Easy Running And Planned Meals

Posted on March 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Happy humpday, all! I have to admit: Normally, I don’t give a damn about what day of the wek it is or being half way there. But today, when I walked in my room, threw down my stuff, and knew I would be in for the night, I just wanted to do a happy dance. I’m 1 midterm I haven’t studied for, 1 class I won’t pay attention in, and 1 paper I haven’t started writing away from break. When I write it out like that, things don’t sound so good. LOL. I’ll just get on to my day then…

Red Delicious Apple
Red Delicious Apple

10 Miles In 1:29:56
10 Miles In 1:29:56

I grabbed an apple and was good-to-go to the gym. This was perhaps one of the easiest runs I’ve had in a while; I was well rested, well fueled, and feeling overall refreshed. The only thing that made it difficult was the 4th hour of the Today Show with Hoda and Kathy Lee and then local news, but I survived πŸ˜‰ Through segments about women’s products like “the butt bra”, I don’t know how I made it…

Broccoli, Shredded Parsley Salmon, Garlic Parsley Cheddar Raw Cheese Stick
Broccoli, Shredded Parsley Salmon, Garlic Parsley Cheddar Raw Cheese Stick

For lunch I couldn’t decide wether to go protein-heavy or carb-heavy because of the workout. I decided on protein mainly because this salmon has been sitting around for 2 days and needed to get eaten :-/ It was tasty, though! It’s always better when you let someone else(thank you, Whole Foods) cook for you. On the side I had broccoli with my favorite dressing by Foods Alive and an organic garlic parsley cheddar cheese stick from Next Generation Dairy.

Would it be weird to say my “me” time came in History discussion? We had nothing to do this week, since the midterm was yesterday, so we watched 50 minutes of a PBS special. If 50 minutes listening to bad British documentaries while making fun of it with a friend and drifting off isn’t “me” time, I don’t know what is. After that I had another class(Object History), which just made the day feel so much longer. Midway through I broke out a snack.

Peanut Choco' Chewy Nature's Path Granola Bar
Peanut Choco’ Chewy Nature’s Path Granola Bar

Mmm I just love these bars from Nature’s Path. They’re sweet, salty, nutty–perfect! Except the ingredient list is totally less than stellar. Sugar as the number one ingredient? A chocolate coating that has less cocoa than palm oil? Yeah, I’m going to pretend I don’t see that because it’s organic…

Green & Black's Peanut Bar
Green & Black’s Peanut Bar

Candy, in general, gets a HUGE oversight from me if it’s organic, like Green & Blacks chocolates.

Vanilla Chobani With Green & Black's Peanut Bar

Vanilla Chobani With Green & Black's Peanut Bar

Once I got this in mind, I had to hop to a campus store to grab a Vanilla Chobani; the combination was just too dreamy. The bar is milk chocolate with caramelized peanuts and sea salt. The sea salt wasn’t really present enough for me, but then again there isn’t enough sea salt in the sea to please me! But this tasted a lot better overall than I would have thought for a protein-packed snack.

Grass-Fed Burger, Broccoli, Baked Cheddar Cheese Fries

Grass-Fed Burger, Broccoli, Baked Cheddar Cheese Fries

And now with dinner plated, I feel a whole other happy dance coming on. Can I get into my PJ’s before this burger is even gobbled up? For the first time in a while, it was cooked to perfection: rare. On the side, I had someΒ Snikiddy baked cheddar cheese fries to sneak my snack fix, and some plain broccoli for a “real” vegetable. What? Ketchup doesn’t count as a vegetable? πŸ˜‰

Meal Planning

This is the happy union of being a foodie and doing things for your mental health: meal planning. I know it’s something a lot of other bloggers are passionate about. The 1 week we did it for my family back in January, I remember meals being the last thing on my mind all week, which was such a comfort. Now that I have such a small refrigerator to work with and so less options, I don’t keep up the practice. But I do keep meals in mind, and usually am able to plan at the very least 3-4 hours ahead. When things are really crunched, I know to turn to prepared foods like the salmon I had for lunch. Likewise, the dinner I planned this morning taking in mind the fact that I had class until 5:20 and like to eat at 6:30. Do you meal plan? What’s the last meal you planned and prepared?

P.s. Survivor is on tonight! Get excited!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

20 Responses to “Easy Running And Planned Meals”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I am totally a meal planner – I love it. Lately, I have been planning meals & writing all the options on an index card and sticking it on the fridge!

