Mint Everything And Stress Sleep

Posted on March 23, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

This has got to be quick; I’m done with 1 class but I need to make lunch and eat soon for back-to-back midterms in the afternoon–yikes! Not sure how those will come out…

So Delicious Coconut Milk Mint Chip Ice Cream

So Delicious Coconut Milk Mint Chip Ice Cream

I love mint. There is copious amounts of it in this post, and it disappoints me that it’s so hard to find as a flavor. Should I invest in a mint herb? I’d probably eat all the leaves right off… I kicked off things by having some mint chip so delicious coconut milk ice cream. I love that you can’t taste the coconut in this flavor! Nothing should get in the way of me and my mint 😉

Deep Forest Mint Chocolate

Deep Forest Mint Chocolate

But the chocolate in that wasn’t satisfying enough; I need a lot of chocolate to be satisfied, in case you hadn’t noticed. So I had a little bit of Endangered Species deep forest mint right afterwards just to hit that sweet tooth. I’m not crazy about this bar; that’s probably why I’m still working on it after 7 or so months.

Oatmeal With Pepita Sun Butter And 1/2 Raw Mint Chip Macaroon

Oatmeal With Pepita Sun Butter And 1/2 Raw Mint Chip Macaroon

I wasn’t sure if I even could work mint in to my oatmeal, or–if I could–how would it taste? It turned out fantastically. I took 1/2 of my favorite raw macaroon from Emmy’s organics and sprinkled that over plain oatmeal with pepita sun butter. The flavors of vanilla and mint were amazing here. It definitely tasted like dessert oatmeal 🙂 And then I hit the hay early to try and get some good rest.

9 Miles in 1:20:57

9 Miles in 1:20:57

Nothing was pretty about this morning’s run; it was one of those times you can only be thankfully for what you could control and let the rest go from your mind. I’d rather just gloss over it while I (don’t) have the time and say I pushed through 9 miles and then quickly showered and made breakfast.

Pumpkin And Egg Oatmeal With Cinnamon, Vanilla, And Maple Almond Butters, Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Pumpkin And Egg Oatmeal With Cinnamon, Vanilla, And Maple Almond Butters, Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

It was mostly the typical, portable goodies. I added pumpkin and an egg white to my oatmeal to make it a little french-toasty and topped it with Justin’s maple almond butter and Naturally Nutty’s organic cinnamon vanilla almond butter. Can you even process how amazing that flavor combination was? Like french toast, I tell ya. And then there was So Delicious plain soy yogurt(unsweetened) with milk chocolate coated peanuts. Is it bad I would consider those a “healthy fat”? I like to not question and just crush(and then eat!).

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

And now as I’m writing this post I’ve demolished this apple.

Stress Sleep

First up, I’m not saying sleep like you’re stressed. I’m telling you to put a stress on sleep. That’s the best thing you can do for your mental health at a time when you might otherwise be distracted. We’ve all been there: Too much to do and the first thing you’re willing to sacrifice is sleep. But that’s not the answer. In fact, in times when we just need clarity, sleep can be the most beneficial thing for us and boost brain power and concentration in our waking hours. It also helps to “normalize” hunger cues. Despite a 6:15 wake-up call, I prioritized and managed 7 and 1/2 hours of sleep last night to be a sharp thinker for my tests. Between 7 and 8 hours is the recommended amount, but this varies slightly between person to person. How’s your sleeping?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

24 Responses to “Mint Everything And Stress Sleep”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

sigh. i love sleep! and luckily i actually sleep really well…i learned in college that sleep is one of the most important things not just to improve my ability to study and do well in class, but it’s key to emotional and physical health too. great post evan!

My sleep Is so off due to the time
change.

I have back to back to back to back exams too! Good luck on yours!

When I was in college I actually had pretty bad insomnia issues because of stress! I’m so thankful that I’ve found ways to deal with it and that I now sleep like a rock. Also, we had lots of mint growing in our backyard when I was little and we used to eat mint and cheddar cheese sandwiches.

I try to always snag at least 7 hours each night, but that’s often the intent and not the reality. Between the time it takes for me to actually fall asleep (i.e; put my book away and switch off my bedside lamp) and when I actually fall asleep…it usually ends up being 6 hours. Switching off all electronic distractions at least an hour before going to bed certainly helps me get into “snooze mode.”

My sleep sucked recently but I am making priority once again. It feels amazing to be well rested. Instead of studying long nights before a test, I get a LONG night of sleep and do much better!

I seriously just had like 10 junior mints because HEABs post made me crave them. Now I want more!

I definitely need a lot of sleep. I try to get 8-9 but it can be tough!

that coconut milk ice cream is AMAZING!

I always lack sleep when I’m stressed out about midterms/finals and “catch up” on the weekends.

I love mint, too! 🙂

I try to get 8 hours but to do that I’d have to be asleep by 8:45. Not gonna happen. I normally get to bed around 10. Not too good, about 6.75 hours? I do take a half hour nap in the afternoons though…when possible.

I try REALLY hard to get 8 hour of sleep every night. With that said, usually I get about 7 to 7 1/2. Which seems to work well and then I definitely catch up on the weekends!! 🙂

i loveee sleep! but if i get MORE than 9 hrs then i am a drag-but less than 7 i am also a DRAG

Sleep is soooo important. I’m like a baby…if I’m sleepy or hungry I am very cranky 🙂

I always aim for 8 hours a night and I try to go to bed around the same time everynight (not weekends, typically) so I’m regulated. Now I don’t even need an alarm most of them time and wake up feeling good not groggy.

Too much sleep is not good for me, either, though.

Oh, and Endangered Species is my favorite chocolate, too. I love the dark chocolate toffee and the almond cherry.

I usually get about 7-7.5 hours, but I try for 9 on the weekends. I need more sleep when I am training hard.

i NEED 9 hours of sleep. unfortunately as a college student i don’t get nearly enough. i guess that i could skip out on going out and stuff but then i’d be missing out on life and my friends. sleep just is given the lowest priority!

Glad to see you enjoyed some Emmy’s today too 🙂 Great minds think alike!

Yum, I love mint as well. It takes chocolate to a whole new level… 😉

Good luck on your midterms; I’m sure you’ll do well.

I try to go to bed around the same time every night, and I probably end up with 7.5 hours of sleep, which I think is fine for me.

ah mint is to chocolate as jelly is to peanut butter.. divine, just divine.

If I don’t get at least 8 hours of sleep, you don’t want to mess with me. I am a crankster!

I’m a big fan of all things mint too! Have you ever tried the Soy Delicious Peppermint Carob flavor? AMAZING.

I’ve only ever glanced at the fruit sweetened varieties because honestly I didn’t have much faith in them being good but know that I’ve heard the words “carob peppermint” I can’t help but track it down!

Have you ever tried Alter-Eco Fair Trade Dark Chocolate Mint? It’s USDA organic and hands down my favorite mint chocolate bar. I only now found it where I live. I was always requesting my younger brother to bring me a couple of bars back from Europe. Do you know how excited I was to know that I no longer have to wait once a year for this chocolate?! If you haven’t tried it yet, I highly recommend it!

I liked their quinoa bar, and I don’t even like chocolate with crisps in it so I’ll definitely keep an eye out for some magic mint! http://foodmakesfunfuel.com/product-reviews/chocolate-and-candy/alter-eco/dark-quinoa-chocolate/

When i was in college, both freshman and sophomore year i slept a solid 8 hrs every single night, no excuses. it made for classes being that much easier to attend. by junior year i only needed 7, but it was still hard to function! haha!

and love the mint. bet you could stick lots of it in oats…tasty!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

