Running On Borrowed Time

Posted on March 18, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Like Kermit the frog said, “It ain’t easy being green”. I think mint ice cream would share the same sentiment. It is not a green food by nature, and the all-natural kind doesn’t even try. That doesn’t mean it won’t taste as green or good on St. Patrick’s Day, right?

Mint Chip So Delicious Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Tastes yummy by me! Like I mentioned, I picked up a new So Delicious ice cream to try: Mint Chip Coconut Milk. I love mint and wish it were a more popular flavor. This ice cream not dissapoint; it was minty and fresh, and the chocolate in it was essentially my coconut oil chocolate! Delicious. By the way, I know I’ve had plenty of new ice creams lately I don’t have page reviews for. In part this is because they’ve all been bought with my money so I haven’t felt an obligation towards the company; I also simply haven’t had time. But if any flavor has a particular following or anyone wants to email me individually, I’d be happy to share the details and maybe even eventually getting around to formal pages.

Chocolate Hazelnut Butter And Fudge Mint Cookies

Have I mentioned I love mint? I always overkill it in desserts, too, which makes no one else in my family want to eat it. I’ve been told my mint brownies taste like mouthwash πŸ˜€ I don’t mind if it means I get more! So, naturally I thought to add some mint cookie to my oats last night, as I simply wasn’t over the flavor.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Chocolate Hazelnut Butter And A Fudge Mint Cookie

Holy yum! The combo of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter and the cookie balanced soooo well. Of course, these are wheat cookies with gluten; they’re also really small and this was at least 1/10 the size of the one that did me in on Sunday so I wasn’t sweating eating it too much.

1/2 Perfect Foods Cranberry Crunch Lite Bar

On Mythbusters, they were testing all the alcohol related myths, including hangovers and what not. I’m glad my night of ice cream and oats made me feel a lot better than the Mythbusters, because all I needed was 1/2 a Perfect Foodscranberry crunch lite and I was good to go to the gym at 6:35.

11 Miles In 1:37:24

Tuesdays and Thursdays are notoriously tight for me,Β time-wise, with a class at 9, and that’s running moderate amounts. Today, I was so tired of doing 10 miles day after day I decided I felt like 11. Was today any better for time? Not so much. But I busted them out in 1:37:24 and then briskly walked back to my room to shower, change, cook, and get to class.

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Vanilla Cake Mix

Breakfast also saw the return of one of my favorite Bob’s Red Mill products. At first I tried making an individual cupcake by cooking a serving with 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil and 1/2 an eggwhite. That came out… interesting and not at all fluffy, and now resides in my trash can.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter, Vanilla Cake Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Vanilla Cake Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

I still managed to sneak the cake mix in there by pouring about 1/2 a serving straight into my vanilla chobani. This was so good! It was a little grainy, and definitely a sweet treat. The salty peanut candies on top made it even better, which I didn’t think would be possible. And then there was more Justin’s chocolate butter–this time almond–on the oats. When I got to class I realized I had none of my translation or text–bad for a Greek class 😦 I ran(literally) back to my room, grabbed it, and got back. If in no other way, at least running will help me in life as a courier.

Happy Thursday! I’m very happy it’s Thursday. Clearly, my mind is gone, and Thursday’s the last day of the work-week for me so I can really relax tonight. And as we all know Survivor’s on Thursdays. To quote the Black Eyed Peas, “I got a feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night”.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “Running On Borrowed Time”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I am so obsessed with your ice cream bowl! Where di you find it?

It’s part of a 4 set, and as weird as it is to say it I think they come from some child’s kitchen play set? They’re really old so I wouldn’t be surprised if I got them when I was 4 and just turned them in to bowls sporadically

2 things:

1. have you tried Purely Decadent’s (coconut milk) Carrot Cake ice cream? my local co-op can get it in carrot cake or mint chocolate and I didn’t know if you had tried this flavor. it sounds good, but you never know!

2. you seen to run a LOT of miles consistently. do you ever just do short 3-5 mile runs? (just wondering, not trying to make a statement or anything).

I’d never heard of that flavor! Are you sure it wasn’t Rice Divine? Because I’ve spoken to the So Delicious people over twitter and they never mentioned that one. And concerning shorter mileage, I feel very comfortable in the 8-12 range and would almost rather take a day off if my body needs shorter mileage to recoup for the next one than draw back

oh I checked and it is Rice Dream. the Purely Decadent one I put down on my order is just the coconut flavor. have you had that one?? it is between THAT and mint hahahha! thanks for the input πŸ™‚

I have, and it’s delicious! It’s more like carrot ice cream(think: frozen carrot juice) with gingersnap/molasses cookie dough chunks than actual carrot cake, but it’s definitely unique and delicious

haha i love that youre eating out of childrens toys. mint is a pretty amazing flavor. im randomly linking b ack to your blog on my post today because i forgot to yesterday when i mentioned the voskos! sorry πŸ™‚ hope you had a great st pattys day!

MMM hazelnut butter sounds SO good! Justins rocks πŸ™‚

This post is getting me pumped for Justin to get the chocolate flavors on whole foods shelves this month! That yogurt also sounds really good!

Am I really the only person who thinks that chocolate and mint just don’t go together?!

If you’re my parents, you’d think mint should only exist as a mouthwash

I want to try hazelnut butter so badly!!

yum i love mint. never paired it with coconut though. but i’m not the biggest coconut fan so i don’t know if i’d ever want to potentially “taint” my mintyness haha!

for some reason that hazelnut butter/cookie picture just makes me smile. Don’t know if it’s the the fact that hazelnut chocolate butter exists, or the leaning tower of cookies. I’ll go with the latter.

Vanilla cake yogurt??!? I want to go to there! I’m imagning that it tastes like Coldstone’s cake batter ice cream…even if it doesn’t, just let me pretend πŸ™‚

I’m in such a chocolate mint mood. I’ve been looking for those cookies all over, can’t seem to find them anywhere around here! Blah I have such a craving!

I need that Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter in my life asap! I used to love nutella in my pre-vegan days, and it seems like this may be a great substitute. πŸ™‚

Oh, it totally is! It’s not really like nutella because the hazelnut content is so much higher, but I think that’s a good thing πŸ˜‰ They’re almond and peanut butters are also great in chocolate, and are completely vegan, too, unlike Maranatha

smash that cookie into yogurt, esp coconut milk yogurt…SO GOOD! nice new layout btw

Aww I wish those thin mints were GF!! Would’ve done my tummy in too!

P.S. LOVE the new layout!

So jealous your week is done! Also like the new layout πŸ™‚

omg those oats? mint chocolate cookies with chocolate nut butter and oats? good god! that’s amazing!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