I don’t necessarily meal plan everyday, but if I think of something I am craving at the moment I will write it down on a sticky note or something and put it on my desk. Your race is this weekend right?

ahh I love thsoe whole foods cooks

hmm the butt bra sounds quite interesting haha I am sure yu survived πŸ™‚

I sometimes meal plan it depends on the meal! haha if I kmow I want to cook something specific for dinner that morning I do repare, but other times I will look in the fridge and come up with something right there!

meal planning…genearlly 2-3 DAYS in advance. I mean, its high raw vegan so i need to constantly have fresh produce washed and available and in very large quanity to feed 3 raw veggieheads around here. Then there are always desserts that need to be made and every once in awhile i roast a veg or tofu, etc but it’s all done hours/days mentally ahead of when i do it. It’s called organization.

love the bar review you gave. noted.

the g & B’s choc. Scott’s fave ice cream in the whole world is G & B’s dark choc. One little pint is like 6 or 7.99. His 2nd fave ironically is the tempt hemp milk mint choc chip (i won it). since i wont buy dairy ice cream anymore he loved the tempt but back in the day, it was G & B’s all the way.
i dont really love their cocoa powder tho, very $ and just meh to me.

I don’t really meal plan, but I should start. It would probably help me save some money!

You know what happens every time I do meal plans? I don’t want whatever it is I’ve planned on having that day! LOL – I like being spontaneous with my food and just following my cravings. I DO try to shop depending on what I already have, though. And I do my best to budget as carefully as possible and get the good deals.

I’m watching Survivor!!! Eeeek!!! πŸ˜€

I think meal planning is definitely helpful to ensure we cover all the basics and have time for grubbage.

Butt bra? WTF???

I meal plan about 75% of our meals, and the rest of the time we just wing it.

I’m dying to try that flavor of green and black chocolate….looks like it will be my fav!

Wow, I’m so impressed with your 10 miles. Great job!!

I like to plan my meals at least 1 day in advance. Sometimes it just doesn’t though. No big deal! πŸ˜€

I don’t meal plan that often, because things always happen and I have to change it up- I take each meal as it comes:)

The idea of a butt bra just made me laugh out loud…
I do plan my meals, but its rare that I’ll follow it to a T. Its good for when I can only go grocery shopping once a week. Then I know what I might need!

i always meal plan-mostly because it minimizes trips to the store for me. and it makes me think more about how to cook smarter (ie i make at least one meal that works as a lunch or two for the fiance, if there’s more than one meal that has rice/quinoa/beans/etc i cook them all at once)
i usually plan stuff wed/thurs the week before, for the sunday-saturday of the next week. i don’t plan my lunches so that i have something free if a craving strikes though… need some freedom in there! (the fiance, on the other hand, would eat the same thing every day. so preplanned meals don’t bug him)

I’m not really a meal planner. I generally have a few things in mind when I go to the grocery store so I can have certain ingredients on hand, and then I just go with whatever strikes me when I open the fridge

I change my mind too much to plan…and I eat REALLY late at night but still huge meals …like pizza last night at like 9??
Love Green and Blacks Chocolate.
You pay too much attention to labels lol!!! Just because something is organic or whatever doesn’t mean anything nutritionally really other than the whole pesticide thing….it’s like people loading up on agave nectar or stuff….it’s still sugar -so go ahead and have your maple syrup or sugar in your coffee – people overthink things and get way too obsessed and food “snobbish” for no reason…but each to his own I guess. πŸ™‚

I was exagerating a bit with the chocolate. I do not seriously care whether my candy is organic or not; the only thing I make sure is that the ingredients are natural. I understand organic sugar is just as unhealthy as regular, table sugar. That being said, certain ones are harvested in a bit more of an eco-friendly way, but that’s a whole other story.

I’m definitely not a meal planner. I’ll have an idea in my head, but it depends on how much time I have and how exhausted I am when I finally get home from school. I just try to sort of “plan” and prep one meal ahead. Plan breakfast the night before, plan dinner at lunch, etc.

I typically meal plan for two reasons:

1)To save the stress of figuring out what to eat on the spot.

2) I find that the more I plan, the more balanced my overall eats are for the day. When I plan, I can ensure that I get all my vital fruits, veggies, protein, and grains.

I totally don’t plan meals enough!! Breakfast is usually set (oatmeal and cereal at work), but lunch and dinner? Up in the air!!!

I love those granola bars too. It’s too much like a candy bar though…it sometimes freaks me out how tasty they are!

I definitely meal plan. I have to if I want to stay in our grocery budget. The last meal I planned and prepared was tomato, artichoke pasta last night.

Great run!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

