Makes Me Want To Shout

Posted on March 14, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Restaraunt Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Today has made me want to shout! Not like, “Hey, you kids. Get off my lawn!” kind of shout, but as in you make me want to shout, throw my hands up and shout, throw my hands up and shout. It’s been that good! It’s reminded me of how weekends should be: filled with friends, family, and fun, and not responsibilities.

1/2 A Munch Bar

After this morning, my parents and grandmother drove down to Providence. We quickly swung by the Brown gymnasium so I could shout at a high school friend who was visiting for a fencing tournament and say hi. After that we drove to Bellingham to pick some things up, and back to Providence for a late brunch. Since I knew we weren’t eating until 2:30, I broke off 1/2 a Munch bar to munch on.

Garden Grille Cafe

My dad and I liked Garden Grille Cafe so much Wednesday night, we thought it’d be great to bring my mom and grandmother. This time, of course, it was light out ๐Ÿ™‚ Their brunch menu is full of good things. Everyone else seemed to wantย Frenchย toast but they were out of the batter ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That ended up being fine because no one had complaints with what we did get.

Grilled Sweet Potatoes With BBQ Sauce

For the table, we ordered a side of grilled sweet potatoes with BBQ sauce. Where else could you get a plate of sweet potatoes for $6? Love it. And so did everyone else! There were only about 3 wedges left after everything which we boxed up.

Homemade Tofu Bacon

When I saw “homemade tofu bacon” as a side, I knew we had to order some; I just wanted to shout it at the waitress. Since this was homemade from regular tofu and not made in a factory, it didn’t have to count for Lent as “prepared soy”. It wasn’t as crispy as regular bacon, but had good flavor. My grandmother even ate it and loved it! I don’t think, however, she realized this wasn’t made from real pig. She also loved her vegan blueberry pancakes, but was ready to shout when she didn’t get real heavy cream at first for her coffee(maybe that was a good thing).

Garden Tofu Scramble With Hash, Grilled Sweet Potato With BBQ Sauce, 2 Tofu Slices

For my plate, I ordered the garden tofu scramble “with grilled seasonal vegetables, served with home fries and toast”. I gave away the toast(not gluten-free) and also took a wedge of sweet potato and 2 strips of bacon.

Empty Plate

Obviously, I hated it and wanted to shout out my frustration ๐Ÿ™‚ This was amazing and I need to go here more often(it’s only about 2.5 miles down the road–an easy run). It was all a little heavily oiled, but isn’t that how brunches are supposed to be? The hash was easily the best part; next time I come, I’m just going to order that as my main because anything else was just filler. Likewise, the sweet potato seemed a little bland compared to the hash with regular and sweet potatoes in it. Have I shouted enough about the hash?

Vegan Chocolate Chip Hemp Cookie

On the way out, I picked up one of their vegan chocolate chip hemp cookies. This was shouting my name, even though it wasn’t gluten-free. I just love over-sized and soft cookies ๐Ÿ™‚ Everybody loved the restaurant; my grandmother who couldn’t even tell you what a vegan meal would look like wants to go back for dinner some time! Hehe, too bad it’s so far from home(but not from me :-)).

New Bowl

We went grocery shopping and wound up at Targe where I was able to get a new bowl! Isn’t this so radically different from my last one ๐Ÿ˜‰ What can I say? I know what I like. This really is what reminded me of a good ol’ care-free weekend, because I was able to enjoy just riding around and going places without thinking “Oh shoot, I have to write that paper!” I still do have to write that paper; I just wasn’t thinking about it.

Whole Foods Groceries

All the groceries were more-or-less the standards: copious amount of yogurt and soy yogurt, some grass-fed beef(on sale this week!), tofu, chickpeas(why don’t I keep a few cans of this around more often?), and agave nectar(been going through this a bit too fast lately…).

Eastside Market Groceries

At Eastside Market, I grabbed 2 gingerade kombucha(still on sale, woohoo!), nutritional yeast, sweet potato, avocado, and pumpkin. Again–it’s not like I’m radically changing my diet this week.

