Starting Off On The Right Foot

Posted on March 17, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good morning and happy Wednesday! It’s Wednesday, March 17th, so you know what that means–new Whole Foods sales St. Patricks day! Did you remember to wear green to work? I have on a green shirt right now, and it even says Ireland Rugby League! For the record, I’m a big, fat 0% Irish and haven’t played rugby in my life πŸ˜‰

Jokerz Candy Bar

There are 3 kinds of bars that come to my mind. There’s the kind too many people will be spending too much time in celebrating tonight, if you know what I mean. There’s the blogger’s “bar” as in health food, often granola or date based bars that we all pack 5 or 6 of at any given time just so we’ll have something to suit our flavor cravings. And then there’s the biggest flirt of them all–the candy bar.

Jokerz Candy Bar

Don’t these Jokerz look just like a Snickers? I can’t get over them! Sure, they’re not at all “healthy” and completely ironic to eat while watching The Biggest Loser. But if my biggest vice is 1 of these a week, I think I’ll manage quite well πŸ˜‰ This was the perfect way to start off my short-lived night(reaaally not a night person as if you haven’t noticed). Go Max Go Foods makes 4 different all-natural candy bars; I’d be curious to try the other 3. It’s great to have 1 company that suits this sort of diet but a little competition wouldn’t hurt.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Raw Cashew Butter And Sweetened Coconut

As quick as the night had started, I did some work and called it good enough. Wouldn’t want to overexert now would we? I made a bowl of pumpkin oatmeal topped with my new obsession–Love Raw FoodsRaw Cashew Butter. How sad that it’s almost gone, too 😦 I’ll have to whip out the food processor and try something raw myself. For some added richness, I mixed shredded coconut with agave nectar and added it on top; this is nice and sweet, but without any weirdΒ preservativesΒ like in Baker’s coconut; it’s a small detail but if you’re a coconut it’s something to look in to doing.

Jolly Beans

This morning, I started my day off on the right foot by grabbing a handful of jelly beans for some prerun energy. What am I going to do when these aren’t on the bulk bins anymore? I’ve actually managed to track down the company and product page here! Now I just need to locate them in person out of season.

10 Miles in 89:05

I did have skepticism about hitting the gym today when it’s supposed to be 60 degrees at some point, but I think this was the right choice in the end. I managed to knock out 10 miles; I honestly wanted to be able to do more but the same GI issues that made me think the gym would be a better bet cut me short and led me straight to the restroom. If it’s worth anything, I think I’ve finally gotten over the troublesome gluten from that great cookie I grabbed at Garden Grille; if so, now that would be starting the day off on the right foot. And I can’t really complain about 10 miles, either.

Mashed Avocado

Of course, since it’s St. Patricks Day I needed to start my day off with something green. Chocolate avocado pudding anyone? Well, not quite. I made it the fully raw way with just avocado, raw cacao, and raw xagave as termed by Averie a “mousse“. It’s a little thicker and a lot of sweeter πŸ˜€

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Mighty Maple

Raw Chocolate Avocado Mousse And Vanilla Bean Greek Yogurt

Celebrate good times, c’mon! This felt a little bit like a feast; it’s a holiday at least? I made some pumpkin oatmeal and topped it with Mighty Maple to satisfy that mighty craving. And since you all seem to love your oatgurt(of which I am not a fan), I thought I’d try out avocadgurt! Doesn’t that sound delightful πŸ˜‰ 1/2 of the bowl was chocolate avocado pudding mousse and the other half Voskos honey vanilla bean greek yogurt. Oh my stars–this was amazing. It was so sweet, and the combo of raw cacao with real vanilla beans was like magic. I’m still not even 1/3 the way through and very happy I have that much more to savour.

Fun Fact: My Confirmation name is Patrick! I chose this name for several reasons at the time. Always on my mind was Patrick Star; how could he not be? St. Patrick is also the saint who drove all the snakes out of Ireland and consequently became known as the protector of snakes. Snakes are my number 1 phobia, so he seemed perfect for me. Obviously, I feel very obligated to celebrate it up today with green foods! What about you? How will you be celebrating today? Now, if you’ll excuse me, because I have so very many important things to do, I’m about to spend the rest of my morning figuring out what the flavors of each Jolly Bean are even if it kills me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

21 Responses to “Starting Off On The Right Foot”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I love the black/white of the mousse/yogurt. πŸ™‚

I need some more pumpkin oatmeal in my life.

