with butter toffee PB though! Nice running! You will be prepared for your race coming up!

Good run!!!

I posted a GF pizza today….it is a crust you might like! Have a GREAT Friday, Evan!!

your killin me with the cupcake in the chobani! evertime you post it I WANT IT NOW!!! ahh it looks so good! are you doing a 26.2 anytime soon!!?? i’d come cheer you on in boston! 🙂

I NEED to try a cupcake in my yogurt!!

Wow that is an amazing treadmill run! The cupcake shots are making me hungry 😉

Good job on the half mary!

Yeah, salt on yogurt doesn’t sound great 😦

I think you are one of the few people in the world who can accidentally run a half-marathon! Too funny! Good job busting out that last mile. 🙂

YAY for class free Fridays! Those fudge mint cookies would not last long in this house! We used to put Thin Mints in our freezer – makes them 10x better 🙂

I wish I could run an ‘accidental’ half marathon to get ready for my race next month! Love your refueling!!

will this race also be your first race? have you done inside races before?

Hooray for an early morning 13.1! And I love those q-bel candy bars. I received one from my blogger secret santa – delish 🙂

wait up, you got $875 for getting the high score on an optional exam? holy shit man! and i thought i was special for getting $3 for participating in a psych experiment today lol!!!! i love qbels, but have never tried that flava

I’ve Always wanted to try qbels! I need to get on that:)

“accidentally ran 13 miles” .. oh Evan, you are my hero.

Fudge Mint Back To Nature Cookies-have heard they rock
Same with the Qbel.
God for a college student you have better gourmet snacks than I do and I am pretty jealz. However I have a ridic pantry full of newman’s, bettylou’s, and about a million other carby snacks. That are not choc.

And you’re so cryptic about where you’re going and what you’re up to. I can only hope for your sake it’s a super hot date and you’re gonna whoop it up tonite 🙂

So you are gluten free? Do you have Celiac? I didn’t even know that! Good thing when you are gluten intolerant you don’t have any outward signs of a reaction….only inside. A little doesn’t hurt, but a lot, not so good.
I love all of your food creations. You really are creative in the kitchen, very impressive. Even if you had some extra “Added sugar”, we can’t be perfect all the time!
Good luck with your…half marathon????

Definitely not Celiac’s thankfully, just an intolerance which, like you said, just makes the inside feel not so good. And wheat cookies would definitely count as “worth” the little hurt to me when they’re that good 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