Jokerz And Raw Caramel Chocolate

I did “treat” myself to 2 “fun purchases”: another Jokerz bar and a new raw chocolate. Normally, dropping $10 for so little chocolate would make me want to shout(I mean, I better be buying a cacao tree for that price). But since I won that prize for my Greek exam and then another $583 for tieing for 1st in the Latin exam(did I forget to mention this?), I thought a little self-indulgence was due. I can’t wait to see if they were worth it!

1/2 Vegan Chocolate Chip Hemp Cookie

1/2 Vegan Chocolate Chip Hemp Cookie

As if I needed any more self-indulgence, I broke in to my cookie. I cut half and ate it from my new bowl just because I could. This reeaaallly made me want to shout! ย It was so soft and chewy–absolutely perfect for how I like my cookies. It wasn’t at all filling, probably not whole-grain, and sugary/butter as all hell; it was the perfect over-sized cookie ๐Ÿ™‚ I like how the sweetness of the chocolate contrasted with slightly-savory hemp, too; I never would have thought to do that flavor combo. All that cookie adoration/putting away of groceries made dinner a real quickie:

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Smart Balance Peanut Butter, Nutritional Yeast, And Sea Salt, Soy Yogurt With Hemp Seeds

I was going to make a burger with sweet potatoes, but since I had so much potato at lunch and didn’t get the ball going on cooking them, I just shouted out a c’est la vie and went with a breakfast-for-dinner motif. I love how savory this meal turned out; the nutritional yeast on pumpkin with saltiness tastes just like a vegan cheddar cheese, and the soy/hulled hemp seed combo was more savory, protein goodness. Not going to lie: I also love savory meals because they give me a sweet tooth for dessert ๐Ÿ™‚ Until tomorrow!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “Makes Me Want To Shout”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

What a fun day….looks delish!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree that if I had seen tofu bacon on the menu I would have totally ordered it too!

But what’s up with a resturaunt being out of butter?!? Really!

Evan you are seriously driving me CRAZY with all of these trips to Garden Grille! I’m going to need to plan a Providence trip!

yay so glad you had a great weekend! your g-ma sounds like a funny lady

Ahhhhh I can’t keep up with your posts – too much too often hahah! I have to go back….

i think your gma and i would get along. every time you mention her i think that hah! soooo that either makes her really cool or me an old lady…i’m going with the former ๐Ÿ™‚

i almost bought those jokerz bars wen i was at WF yesterday but they’re so expensive! and they have corn syrup; boo.

Sounds like you had a great day!!

mmm i love good brunch spots!

whoa..backtrack it on up there buster…you won 8 bills last week and now another 5+ for being smart. So like 1400 bucks in the past week for being smart…ok, all i got for being magna cum laude AND valedictorian of my h.s. was a pat on the freaking back. I didnt even get a full scholarship. Take that money and run, i love it that you’re getting paid for your gray matter.

Jokerz And Raw Caramel Chocolate= nice. I think kristen of k’s raw just posted about that caramel bar but she didnt take a pic, she just described it, and i am going to be at wf’s for a blogger meetup on tues, a new person, im excited, but anyway i will keep an eye out for that.. caramel and dark choc is my fave flavor combo, ever. period.

OMG i need it.

Granny and the tofu bacon…I served choc avo pudding to guests and they “love it” til they find out what’s in it and then they get weird. Good thing granny just didnt even know it was ‘fu.

LOL

Grilled sweet potaters with BBQ?

I wish every restaurant served that option!

You make out like a bandit when the parents come to visit!

Looks like you had a dream day for any foodie from that delicious vegan brunch right down to your awesome grocery selections. I’m still drooling over that incredibly soft and fluffy looking vegan hemp cookie.

Congrats on the extra scratch from your well-done papers! I would say that a little self-indulgence is most certainly due!

A foodie’s perfect day indeed!! I’m so glad you had such a fun, relaxing day – you deserve it!! Congratulations on winning the Latin exam – you rock!!

I’m in awe of all these photos of deliciousness… ๐Ÿ™‚

That cookie looks amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

Looks like you’re stocked up on some goods ๐Ÿ™‚

The restaurant looks great! We don’t have many vegetarian options in Detroit. I am jealous you bought pumpkin. The grocery stores still don’t have it here.

that tofu scramble looks delish. i’ve actually never been to an all vegetarian restaurant before simply because no one will go with me. will i be completely lame if i go by myself? haha.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