Happy St. Patty’s day πŸ˜‰

My confirmation name was Bernadette, not NEARLY as cool as yours.

Sorry to hear about your GI troubles, but at least you were still able to get 10 miles in today! that’s a great run!! Hope you get to enjoy the great weather today!

Love that mousse– so pretty!

Unfortunately, I don’t think much celebrating is on our menu tonight…maybe I’ll drink an Irish beer while I grade papers πŸ™‚

I’m so excited that you posted that avocado mousse! I just bought 3 avocados at Whole Foods (3 for $1!!!!!) and had no clue what I was going to do with all of them.

My confirmation name is Veronica. That’s right, patron saint of laundresses. Woohoo.

Very nice pictures! Everything looks so yummy! πŸ™‚

That avacadgurt looks amazing!

Snakes are my kryptonite, so I’ve always appreciated that about St. Patrick! My confirmation name is Catherine, definitely not very exciting.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Evan! Yes I am wearing GREEN…no pinching in my house today!!

Good run today…and thanks for your nice comment about my “running” post yesterday. You are totally right! πŸ™‚

Haha I can totally relate to carrying five different types of Larabar around because I never know what I want. Will I be in a chocolate mood, a salty mood, a fruity mood, a spicy mood??? Gotta be prepared!

And we’re making Irish corned beef and cabbage dinner with soda bread tonight. I’m 50% Irish and the other 50% British; how ironic!

Great run even with all the tummy troubles….I’m impressed!

Happy St. Patty’s Day! πŸ™‚ I’m wearing my green scrubs, like a good girl! πŸ™‚ Not quite as cool as your Ireland rugby shirt, though! πŸ™‚

I am SO excited about your recipe for natural sweetened coconut – thank you for the awesome idea!!

Our celebration will probably be pretty low-key tonight because I have to get up for work at 4AM… :-p but we’ll definitely be enjoying some yummy cabbage! πŸ™‚

oh running and tummy troubles…i hate it when that happens.

Raw cashew butter really is so fabulous. It can go sweet or salty with ease!

im pretty sure I need those jokerz bars in my life! I love the chunks in there!!

avaocado—taht would be the PERFECT green st pattys day food!

I love your pumpkin oat creations!! I have become sort of sick of my pumpkin oats, and have been experimenting with other “oats”, but I will never quit adding pumpkin to them! I like the idea of shredded coconut, or even a different kind of nut butter (I always use peanut butter…).

Jolly beans sound, interesting. I have never tried them. ACtually I’ve always hated jelly beans and used to get pretty pissed at the Easter bunny when he gave them to me. I want CHOCOLATE!

Tonight I will celebrate by drinking a green (labeled) beer; Sierra Nevada. That’s what we have here in the apartment, so that’s what I’m drinking!! Cheers!

a holiday just for you! i never got confrmed, and i even went to a catholic high school for a while lol

Need to make avo mousse. I haven’t made that in forever and it sound delicious right about now. I’m sitting, hungry, at my desk at work, wishing I could eat all that you’re blogging!
It’s a must make tonight! Thanks for the idea!

You should get presents or something on St. Patrick’s Day – haha πŸ™‚

I used to be a TOTAL addict when it came to Snicker’s! I don’t think I can trust myself around that bar.

When Ive been glutened, I feel like sh*t, no pun intended, for a good 4-5 days. That’s the worst of it. Then there are the foggy headed, bitchy, moody irritable symptoms that last another 3. Possibly b/c i just spent the preceding 4-5 in the bathroom or with a stomach ache. So yeah, it’s a nice week of drama for me with gluten-ing. I totally feel for you!

The mousse. Thanks for the linkage, hell yeah it’s sweeter, just the way I like everything πŸ™‚

Patrick. My goodness. how bad is this, i grew up catholic and couldnt even tell you what my confirmation name is. But Ive had alot of names in my life…my birth name, my 1st married name, 2nd married name, name I used to tell people was mine but wasnt, and now the names I have legally changed to Averie Harmony S. and that I think are keepers, it only took 33 yrs πŸ™‚

I LOVE thos bars! They’re soo good! Have you tried the “Twilight” or “Bucaneer”? They’re just as good.. Yummoo


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

